How to Get Help
Need help with finding a book, finding full text, using the Hardin Library? The reference desk is staffed whenever the library is open. They can be reached by chat, email or phone: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/contact/
If you need to learn how to use a library resource, take a look at our HOW workshops. Please schedule a consultation iif you need help finding, organizing, or formatting references.
Orthopedics Liaison Librarian
Hardin Library Reference Desk
Please contact the Hardin Library reference desk when immediate help is needed:
Ph: 319-335-9151 email:lib-hardin@uiowa.edu
Using Hardin Library Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Service
- Hardin Library Interlibrary Loan Help Page Brief text based guide (HTML or PDF) that details how the UI Libraries Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery system works, and how to place requests.
- Using Interlibrary Loan Details and directions about using this service for health sciences affiliates
Additional Database Training Resources
- EMBASE Guides Brief text based guides (HTML, PDF, and slides) that detail basic navigation and searching in EMBASE. Created by Hardin Library staff.
- PsycINFO Guides Brief text based guides (HTML or PDF). Created by Hardin Library staff.
Literature Reviews
EndNote Desktop Training Resources
EndNote Desktop is an citation management tool that supports importing, organizing, sharing, and formatting references for student or professional research. It is available for UI faculty, staff, graduate students, and residents/fellows, and needs to be installed from the ITS Download page. From an on campus computer, local information technology support should be consulted to assist with download.
- EndNote: Sharing and Collaborating A brief overview of sharing options available with EndNote products. Created by Hardin Library staff.
- Contact EndNote Technical Support Contact EndNote support for advanced troubleshooting and for reporting issues.
- EndNote FAQ FAQ from EndNote. Also allows search of their knowledgebase for common issues.
- EndNote 20 for MacDetailed guide created by Hardin staff that provides information and steps to using most features of EndNote desktop.
- EndNote 20 for PCDetailed guide created by Hardin staff that provides information and steps to using most features of EndNote desktop.
EndNote Basic Training Resources
EndNote Basic is a web based citation management tool that supports importing, organizing, sharing, and formatting references, It is available for all UI students, faculty, and staff with the creation of an account. There is no installation to begin use, but an optional plug in can be configured to enable insertion of formatted in text citations within Word documents.
- EndNote Basic Guide created by Hardin staff that includes detailed instructions on key features, including importing references, generating bibliographies, and organizing references. Examples provided are specific to health sciences databases.
PubMed Training Resources
- Basic Searching in PubMed A brief guide created by Hardin Library staff on how to use PubMed effectively.
- PubMed Videos (Quick Tours) Quick Tours are 2-3 minute video demonstrations about using various features of PubMed. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Other resources
AMA MANUAL of STYLE, 11th EDITION by
The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates areincluded in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updatedguidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-dateon word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations.Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer tonearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.
ISBN: 9780190246556Publication Date: 2020
