Skip to Main Content
Skip to content
University of Iowa

University Libraries

Citation Help: Articles

A quick note:

The following examples follow the Notes-Bibliography style. For Author-Date style, please consult The Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition.

Chicago Citation Examples: Articles

Important Elements:

  • Author 
  • Title of article 
  • Title of publication in italics (i.e., Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Newsweek, New York Times)
  • Volume number in italics and issue number, if given
  • Date of publication of article 
  • Page numbers of article
  • For articles retrieved online, include URL or DOI, if available. 
  • For articles from a database, include database name.

Journal article with up to 4 authors:

In a note, cite specific page numbers. In the bibliography, include the page range for the whole article. For articles consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database. Many journal articles list a DOI (Digital Object Identifier). A DOI forms a permanent URL that begins https://doi-org.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/. This URL is preferable to the URL that appears in your browser’s address bar.

Notes

1. Author First Last, "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, issue no. x (Date): pp.

2. Author First Last, Author First Last, and Author First Last. "Title of Article," Title of Journal volume, issue no. x (Date): pp-pp, Stable URL or Database (if applicable).

1. Susan Satterfield, “Livy and the Pax Deum,” Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (April 2016): 170.

2. Shao-Hsun Keng, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem, “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality,” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 9–10, https://doi-org.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/10.1086/690235.

Shortened notes

4. Author Last Name, "Shortened Title," pp-pp.

5. Author Last Name, Author Last Name, and Author Last Name, "Shortened Title," pp.

4. Satterfield, “Livy,” 172–73.

5. Keng, Lin, and Orazem, “Expanding College Access,” 23.

Bibliography entries (in alphabetical order)

Author Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, Issue no. x (Date): pp-pp. 

Author Name, Author Name, and Author Name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, Issue no. x (Date): pp-pp. (Stable URL or Database if applicable).

Keng, Shao-Hsun, Chun-Hung Lin, and Peter F. Orazem. “Expanding College Access in Taiwan, 1978–2014: Effects on Graduate Quality and Income Inequality.” Journal of Human Capital 11, no. 1 (Spring 2017): 1–34. https://doi-org.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/10.1086/690235.

LaSalle, Peter. “Conundrum: A Story about Reading.” New England Review 38, no. 1 (2017): 95–109. Project MUSE.

Satterfield, Susan. “Livy and the Pax Deum.” Classical Philology 111, no. 2 (April 2016): 165–76.

 

Journal article with more than 4 authors:

Journal articles often list many authors, especially in the sciences. If there are four or more authors, list up to ten in the bibliography; in a note, list only the first, followed by et al. (“and others”). For more than ten authors (not shown here), list the first seven in the bibliography, followed by et al.

Note

7. Author First Last et al., "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, issue no. x (Month year): pp, http://doi-org.abcd.efg.hij/xx.xxxx/xxxxxx.

7. Rachel A. Bay et al., “Predicting Responses to Contemporary Environmental Change Using Evolutionary Response Architectures,” American Naturalist 189, no. 5 (May 2017): 465, https://doi-org.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/10.1086/691233.

Shortened note

8. Author Last Name et al., “Shortened Article Title,” pp.

8. Bay et al., “Predicting Responses,” 466.

Bibliography entry

Last, First A., Author First Last, Author First Last, Author First Last, Author First Last, Author First Last, Author First Last, Author First Last, and Author First Last. “Title of Article,” Title of Journal Volume, Issue no. x (Date): pp-pp. https://doi-abc.efg.hij/xx.xxxx.xxxxxx.

Bay, Rachael A., Noah Rose, Rowan Barrett, Louis Bernatchez, Cameron K. Ghalambor, Jesse R. Lasky, Rachel B. Brem, Stephen R. Palumbi, and Peter Ralph. “Predicting Responses to Contemporary Environmental Change Using Evolutionary Response Architectures,” American Naturalist 189, no. 5 (May 2017): 463–73. https://doi-org.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/10.1086/691233.

For more examples, see Chapter 14 in The Chicago Manual of Style.

News or magazine article

Articles from newspapers or news sites, magazines, blogs, and the like are cited similarly. Page numbers, if any, can be cited in a note but are omitted from a bibliography entry. If you consulted the article online, include a URL or the name of the database.

Notes

1. Author First Last, "Title of Article," Title of Publication, Date, pp.

1. Rebecca Mead, “The Prophet of Dystopia,” New Yorker, April 17, 2017, 43.

Shortened notes

2.. Author Last Name, "Shortened Article Title," pp.

2. Mead, “Dystopia,” 47.

Bibliography entries (in alphabetical order)

Author Last, First. "Title of Article." Title of Publication, Date. Stable URL or Database (if applicable).

 

Manjoo, Farhad. “Snap Makes a Bet on the Cultural Supremacy of the Camera.” New York Times, March 8, 2017. https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/08/technology/snap-makes-a-bet-on-the-cultural-supremacy-of-the-camera.html.

Mead, Rebecca. “The Prophet of Dystopia.” New Yorker, April 17, 2017.

Pegoraro, Rob. “Apple’s iPhone Is Sleek, Smart and Simple.” Washington Post, July 5, 2007. LexisNexis Academic.

Note: Readers’ comments are cited in the text or in a note but omitted from a bibliography. 

9. Eduardo B (Los Angeles), March 9, 2017, comment on Manjoo, “Snap.”

For more examples, see chapter 14 in The Chicago Manual of Style.

Book review

Note

1. Author First Last, "Title of Review," review of Title of Book, by Author of Book, Title of Publication, Date.

1. Michiko Kakutani, “Friendship Takes a Path That Diverges,” review of Swing Time, by Zadie Smith, New York Times, November 7, 2016.

Shortened note

2. Author Last, "Shortened Title of Review."

2. Kakutani, “Friendship.”

Bibliography entry

Author Last, First. "Title of Review." Reveiw of Title of Book, by Author of Book, Title of publication, Date.

Kakutani, Michiko. “Friendship Takes a Path That Diverges.” Review of Swing Time, by Zadie Smith. New York Times, November 7, 2016.

Examples courtesy of the Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition

Turabian Citation Examples: Articles

Important Elements:

  • Author 
  • Title of article 
  • Title of publication in italics (i.e., Journal of Abnormal Psychology, Newsweek, New York Times)
  • Volume number in italics and issue number, if given
  • Date of publication of article 
  • Page numbers of article
  • For articles retrieved online, include access date and a stable URL or DOI, if available. 
  • For articles from a database, include access date however, the database name may be used in place of URL or DOI.

Journal articles

Notes

1. Author First Last, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, Issue no. x (Month year): pp.

2. Author First Last, "Title of Article," Title of Journal Volume, Issue no. x (Month year): pp, accessed Month day, year, StableURL/DOI or Database Name.

 

 

1. Alexandra Bogren, "Gender and Alcohol: The Swedish Press Debate," Journal of Gender Studies 20, no. 2 (June 2011): 156.

2. Campbell Brown, "Consequentialize This," Ethics 121, no. 4 (July 2011): 752, accessed December 1, 2012, http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/660696.

3. Anastacia Kurylo, "Linsanity: The Construction of (Asian) Identity in an Online New York Knicks Basketball Forum," China Media Research 8, no. 4 (October 2012): 16, accessed March 9, 2013, Academic OneFile.

Shortened Notes

4. Author Last, "Shortened Title of Article," pp.
 

4. Bogren, "Gender and Alcohol," 157.

Bibliography entries (in alphabetical order)

Author Last, First. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, Issue no. x, (Month year): pp-pp.

Author Last, First. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume, Issue no. x, (Month year): pp-pp. Accessed Month day, year. Stable URL/DOI or Database Name.

 

Bogren, Alexandra. "Gender and Alcohol: The Swedish Press Debate." Journal of Gender Studies 20, no. 2 (June 2011): 155-69.

Brown, Campbell. "Consequentialize This." Ethics 121, no. 4 (July 2011): 749-71. Accessed December 1, 2012. http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/660696.

Kurylo, Anastacia. "Linsanity: The Construction of (Asian) Identity in an Online New York Knicks Basketball Forum." China Media Research 8, no. 4 (October 2012): 15-28. Accessed March 9, 2013. Academic OneFile.

Newspaper and Magazine Articles

*Newspaper articles may be cited in running text ("As Elisabeth Bumiller and Thom Shanker noted in a New York Times article on January 23, 2013, . . .") instead of in a note, and they are commonly omitted from a bibliography. The following examples show the more formal versions of the citations.

Notes

1. Author First Last, "Title of Article," Title of Periodical, publication date Month day, year, pp.

2. Author First Last and Author First Last, "Title of Article," Title of Periodical, publication date Month day, year, Accessed Month day, year, Website.

 

1. Jill Lepore, "Dickens in Eden," New Yorker, August 29, 2011, 52.

2. Elisabeth Bumiller and Thom Shanker, "Pentagon Lifts Ban on Women in Combat," New York Times, January 23, 2013, Accessed January 24, 2013, http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/24/us/pentagon-says-it-is-lifting-ban-on-women-in-combat.html.

 

Shortened Notes

3. Author Last, "Shortened Title of Article," pp-pp.

4. Author Last and Author Last, "Shortened Title of Article".

 

3. Lepore, "Dickens in Eden," 54-55.

4. Bumiller and Shanker, "Pentagon Lifts Ban."

 

Bibliography Entries (in alphabetical order)

Author Last, First. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, publication date Month day, year.

Author Last, First and Author First Last. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, publication date Month day, year. Accessed Month day, year. website.

Lepore, Jill. "Dickens in Eden." New Yorker, August 29, 2011.

Bumiller, Elisabeth, and Thom Shanker. "Pentagon Lifts Ban on Women in Combat." New York Times, January 23, 2013. Accessed January 24, 2013. http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/24/us/pentagon-says-it-is-lifting-ban-on-women-in-combat.html.

Book Reviews

Notes

1. Author of Review First Last, review of Title of Book Reviewed, editor (abbreviated "ed.") Editor Name, Title of Publication Volume, Issue no. x (publication date Month year): pp, accessed date Month day, year, DOI.

1. Joel Mokyr, review of Natural Experiments of History, ed. Jared Diamond and James A. Robinson, American Historical Review 116, no. 3 (June 2011): 754, accessed December 9, 2011, http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/ahr.116.3.752.

Shortened Notes

2. Author of review Last, review of Title of Book Reviewed, pp.

2. Mokyr, review of Natural Experiments of History,752.

Bibliography Entries 

Author of Review First Last, Review of Title of Book Reviewed, edited by Editor Name, Title of Publication Volume, Issue no. x (publication date Month year): pp-pp. Accessed date Month day, year, DOI.

Mokyr, Joel. Review of Natural Experiments of History, edited by Jared Diamond and James A. Robinson. American Historical Review 116, no. 3 (June 2011): 752-55. Accessed December 9, 2011. http://dx.doi.org/10.1086/ahr.116.3.752.

Examples courtesy of The Turabian 8th edition.

Ask a Librarian

Librarians are available to help you with your questions. Please don't hesitate to contact us with any questions you might have regarding citation styles, citation management, etc.

Ask a question below or contact your subject specialist librarian for more help!

Useful Resources for Chicago/Turabian