Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Citation Help: Books

A quick note:

The following examples follow the Notes-Bibliography style. For Author-Date style, please consult The Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition.

Chicago Citation Examples: Books

Important Elements:

  • Author - For four or more authors, list all of the authors in the bibliography; in the note, list only the first author, followed by "et al."("and others")
  • Title of Book
  • Location of Publisher
  • Publisher
  • Date of Publication
  • Pages
  • For books consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database.
  • For other types of e-books, name the format.
    • If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the notes, if any (or simply omit).

Books

Notes

1. Author First Last, Title of Book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp-pp.

2. Author First Last and Author First Last, Title of Book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp.

 

1. Zadie Smith, Swing Time (New York: Penguin Press, 2016), 315–16.

2. Brian Grazer and Charles Fishman, A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life (New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015), 12.

Shortened Notes

3. Author Last, Shortened Title, pp.

4. Author Last and Author Last, Shortened Title, pp.

 

3. Smith, Swing Time, 320.

4. Grazer and Fishman, Curious Mind, 37.

Bibliography Entries (in alphabetical order)

Author Last, First and Author First Last. Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

Author Last, First.  Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

 

Grazer, Brian, and Charles Fishman. A Curious Mind: The Secret to a Bigger Life.New York: Simon & Schuster, 2015.

Smith, Zadie. Swing Time. New York: Penguin Press, 2016.


Chapter or other part of an edited book

In a note, cite specific pages. In the bibliography, include the page range for the chapter or part.

Notes

1. Author Name, "Title of Chapter or Part," in Title of Book, ed. Editor First Last (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp.

 

1. Henry David Thoreau, “Walking,” in The Making of the American Essay, ed. John D’Agata (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–78.

Shortened Notes

2. Author Last, "Title of Chapter or Part," pp.

 

2. Thoreau, “Walking,” 182.

Bibliography entry

Author Last, First. "Title of Chaper." In Title of Book, edited by Editor First Last, pp-pp. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

Thoreau, Henry David. “Walking.” In The Making of the American Essay, edited by John D’Agata, 167–95. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.


Collection of Books

Note

1. Editor First Last, ed., Title of Book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp-pp. 

 

1. John D’Agata, ed., The Making of the American Essay (Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016), 177–78.

Shortened Notes

2. Editor Last, Shortened Title of Book, pp.

 

2. D’Agata, American Essay, 182.

Bibliography entry

Editor Last, First, ed. Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

 

D’Agata, John, ed. The Making of the American Essay. Minneapolis: Graywolf Press, 2016.


Translated Books

Notes

1. Author First Last, Title of Book, trans. Translator First Last (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp.

 

1. Jhumpa Lahiri, In Other Words, trans. Ann Goldstein (New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016), 146.

Shortened Notes

2. Author Last, Shortened Title of Book, pp.

 

2. Lahiri, In Other Words, 184.

Bibliography Entry

Lahiri, Jhumpa. In Other Words. Translated by Ann Goldstein. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2016.


E-Books

Notes

1. Author First Last, Title of book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp, Stable URL or Database.

2. Author First Last, Title of book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), Chap. x, E-Reader Format.

 

1. Herman Melville, Moby-Dick; or, The Whale (New York: Harper & Brothers, 1851), 627, http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale-proofs.html.

2. Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice (New York: Penguin Classics, 2007), chap. 3, Kindle.

Shortened Notes

4. Author Last, Shortened Title of Book, pp/chapter.

 

4. Melville, Moby-Dick, 722–23.

Bibliography Entries (in alphabetical order)

Author Last, First. Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year. E-Reader Format.

Author Last, First. Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year. Stable URL/Database.
 

Austen, Jane. Pride and Prejudice. New York: Penguin Classics, 2007. Kindle.

Borel, Brooke. The Chicago Guide to Fact-Checking. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2016. ProQuest Ebrary.

Melville, Herman. Moby-Dick; or, The Whale. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1851. http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale-proofs.html.

For more examples see chapter 14 of The Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition.

All examples courtesy of The Chicago Manual of Style 17th Edition.

Turabian Citation Examples: Books

Important Elements:

  • Author - For four or more authors, list all of the authors in the bibliography; in the note, list only the first author, followed by "et al."("and others")
  • Title of Book
  • Location of Publisher
  • Publisher
  • Date of Publication
  • Pages
  • For books consulted online, include a URL or the name of the database.
  • For other types of e-books, name the format.
    • If no fixed page numbers are available, cite a section title or a chapter or other number in the notes, if any (or simply omit).

Books

For four or more authors, list all of the authors in the bibliography; in the note, list only the first author, followed by "et al."("and others"):

Notes

1. Author First Last, Title of Book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp.

2. Author First Last and Author First Last, Title of Book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp.

3. Author First Last et al., Title of Book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp.

 

1. Malcolm Gladwell, The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference (Boston: Little, Brown, 2000), 64-65.

2. Peter Morey and Amina Yaqin, Framing Muslims: Stereotyping and Representation after 9/11 (Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2011), 52.

3. Jay M. Bernstein et al., Art and Aesthetics after Adorno (Berkeley: University of California Press, 2010), 276.

Shortened Notes

4. Author Last, Shortened Title of Book, pp.

5. Author Last and Author Last, Shortened Title of Book, pp.

6. Author Last et al., Shortened Title of Book, pp.

 

4. Gladwell, Tipping Point, 71.

5. Morey and Yaqin, Framing Muslims, 60-61.

6. Bernstein et al., Art and Aesthetics, 18.

Bibliography Entries (in alphabetical order)

Author Last, First. Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

Author Last, First and Author First Last. Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

Author Last, First, Author First Last, Author First Last, Author First Last, Author First Last, Author First Last and Author First Last.  Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

 

Gladwell, Malcom. The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference. Boston: Little, Brown, 2000.

Morey, Peter, and Amina Yaqin. Framing Muslims: Stereotyping and Representation after 9/11. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 2011.

Bernstein, Jay M., Claudia Brodsky, Anthony J. Cascardi, Thierry de Duve, Ales Erjavec, Robert Kaufman, and Fred Rush. Art and Aesthetics after Adorno. Berkeley: University of California Press, 2010.


Editor or translator instead of author

Notes

1. Translator First Last, trans., Title of Book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp.

 

1. Richmond Lattimore, trans., The Iliad of Homer (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951), 91-92.

Shortened Notes

2. Translator Last, Shortened Title of Book, pp.

 

2. Lattimore, Iliad, 24.

Bibliography Entry

Editor Last, First, trans. Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

Lattimore, Richmond, trans. The Iliad of Homer. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1951.


Editor or translator in addition to authors

Notes

1. Author Name, Title of Book, ed. Editor First Last (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp.

1. Jane Austen, Persuasion: An Annotated Edition, ed. Robert Morrison (Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2011), 311-12.

Shortened Notes

2. Author Last, Shortened Title, pp.

2. Austen, Persuasion, 315.

Bibliography Entry

Author Last, First. Title of Book, Edited by Editor First Last. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

Austen, Jane. Persuasion: An Annotated Edition. Edited by Robert Morrison. Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2011.


Chapter or other part of a book

Notes

 

1. Angeles Ramirez, "Muslim Women in the Spanish Press: The Persistence of Subaltern Images," in Muslim Women in War and Crisis: Representation and Reality, ed. Faegheh Shirazi (Austin: University of Texas Press, 2010), 231.

Shortened Notes

 

2. Ramirez, "Muslim Women," 239-40.

Bibliography Entry

Author Last, First. "Title of Chaper." In Title of Book, edited by Editor First Last, pp-pp. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

Ramirez, angeles. "Muslim Women in the Spanish Press: The Persistence of Subaltern Images." In Muslim Women in War and Crisis: Representation and Reality, edited by Faegheh Shirazi, 227-44. Austin: University of Texas Press, 2010


Preface, foreword, introduction, or similar part of a book

Notes

1. Author Name, Title of Part of Book to Title of Book, by, Author First Last (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp.

1. William Cronon, foreword to The Republic of Nature, by Mark Fiege (Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2012), ix.

Shortened Notes

2. Author Last, Title of Part, pp.

2. Cronon, foreword, x-xi.

Bibliography entry

Author Last, First. Title of Part to Title of Book, by Author First Last, pp-pp. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year.

Cronon, William. Foreword to The Republic of Nature, by Mark Fiege, ix-xii. Seattle: University of Washington Press, 2012.


E-Books

If a book is available in more than one format, cite the version you consulted. For books consulted online, include an access date and a URL. If you consulted the book in a library or commercial database, you may give the name of the database instead of a URL. If no fixed page numbers are available, you can include a section title or a chapter or other number.

Notes

1. Author First Last, Title of Book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp. x, E-Reader Format.

2. Author First Last, Title of Book (Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year), pp, accessed Month day, year, Stable URL or Database.

 

1. Isabel Wilkerson, The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration (New York: Vintage, 2010), 183-84, Kindle.

1. Herman Melville, Moby-Dick; or, The Whale (New York: Harper & Brothers, 1851), 627, accessed December 8, 2012, http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale-proofs.html.

Shortened Notes

2. Author Last, Shortened Title of Book, pp.

 

2. Wilkerson, Warmth of Other Suns, 401.

Bibliography Entries (in alphabetical order)

Author Last, First. Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year. Accessed Month day, year, Stable URL or Database.

Author Last, First. Title of Book. Location of Publisher: Publisher, Year. E-Reader Format.

 

Melville, Herman. Moby-Dick; or, The Whale. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1851. Accessed December 8, 2012. http://mel.hofstra.edu/moby-dick-the-whale-proofs.html.

Wilkerson, Isabel. The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration. New York: Vintage, 2010. Kindle.

Examples courtesy of The Turabian 8th edition.

Ask a Librarian

Librarians are available to help you with your questions. Please don't hesitate to contact us with any questions you might have regarding citation styles, citation management, etc.

Ask a question below or contact your subject specialist librarian for more help!

Useful Resources for Chicago/Turabian