Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Country Information & Issues
Europa World Plus
Economic, political, historical, and geographic profiles of 250+ countries and global regions. Contact information for political, business, media, and cultural agencies and officials, including 1,900 international organizations. Search or browse by country, region, organization, or people.
International Encyclopedia of Communication
Editorial areas include communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology.
International Encyclopedia of Media Studies
This landmark Encyclopedia brings together over 175 critical essays to redraw the boundaries of this rapidly evolving and dynamically complex area. Global in scope, wide-ranging in its inclusion of topics, and edited by an international team of the world’s best scholars, this is the definitive resource for the field.
A database of reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American Studies, Aging & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work, Social Policy, and Sociology.
Press Freedom & Human Rights Reports
This website contains news; features; actions; video and audio; information about countries, campaigns and issues. Amnesty International also produces hundreds of reports, press releases, appeals for action and newsletters each year and these are available in the Library.
ARTICLE 19 is a London-based human rights organisation with a specific mandate and focus on the defence and promotion of freedom of expression and freedom of information worldwide. The organisation takes its name from Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.
Child Labor Coalition
The Child Labor Coalition (CLC) exists to serve as a national network for the exchange of information about child labor; provide a forum and a unified voice on protecting working minors and ending child labor exploitation; and develop informational and educational outreach to the public and private sectors to combat child labor abuses and promote progressive initiatives and legislation.
Electronic Frontier Foundation
The Electronic Frontier Foundation (EFF) is an international non-profit digital rights advocacy and legal organization based in the United States. Blending the expertise of lawyers, policy analysts, activists, and technologists, EFF fights for freedom primarily in the courts, bringing and defending lawsuits even when that means taking on the U.S. government or large corporations.
Forced Migration Online
Forced Migration Online (FMO) is home to a growing collection of resources relating to refugees and forced migration. All our resources are available for free.
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch produces research reports on violations of international human rights norms as set out by the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and what it perceives to be other internationally accepted human rights norms. These reports are used as the basis for drawing international attention to abuses and pressuring governments and international organizations to reform.
Index on Censorship
Index on Censorship is a campaigning publishing organisation for freedom of expression, which produces an award-winning quarterly magazine of the same name from London. The Index on Censorship magazine was first published in 1972. It supports free expression, publishing distinguished writers from around the world, exposing suppressed stories, initiating debate, and providing an international record of censorship.
IREX Media Sustainability Index (MSI)
"IREX’s Media Sustainability Index (MSI) provides in-depth analyses of the conditions for independent media in 80 countries across Africa, Europe, Eurasia, and the Middle East".
Reporters Without Borders
Reporters Without Borders is an international professional association (based in France) devoted to advocacy of press freedom The organization maintains this trilingual website in order to keep a daily tally of attacks on press freedom as they occur throughout the world. Of particular value are their annual country reports on the state of press freedom.
United Nations Human Rights
The Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) is a United Nations agency that works to promote and protect the human rights that are guaranteed under international law and stipulated in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948.
US Department of State Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices are submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress in compliance with sections 116(d) and 502B(b) of the Foreign Assistance Act of 1961 (FAA), as amended, and section 504 of the Trade Act of 1974, as amended.
WikiLeaks is an international online not-for-profit organization that publishes submissions of private, secret, and classified media from anonymous news sources, news leaks, and whistleblowers. Important collections include Afghan War Diary (a compilation of more than 76,900 documents), Iraq War Logs (nearly 400,000 documents), Guantanamo Files (779 secret files relating to detainees), and Cablegate (more than 250,000 US State Department diplomatic cables).
International News Databases
Access World News Research Collection
Newspaper collections from NewsBank provide full-text articles from the electronic editions for over 600 U.S. and over 700 international newspapers. Includes: Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune are not accessible from Factiva. Contains a wide variety of financial information including business and economic news, text-search services, stock market quotations, financial and investment services and general news and information.
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni)
TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
World News Connection
WNC is an online news service of non-U.S. media sources provided by the National Technical Information Service.