Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to content

Guides

Interntational Student Support & Engagement

This guide is for new and returning international students at the University of Iowa.

East Asian Collection

The East Asian Collection is located on the 2nd floor of the Main Library (on the west side near the Music collection), and includes Chinese collections, Japanese collections, and Korean collections

The Chinese Collection has over 150,000 volumes, including about 110,000 volumes in Chinese, and more than 400 current Chinese periodicals, covering subject areas in the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences. The collection is, in particular, strong in Chinese history, literature, dialectology, religion, and Dunhuang studies. Visit the Chinese Collection web page for research guides, print journals, online databases and resources, and more information about the collection.

Have questions or need assistance with the East Asian Collection?

Min Tian, Chinese Studies Librarian, min-tian@uiowa.edu
Tsuyoshi Harada, Japanese Studies and Korean Studies Librarian, tsuyoshi-harada@uiowa.edu.

International Newspapers

The library has electronic subscriptions to a number of international newspapers. To see if a newspaper is part of our collection, enter the title into this E-Journal locator (for example, "Le Monde," "India Today," "Korea Times," "Shanghai Daily," etc.).

Below is a list of some databases you can use to search for international newspapers. For more, see the News and Newspapers research guide, and go to the "International Newspaper Resources" tab.