Library databases provide access to information in multiple formats, including:

• Articles from magazines, newspapers, and peer-reviewed journals 
• Medical images, poems, transcripts, interviews, and dissertations 
• General reference information, such as encyclopedias
• Ebooks 

The University of Iowa currently makes over a thousand online databases available to its students and faculty. Our A-Z Database Guide has all of these linked, and our list can be narrowed down by subject, database type, or vendor. The guide also generates a list of Best Bets for your research based on the filters or search terms you apply. 

For example, filtering the A-Z Database Guide by subject (Anthropology and Archaeology), narrowed our list to 12 subject-specific databases as well as identified 5 of them as being the most likely to generate relevant content for your research. 

You can also filter this guide based on the type of content you are trying to access by modifying the "All Database Types" Field. This can help you locate audio collections, data sources, videos, magazines, and more.

Editing the "Vendors/Providers" field can help you locate the databases affiliated with the "big names" in academic publishing, such as Elsevier, Taylor & Francis, Bloomsbury, McGraw-Hill, Library of Congress, Cambridge, and more.

Naturally, this list can be overwhelming; we encourage you to contact your subject librarian if you need help locating information or use our online chat to communicate with one of our librarians in real-time.