- Africa South of the Sahara
Perhaps the most intensively annotated and frequently updated portal to Internet resources on Africa, with browsable Topic and Country lists.
- African Historical Dictionaries (print)
Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press.
Very useful resources for locating specific information about people, places and events. Most are located in the Reference Room in the DTs, but some will be found in the circulating collection.
- African Newspapers
More than 70 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century African newspapers. Featuring titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanganyika, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.
- African Index Medicus
In order to give access to information published in or related to Africa and to encourage local publishing, the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization has produced an international index to African health literature and information sources.
- African Studies (Oxford Bibliographies)
Over more than half a century, African Studies has emerged as a diverse multidisciplinary effort that spans multiple epistemologies and methodologies, making it challenging for students and scholars to be informed about every applicable area. And given the diversity of African environments and peoples it is difficult to appreciate both its broad similarities and complex specificities. This bibliographic resource combines broad introductions to such subjects as African society, politics, or literature with specific studies of individual peoples, states, or literary traditions to enable the user to appreciate Africans’ distinctiveness as well as their diversity.
- African Studies Abstracts Online (ASC Leiden)
ASA Online succeeds the printed abstracts journal of the African Studies Centre Leiden, published since 1968, first as Documentatieblad, then as African Studies Abstracts (1994-2002). It provides a quarterly overview of journal articles and edited works on Africa in the field of the social sciences and the humanities available in the ASC library.
- African Writers Series
The publication of this historic collection in online form restores access to a substantial body of literature, much of which is out of print and only accessible in specialist research libraries, opening up new possibilities for scholarship and teaching in the fields of African and literary studies.
- Africana Conference Paper Index
The Africana Conference Paper Index is an index to the individual papers -- in western European languages -- of the conference proceedings held by Northwestern's Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies. The database includes conference papers from the earliest period of the Northwestern Africana collections to the present, including 245,000 volumes, 2,500 current serials, 275 current African newspapers, 10,500 books in African languages, as well as other research materials.
- Art & Life in Africa Project
Art and Life in Africa Online contains information about African Art and Culture. Some of the material on this site has been adapted from similar material developed for the Art and Life in Africa CD-ROM being produced at The University of Iowa. Additionally, some material is specific to this site (and not found on the CD), as noted below. Links to further resources on the web have been added where appropriate.
- ArtMattan Productions
ArtMattan Productions distributes films that focus on the human experience of black people in Africa, the Caribbean, North and South America and Europe. All films are shown at the annual African Diaspora Film Festival in New York. The Main Library owns most of their films, which can be located in InfoHawk and checked out from Media Services.
- Black Drama - 1850 to present
This edition of Black Drama, Second Edition contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Some 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.
- Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center combines three invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black Studies: Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, International Index of Black Periodicals (IIBP), and The Chicago Defender. This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black Studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, and historical newspaper articles.
- British Online Archives: Colonial and Missionary Records
Includes the following collections: African Blue Books, 1821-1953; Early colonial and missionary records from West Africa; Papers of the Company of Scotland Trading to Africa and the Indies, 1694-1709; Universities' Mission to Central Africa; Papers relating to the Jamaican estates of the Goulburn family of Betchworth House; Records of the Committee on Women's Work, 1861 - 1967; South American Missionary Society records, 1844-1919; Archives of the Associates of Dr Bray to 1900; Indian papers of Colonel Clive and Brigadier-General Carnac, 1752-1774; Indian papers of the 4th Earl of Minto; Papers of Sir Mark Sykes, 1879-1919: the Sykes-Picot Agreement & the Middle East; and United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel (USPG) records for the Americas, Australia, New Zealand, Polynesia, South Asia, and West Indies.
- Cambridge History of Africa
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike.All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas. The extensive bibliographic referencing and other leading functionality, enhances usability and makes this resource ideal for any type of historical research.
- California Newsreel -- Library of African Cinema
California Newsreel is the most important distributor of African film and documentary. The Main Library owns all of their titles, which can be located in the InfoHawk Catalog and checked out from Media Services.
- Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966
Confidential Print: Africa, 1834-1966 covers the whole of the modern period of European colonization of Africa: from coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence. The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties.
- Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969
Confidential Print: Middle East, 1839-1969 covers the whole of modern British involvement in North Africa and the Middle East: from the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the nineteenth century, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict. The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. Documents range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties.
- Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP)
The Cooperative Africana Materials Project (CAMP), founded in 1963, is a joint effort by research libraries throughout the world and the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) to promote the preservation of publications and archives concerning the nearly fifty nations of Sub-Saharan Africa. UI researchers may borrow CAMP materials; contact the bibliographer for details.
- Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest (Nineteenth Century Collections Online
Through a variety of official government documents, political papers of prominent individuals, and newspaper accounts, researchers can trace the development of British strategic imperatives, French and Belgian desire for the expansion of trade and raw materials, and Germany and Italy’s late entrance onto the imperial stage. Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest covers exploration, military and missionary activities, and economic and political imperialism in the ninetenth century. Documents are sourced from The National Archives, Kew; the U.S. National Archives; the Library of Congress; the National Library of Scotland; and Bodleian Library, University of Oxford.
- Government Publications Relating to African Countries Prior to Independence (microform)
British colonial documents (in microform) pertaining to Kenya (1897-1963), Tanganyika (1919-1961), Uganda (1900-1962), Zanzibar (1860-1963), the Gambia (1822-1965), Sierra Leone (1808-1961), the Gold Coast (1846-1957), and Nigeria (1862-1960). See bibliographer for assistance.
- Literature of travel and exploration : an encyclopedia (print)
Jennifer Speake, ed. 3 vols. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003.
Call Number: Main Reference Collection. Folio G465 .L565 2003
“More than 600 alphabetically arranged entries—ranging in length from 1,000 to 5,000 words—each include an essay analyzing current thinking about a particular subject, as well as a thorough bibliography of source material that gives students and researchers a starting point for further study”.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought
The Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.
- Regional and District Books, Tanganyika (microform)
Beginning in 1922, British colonial officers at the provincial and district levels were directed to compile background information on the historical, social, political and economic circumstances of their jurisdictions. The resulting "handing over reports" or handbooks comprised the institutional knowledge of local colonial administration. See bibliographer for assistance.
- Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007
This digital collection documents key aspects of the history of slavery worldwide over six centuries. Topics covered include the African Coast, the Middle Passage, the varieties of slave experience, religion, revolts, abolition, and legislation. The collection also includes case studies from America, the Caribbean, Brazil, and Cuba.
- Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database has information on more than 35,000 slave voyages that forcibly embarked over 12 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries. It offers researchers, students and the general public a chance to rediscover the reality of one of the largest forced movements of peoples in world history.
- UNESCO General History of Africa
The UNESCO General History of Africa was the first of its type to present the entire history of the African continent. The collection sheds light on the pre-colonial era and interweaves Africa’s destiny with the rest of humanity’s, examining its interaction with other continents and the role of Africans in the dialogue between civilizations. The entire collection is published in eight volumes and is freely available online.