Holds

Holds can be requested on items through their InfoHawk listing, using the patron's HawkID login. Hold policies can be viewed here.

Document Delivery

Document delivery allows requests for electronic copies of any journal articles or book chapters held by the University of Iowa. Materials will be delivered to the user's ILLiad account and are available for download for a month after delivery. 

ILLiad

Used for interlibrary loans and document delivery. Books, reports, theses, microfilm, videos and other research materials not owned by the University can often be borrowed from another library.

Requested materials for loan take an average of 7-10 days to arrive. Loan periods are set by the lending library and range from 2 to 16 weeks.

Minimum information needed for ILLiad:

• Articles: Title / Year Published 

• Book: Title / Author

• Chapter of Book: Title / Chapter Title / Author 

• Microfilm: Title (Newspaper Title, Collection of papers) / Place of publication (If applicable) 

• Music Score: Title / Not wanted after [date] 

•  Sound Recording: Title / Not wanted after [date] 

• Technical Report: Title / Authors & Editors 

• Thesis Request: Title / Authors & Editors 

• Video: Title / Not wanted after [date]

AEON

Request items to view in Special Collections.

Searching in Databases

• Use advanced search box instead of simple search 
• Locate database thesaurus or subject terms and match database vocabulary

When searching the catalog, pay attention to the location of materials.

Main Library

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

Marvin A. Pomerantz Business Library

Lichtenberger Engineering Library

Sciences Library

Law Library

Rita Benton Music Library

Art Library

Locations with Limited Access

Special Collections

Iowa Women's Archives

Libraries Annex

Databases

University of Iowa maintains subscriptions with outside databases. These databases may contain materials that aren't searchable in InfoHawk. You can narrow databases by subject or type of media. 

Subject LibGuides

Subject guides are created by librarian specialists and provide quick access to relevant databases and sources. 

Librarians by Subject

If needing research assistance in a specific field, direct patrons to the list of librarian specialists. This list contains contact information for the librarians and can be filtered by general subject. 

Have the patron sign into their patron account to enable search saving. Access sign in and saved items in the upper right of the InfoHawk header. 

* By turning on the In-focus button you can refine your searches to UI resources

Save items directly from the search page or from the item catalog listing. 

Need materials on a similar subject? Browse the sources cited in a work or find other sources citing it. 

Use filters in left column to narrow and sort searches for optimal results. 

Expand search results to include materials only availible through Interlibrary Loan.