Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Main Library Service Desk: Dashboard

Alert

Textbook Donations - Upate: The Service Desk is not currently a collection point for the UISG textbook donation initiative. Questions about how/where textbooks may be donated should be directed to UISG, 319-335-3860 or uisg@uiowa.edu. If/when we have updated information it will be shared. If a textbook is left anyway, please give to H who will forward to Mahrya.

You may have seen this or heard about UISG’s initiative of having students donating their textbooks to the library. If you have any questions, please refer to Mahrya Carncross for questions and any textbooks donations. 

The Business Library is currently being renovated; however, a single group study room is available! Check out the website here: http://uiowa.libcal.com/booking/bizrooms

 

Student Assistance

The Office of Student Life provides assistance to students experiencing crisis and emergency situations, including personal struggles, medical or illness concerns, family emergencies, natural disasters, and other incidents that may impact a student's ability to fully participate academically and socially on campus. A Quick Guide is available for reference.

Important Notices

What is UI Archives Space? 

Special Collections, University Archives, and Iowa Women's Archives house the UI's rare and primary source materials covering a broad range of topics, formats, and periods. Collection guides, also called finding aids, provide detailed descriptions of the items in a collection, as well as background on the person or organization who created the collection. Digitized versions of selected materials are available for online viewing.

The program Firestorm is temporarily loaded onto the PC in the Main Library for a Ethics in Healthcare class that needs it. It may not appear in the list of programs and needs to be searched for.

For users who are asking about paying for metered parking please see the link "Mobile Parking Payment" under "Quick Links" 

How long are ILL materials are on hold? It is not the same as how long UI Libraries’ items are on hold.

  1. ILL – Held through due date
  2. UI Libraries Books – One Week
  3. UI Libraries Videos – 3 days

UI Campus Alerts

For information on the Status of the Campus, including Severe Weather and Hawk Alerts, CLICK HERE. 

Emergencies

In case of an emergency, call 911 or contact the UIowa Department of Public Safety 319-335-5022

University Libraries Emergency Procedures 

One copy of the printed Emergency Procedures (Red Binder) are available for the Main Library & Learning Commons, located on the east shelves behind the Service Desk. 

Need to Report a Facilities or Incident?

Incident Report Form 

Both the emergency and disruptive user documents are the primary resource for resolving issues. This form is intended to support current documentation, while providing a method of recording incidents quickly and easily. 

Lost & Found

Unclaimed material found in the Main Library are kept temporarily at the Service Desk. If not immediately claimed, items are sent to the University Lost and Found office. If an item appears to match with an item on the list, we suggest users contact the Lost and Found Office prior to showing up and claiming lost items. Please provide users with the appropriate contact information of the Lost and Found Office so they can determine ownership and availability of office hours.

  • Loose change and money must be turned into Kelly Taylor in admin, 5th floor. Put change or money in an envelope and include information such as the amount of money in the envelope, location and date. 

  • If  a user is looking for a lost item, ask them to describe the item.  Only give the user an item if it matches the description. If the individual is looking for a wallet, then you may open the wallet and check the ID.

List of Lost & Found ID Cards Sent to Jesup Hall

This is a current List of ID Cards Found at the Main Library. ID cards will be sent to Iowa One Card Center at 3 Jessup Hall approximately 48 hours after being turned in. For more information about lost or stolen Iowa One Cards, please contact the IOCC at 319-335-2716 or lostid@uiowa.edu.

List of ID Cards Sent to Jesup Hall  

December 13

  • Alexandra Newland
  • Lauren Krough
  • Taylor Allison Crisman

December 08

  • Taylor Youngblut
  • Mark Choate