Brett Cloyd
Foreign langauge films
The Libraries has a large media collection, including popular and foreign films. To find films in another language, use the InfoHawk+ Catalog and select "Advanced Search Options." Using the drop-down menus, select the language you want and choose a format that says audio-visual. .
The media collection is closed-stacks, which means that you will need to provide information about the movie you want to the Service Desk staff so that they can retrieve it for you. Bring either the title or call number (the 4-5 digit number listed in the item location) to the Main Library Service Desk, and a staff member will retrieve the item and check it out to you. You may also ask that the item be ready for you at the Service Desk, by logging into InfoHawk and starting a request.
Also check-out the Streaming Video page to find movies and documentaries in a variety of languages.
Other Helpful Gudies
Cultural studies and literature:
- African Literature and FIlm
- Chinese and Comparative Literature Studies
- English and American Literature
- French Literature
- German Literature
- Italian Literature
- Japanese Literature
- Korean Studies
- Middle East & Islamic Studies
- Portuguese Literature
- South Asian Studies
- Spanish Literature
Film/Media:
Listen and Watch Online
-
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)A collection of sound recordings documenting American music largely ignored by the commercial recording companies. Works can be browsed by work, album or track titles, as well as by artist roles, and date of recording and composition.
-
Music OnlineMost comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Includes collections of World Music, American Music, Popular Music, and more.
-
Naxos Music LibraryNaxos Music Library includes Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. While listening, you can read notes on the works being played as well as biographical information on composers or artists.
-
Naxos Video LibraryNaxos Video Library is a performing arts video library with over 300 operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places. It is continuously updated to offer the best selection of performing arts videos.
-
Kanopy StreamingCustom online libraries of streaming videos from a variety of studios on a variety of subjects.
UIowa can subscribe to individual titles upon request.
PDA subscriptions include:
* Latin American Studies Collection -
Swank Digital CampusStreaming video titles the University of Iowa has licensed from Swank.
Please note:The Google Widevine plugin is required for viewing video on this site.
