Opening Procedures for the Public Service Desk:

1. Turn on the computer and log in (with your HawkID and password).
2. Launch ALMA and log in. 
3. Launch a browser (Internet Explorer or Firefox) and log in to LibChat (See Below). Then open the Hardin homepage (click the "home" icon) in a separate tab or window.
4. Make sure the sound on your computer is on, otherwise it will be very difficult to tell if someone is trying to contact you via chat.
5. Check the drop box in the Circ student area, to make sure there are no library materials. It is especially important to check in Reserve books as soon as possible, since overnight Reserve checkouts are due back at opening, and fines will begin to accumulate the minute after opening.
6. Get the Gate Count and record in Sharepoint.
7. Make sure that all of the date stamps are accurate – you can test them by stamping each stamp on a piece of paper (such as the desk calendar on the right side of the desks).
8. Turn on the lights directly above the desks. The two switches for the lights are located on the wall to the right of the desks. Pull both switches all the way to the top.
9. Check the paper trays in each printer, and fill any trays that are empty to a level a little bit short of completely full (otherwise it could lead to paper jams). Also, make sure that golf pencils and paper slips are available at the stand-up computer, the Reference desk, and the back counter.
10. If you have questions, feel free to ask a staff member.

Reference Email:

Accessing Reference Email

• Go to https://email.uiowa.edu and log in with your HawkID and password.
• At the end of the URL now enter the Hardin email account lib-hardin@uiowa.edu and hit enter.
• The URL should now read https://email.uiowa.edu/owa/lib-hardin@uiowa.edu/ and you should be viewing the Hardin reference email account.

Checking and Sorting Email

• Reference questions that come in during your shift are your responsibility; Aim to respond to emails within 30 minutes of receipt-- providing confirmation to the sender that the email was received, even when there is not yet a clear answer. 
• If you are working with a patron over email and are waiting for a reply, please move the email into the folder labeled "Saved Reference Email."
• When referral to another staff member is appropriate, respond to the individual and copy the sender. If you forward an email, write to the user to let them know the message was forwarded, and also include contact information.
• File every reference question-- after response sent-- into the saved reference email folder

DESK COVERAGE BEST PRACTICES

• Follow the steps below (for either Office 365 Outlook or Desktop Outlook) when you need coverage for your desk shifts. 
• If you have an urgent need for coverage post a message to the reference list asking for dates and times. 

• If you have any questions or run into any issues, please contact Jess right away.

• Monitor coverage for all your shifts needing coverage. Adding the red, Coverage Needed appointment to the Reference calendar lets others know the shift is available. You are still responsible for ensuring coverage. (It’s not a Ronco. You can’t “set it and forget it!”
• If you arrange for coverage with someone off the Reference email list (where Jess won’t know about it), email Jess with the details so she can update the Reference calendar. She will delete the Coverage Needed appointment (removing it from your calendar) and create a new appointment for the person providing the coverage.
• When coverage is offered via the Reference email list (where Jess can see it), she will update the Reference calendar by deleting the Coverage Needed shift (removing it from your calendar) and creating a new appointment for the person covering the shift.
• Regularly check the Reference calendar to see what shifts are available and offer coverage or arrange for trades. Remember, you will need coverage at some point so offering to cover others shifts is a great way to ensure others will offer coverage to you when you need it.

1. Click on the Windows Start Menu Button (bottom left corner)
2. Click on the Settings Button, on the left (gear symbol) to open the Settings Window
3. Click on the 'Devices" Category
4. On the menu left of the main Devices page click on 'Printers and Scanners
5. Click on the + Button to 'Add a printer or Scanner
6. Click on "the printer that I want isn't listed" to pen the "Add Printer window
7. Select "Find a Printer in the Directory"
8. Click Next
9. When the computer is done searching, type in the printer name into the 'Name" field: lib-hlhs300
10. Click on the 'Find Now" Button
11. Select the appropriate printer from the bottom half of the window and select 'OK'
12. Once it is installed, click on the Next Button
13. Click on the Finish Button

Closing Procedures:

The time that it takes to properly do closing pickups - checking each and every single desk, table, and study carrel, picking up every book, picking up every newspaper you see, pushing in every chair that is sticking out more than a foot from the table, and checking every door on the 4th floor to make sure that it is either locked (faculty studies, conference room) or unlocked (quiet rooms) - should take you about 25 to 30 minutes.

1. Get final gate count and record as opening gate count for the next day.
2. Adjust date stamps for the following day.
3. Fill printer paper trays
4. Empty whole punch
5. Make sure computers are turned off and computer areas are neat and orderly (clean up any paper, push in chairs, etc. )
6. turn off both sets of lights above the desk.
7. Turn off both computers.
8. Make sure that PA system has been turned off by the closer.

LibChat:

The University of Iowa Hardin Library LibChat system can be accessed by patrons here.

Librarians and staff can access the system to answer patron questions via: https://ask.lib.uiowa.edu/admin/login

1. Go to: https://ask.lib.uiowa.edu/admin/login

2. From there, open the chat. On your chat shift, be sure to scroll to the bottom of the page and look for Open Tickets or Pending Comments or anything there that looks like no one has claimed it. Either answer or refer it on your shift please, if you can. Don't assume someone else has already taken care of it or will take care of it.

3. You will be redirected and a "only secure content is displayed" box will appear at the bottom of the page.
4. Click "Show All Content".
5. Log in: username- lib-hardin@uiowa.edu / password- jmrbr
6. Select "Launch Chat".
7. A new tab will open with the chat menu.
8. When a patron connects to LibChat there will be a beep sound and you will receive a notification that says "you have a visitor".
9. Select the Launch link to begin chatting with the specific patron.

Important Information:

• DO NOT CLOSE THE CHAT BOX. This will disconnect the chat.
• DO NOT BAN USERS. Just close the chat box if the patron is inappropriate.
• Be sure to log out at the end of your shift by selecting "Go Offline" or "Sign Out" in the orange bar across the top of the page
• If a chat request has a link that states "Claim and answer it", this is for Main Library only. These are LibAnswers requests and are not handled by Hardin Library staff.

Additional Information:

• Users can fill in their name or chat anonymously. 
• Internet Explorer does not allow for chat box resizing, but Firefox does. After communicating with a librarian users will be able to rate their interaction.
• Patrons can be transferred to other libraries to have their questions answered. To do this select "Transfer Chat" at the top of the chat box.
• Three person chats can occur when chats are transferred.
• If the Library ends the chat before the patron, the interaction can be rated and the patron can email the chat to themselves.
• Administrators can review all transcripts for up to 12 months. Searches can be done by date, answer, and name.
• If someone else is logged in when you log in you will receive a notification that "It appears you are already online! Only one chat operator window can be open at once."

For updates and information on LibChat, please visit the following link

Desk Phones:

phone extension 70561 (this is the account number for 59151), pin number 454719

phone extension 59150, pin number 427346