Information on mobile devices and medical applications available for University of Iowa affiliates UI residents often work in other locations such as Broadlawns Medical Center in Des Moines. They may use non-UI email for requests.
IMPORTANT: Information contained within the boxes below should be copied and sent to patrons when they request information on that particular application.
Here are some links that contain a variety of mobile device resources which you may be interested in:
1. http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/mobile
2. http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/eresources
3. http://www.imedicalapps.com/
Fitzpatrick's Color Atlas of Clinical Dermatology - This landmark digital reference facilitates visual diagnosis by providing color images of skin lesions, plus a summary outline of skin disorders and diseases.
Diagnosaurus: A differential diagnosis tool with more than 1,000 diagnoses. Browse by symptom, disease, or organ system.
Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests: This handy guide is a quick reference to the selection and interpretation of commonly used diagnostic tests include laboratory procedures in the clinical setting.
No app is available at this time. There is an app for First Consult with is a part of ClinicalKey.
See AccessMedicine.
Available for: iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android devices
Information for Patrons:
1. Download the free DynaMed App from the iTunes Store or Google Play
2. Log in to DynaMed or access DynaMed from your hospital.
3. Click on the DynaMed mobile access link from DynaMed and enter your email address. The link will be located at the top toolbar. An authentication key will be emailed to you.
4. Open the DynaMed email from your device.Within 48 hours, tap on the link in the email to authenticate the app.
Note: after 48 hours, users will need to request a new authentication key.
For more information, see http://support.ebsco.com/knowledge_base/detail.php?id=3923
Verified by Amy on February 10, 2015.
**UI runs a residency program at Broadlawns Hospital in Des Moines which has merged with other hospitals in the Des Moines area. It also runs residency programs in Cedar Rapids, Davenport, Mason City, Waterloo. As long as the person is affiliated with U Iowa, they qualify for DynaMed numbers. Please verify the resident's HawkId**
Dynamed customer support number:1-800-758-5995 or 1-800-758-5995
Dynamed customer support e-mail: dynamedsupport@ebscohost.com
Available for: iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android devices
Information for Patrons:
EBSCOhost provides access to journals and databases in the EBSCOhost platform.
1. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the link for "iPhone and Android apps."
2. Enter an email address that can be accessed on your mobile device.
3. Follow the instructions in the email to install the app.
Verified by Amy Blevins on October 21, 2014.
[NO Longer free for anyone. Now, they offer a 50% discount to any health sciences student.]
Available for: iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Blackberry, Android, Windows, Palm Devices
Information for Patrons:
Epocrates is a reference suite that features searchable drug & disease monographs and diagnostic tools.
Epocrates is now offering their product for 50% of the normal price to students. At this time, the cost is 79.99 + tax. Health sciences students will need to call Epocrates to get the discount.
Call 1-800-230-2150 for more information.
Verified by Amy Blevins on October 21, 2014.
Information for Patrons:
Hospital users who wish to access Epic and other resources via an iOS device (iPhone, iPad,iPod) need to contact the HCIS Help Desk at https://hcis.healthcare.uiowa.edu/.The app is called Airwatch and is managed by the Hospital.
(Johns Hopkins Guides Unbound Medicine & Antibiotics guide)
If a patron is off campus and is having difficulties registering for this application please direct them to Joe Rabena the Senior Software Support/QA Analyst at Unbound Medicine Support www.unboundmedicine.com/support
Email: support@unboundmedicine.com
Phone: 610-627-9090 then press 232
Information for Patrons:
Johns Hopkins ABX Guide provides evidenced-based information on the treatment of infectious diseases to help you make decisions at the point of care. This comprehensive web and mobile resource organizes details of diagnosis; drug indications, dosing, pharmacokinetics, side effects and interactions; pathogens; management; and vaccines into easily accessible, quick-read entries. It should be noted that the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. However, you will need to made sure that the Johns Hopkins ABX Guide updates are loaded before using to ensure you have the latest information. The app is available for: iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android
To access this resource please follow this link: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/JHG
1. Select the link for “Mobile” near the top right hand side of the page.
2. You will be prompted to register for a free account.
3. Once you do this, you’ll be emailed instructions on how to download the app to your device.
Verified by Amy on September 26, 2014
LactMed is a free online database with information on drugs and lactation, is one of the newest additions to the National Library of Medicine's TOXNET system, a Web-based collection of resources covering toxicology, chemical safety, and environmental health. This is a free application which can be downloaded at the app store. It should be noted that LactMed loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. However, you will need to made sure that LactMed updates are loaded before using to ensure you have the latest information. http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/help/lactmedapp.htm
Micromedex is a drug information and interaction database. There are Micromedex apps available for: iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Android
There are three apps available: Free Micromedex Drug Reference, Micromedex Drug Interactions, and Micromedex IV Compatibility.
To install the apps:
1. Please access Micromedex via the Hardin Library Website: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex.
2. Click on "Download Mobile Apps" on the bottom right of the screen under the "Resources" section.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.
Note: After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the quarter. At the end of the quarter, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password. It should be noted that Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. However, you will need to make sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using to ensure you have the latest information.
Verified by Amy on January 28, 2015.
1. Go to your App Store on your Smart Phone and download the Skyscape Application (this is free).
2. Open the Skyscape Application – Click On Tools – Then Click On Install Resources - If you have not already created a Skyscape Account it will prompt you to put your email in to create an account.
3. It will then prompt you to enter the code that Zachary sent you.
If you have any problems of questions, please contact Zachary Hastings at Natural Standard and he will be able to send you a code so that you can download the Application for free. His email is zhastings@pletter.com
Stat!Ref is a healthcare e-resource that enables users to cross-search full-text titles, journals, evidence-based, point-of-care and authoritative resources. It is currently available for: iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, Blackberry, Android Devices
To download the app:
1. Access StatRef! via Hardin Library or http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/statref
2. Click the “MyStatRef” link in the upper right corner
3. Follow the instructions to create an account.
4. Click “Temporary Login Account.” Activating the “Temporary Login Account” will provide the ability to login to your institutional subscription via the email address and password you just created.
5. Download the Stat!Ref Mobile App to your device.
6. Enter your login information into the resource.
Once you are authenticated, your login will work for 180 days. After that, you will need to log in to StatRef! via Hardin Library and renew your account following steps 1-4.
Verified by Amy on September 26, 2014.
UpToDate is an evidence-based clinical resource that synthesizes the most recent medical information into verifiable, evidence-based recommendations.
To access this UpToDate app, follow the directions below:
1. Access the UpToDate website using a web browser (laptop/desktop preferable) viahttp://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/uptodate.
2. At the top right hand side of the page select the “Log In/Register” button.
3. Register for an UpToDate account preferably using your university email address. Write down your new username and password as this will be used later.
4. Submit your registration.
5. Read and accept the terms and conditions.
6. Install the mobile application on your device.
7. Open the application.
8. Input the username and password you chose during the registration process.
Users will need to re-validate their access every 30 days. This can be done by accessing UptoDate on a University network, via Epic, or on a campus computer, or via the Hardin Library website. This is easier to do on a desktop computer, but can be done on a mobile browser with some minor differences.
1. After logging into UpToDate, click "Login" on the top right.
2. Login with the username and password you created (could be different than your Hawk ID)
3. Click on "My Account" near the top right of the screen.
4. Click on "Manage My Devices" on the left side of the screen.
5. You should see a message at this point that says you are revalidated.
*Note that full text content isn’t directly available from within the app interface, so you will need to be connected to Wi-Fi or another data source. The app is available for iOS, Android, and Windows 8.
Instructions revised by Amy on September 26, 2014.
Visual DX Mobile is a differential diagnosis tool with images and point of care information.
To access:
1. Go to http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/visualdx
2. Click on “Get our free app on your iPhone, iPad, or Android device.” (Located just below the search box)
3. Fill out the required form – receive automatic e-mail with user name and password.
4. After completing the form you will receive an email with additional instructions.
5. Download the app to your device from Google Play or the App store.
6. Enter the required information into the App.
Instructions verified by Amy on September 26, 2014.