It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Video Online brings together on a single cross-searchable platform a completely integrated online repository of Alexander Street Press video titles. Of special interest are these collections: Area Studies Video Online; Ethnographic Video Online; Health and Healthcare in Video; Women's and Gender Studies Video Online; and World History in Video.
Chadwyck-Healey's automated combination of traditional manuscripts finding aids, including The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (but not including RLIN's AMC file; for that, request Reference assistance), this search tool indexes the holdings of more than 4,400 American repositories, amounting to some 100,000 collections. It is restricted to UI searchers, one at a time. A UI searcher may be bumped off after 15 minutes if another UI searcher begins a search. UI possesses a CD-ROM version, use of which entails no such difficulties, but the information it contains is less up to date, and it is accessible from the UI Main Library only.
Provides access to 400+ titles in the well-regarded Cambridge Companions series of essay collections on writers, composers, philosophers, cultural movements, and historical periods as a searchable textual corpus.
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas.
The Center for Research Libraries acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources. Most materials acquired are from outside the United States, and many are from five "emerging" regions of the world: Africa, the Middle East, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and Latin America. Some material is digitized, and accessible from the campus network; the rest is available through interlibrary loan.
A compilation of Buddhist technical terminology texts, temples, schools, persons, etc. that are found in East Asian Buddhist canonical sources. Since much of what East Asian Buddhists have written about is the Buddhism of India, Central Asia, and Tibet, the content of this database/dictionary/encyclopedia/translation glossary is pan-Buddhist in character. Dictionaries and other reference sources are in many East Asian languages (Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Pali, Sanskrit and Tibetan).
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering all aspects of cultural and social life. eHRAF is unique in having subject indexing at the paragraph level. This allows detailed and precise searching for concepts not easily found with keywords.
Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture. It includes articles on distinguished Muslims of every age and land, on tribes and dynasties, on the crafts and sciences, on political and religious institutions, on the geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of the various countries and on the history, topography and monuments of the major towns and cities. Its geographical and historical scope encompasses the old Arabo-Islamic empire, the Islamic countries of Iran, Central Asia, the Indian sub-continent and Indonesia, the Ottoman Empire and all modern Islamic states. The entire text of volumes I to XI and Supplement (Volume XII) of the printed edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam is included.
"Encyclopaedia Islamica Online is based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature of the encyclopaedia Islamica Online lies in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage."
The Encyclopedia of Global Human Migration provides a complete exploration of the prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day. It includes thematic interpretations and theories of migration, as well as the significant contemporary scientific discoveries and scholarly interpretations that have reshaped the way historians and social scientists analyze and map the past.
Examines the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. Explores a wide range of concepts and frameworks, both Western and non-Western, national and international. Part of CQ Electronic Library.
A place where you can conveniently find many resources to help you with your research of the world's languages. The Ethnologue database has been an active research project for more than fifty years. It is probably the most comprehensive listing of information about the currently known languages of the world. Thousands of linguists and other researchers all over the world rely on and have contributed to the Ethnologue database.
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform that contains books, primarily in English, from the collections of some of the largest libraries in the United States, including The University of Iowa Libraries. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and in copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives. To access full-text material, sign in with your HawkID and password.
This landmark Encyclopedia brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world’s best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field.
Jennifer Speake, ed. 3 vols. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003. Call Number: Main Reference Collection. Folio G465 .L565 2003
“More than 600 alphabetically arranged entries—ranging in length from 1,000 to 5,000 words—each include an essay analyzing current thinking about a particular subject, as well as a thorough bibliography of source material that gives students and researchers a starting point for further study”.
Subscribed modules: African Studies, Classics, Hinduism, Islamic Studies, Linguistics, Philosophy. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, Oxford Bibliographies Online guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Multi-part database of the online versions of seminal Oxford University Press reference titles. Includes important works such as The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World, Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World, and Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses (Full Text) is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses. The official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress and the database of record for graduate research. It includes 2.4 million dissertation and theses citations from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format.
Each dissertation published since July 1980 includes a 350-word abstract written by the author. Master's theses published since 1988 include 150-word abstracts. The Database offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aging & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work, Social Policy, and Sociology.
Scopus is the world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It contains 47 million records, 70% with abstracts and over 19,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide. It also includes over 4.6 million conference papers, 100% Medline coverage, and interoperability with Engineering Village and Reaxys. In addition, Scopus offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
A publication of the Metaphysics Research Lab Center for the Study of Language and Information. Dynamically updated and edited by Edward N. Zalta and supported by the American Philosophical Association, the Philosophy Documentation Center, and the Canadian Philosophical Association.
Provides full text access to current and historical constitutions for more than 190 countries. The collection also includes the World Fact Book back to 1981, the Modern Legal Systems Cyclopedia, the Country Studies Series from the U.S. Library of Congress, the British and Foreign State Papers from 1812 - 1968, the Annual Human Rights Reports submitted to Congress by the U.S. State Department back to 1976, more than 800 books on constitutional law, and links to scholarly articles and web resources on constitutional law and political development.
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.