Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Accessing Resources
All of the E Books and E Journals listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
There are more resources which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Orthopedics Liaison Librarian
Ankle Joint Arthroscopy by This book provides a comprehensive overview of current arthroscopic techniques for the management of ankle joint disorders. An introductory section clearly and accessibly explains the anatomy in question, the portal placement and other ankle procedures, addressing both the articular and extra-articular compartments. All currently available minimally invasive surgical options and the management of various upper and lower lesions of the ankle are then described step by step, discussing the main issues concerning each of them and sharing useful tips and tricks. A closing chapter is devoted to rehabilitation, which greatly differs in patients treated with arthroscopic procedures and those undergoing open surgery. The volume is also supplemented by detailed videos for each technique and procedure, both outside on the cutaneous layer and inside the joint. The book offers an invaluable tool for orthopedic surgeons and fellows dealing with foot and ankle disorders who normally prefer to use open procedures and desire to complement their surgical options with arthroscopy, as well as for those surgeons already familiar with arthroscopic techniques who would like to broaden their knowledge of the field.
Publication Date: 2020
Complications in Foot and Ankle Surgery by Comprehensive, current and insightful, this well-illustrated text is devoted to the detailed management of common but often challenging complications that all foot and ankle surgeons encounter in their practice. Opening with a discussion of the "anatomy" of a complication, the book is divided into five thematic sections - perioperative, forefoot, first ray, midfoot/hindfoot and ankle - with each chapter detailing the development and evolution of both major and minor complications, the evaluation and decision-making involved, and the best surgical management techniques for each. Perioperative topics covered include surgical infection, venous thromboembolism, and incisional complications, with the subsequent sections detailing complications following specific conditions, such as hallux valgus, calcaneal fractures, and the Charcot foot, among many others. Boasting a diverse and experienced authorship and Editors who are past Presidents of the American College of Foot and Ankle Surgeons, Complications in Foot and Ankle Surgery is a unique and timely resource for foot and ankle surgeons worldwide who treat these challenging conditions.
Publication Date: 2017
Core Knowledge in Orthopaedics: Foot and Ankle by The latest techniques and advances in the field, cutting-edge clinical and surgical knowledge and a clear, bulleted format are featured in this fully revised 2nd Edition of Core Knowledge in Orthopaedics: Foot and Ankle. Perfect for exam review or in preparation for rotations or a challenging clinical case, this easy-to-use resource is designed for busy orthopaedic residents and fellows as well as practitioners who want a quick review of the foot and ankle. Brings you fully up to date with current techniques and advances in the area of foot and ankle, including new developments in orthotics, ankle fractures, Achilles injuries, and more. Features a new, full-color design throughout, plus new chapters on Hallux Rigidus and Sesamoid Pathology and Osteochondral Lesions of Talus. Presents new and fully revised information in a bulleted, templated format, with summary tables that help you find and retain key information. Includes key facts for quick review and selected references for further reading in every chapter. Shares the knowledge and experience of two experts in the field, Drs. Justin K. Greisberg and J. Turner Vosseller. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2018
Foot and Ankle Disorders by This book, specifically designed to be of value in clinical practice, is an up-to-date, case-oriented reference on the various foot and ankle disorders that is presented in the style of a teaching file, with a wealth of informative illustrations. The text is concise and informative, providing a general overview of each disorder, identifying key points for correct diagnosis and differential diagnosis, and highlighting tips and pitfalls in conservative and operative treatment. The most important feature, however, is the depiction of representative cases by means of detailed, high-quality color photographs that will acquaint the reader with the key appearances relevant to diagnosis and treatment. Foot and Ankle Disorders will serve as a user-friendly source of information for all who deal with these conditions. It will be especially valuable for those with a keen interest in treatment algorithms, surgical techniques, and prevention of surgical complications.
Publication Date: 2016
Foot and Ankle Sports Orthopaedics by This book provides a comprehensive review of the diagnosis, management and treatment of sports injuries to the foot and ankle. The editors have assembled a list of contributors at the top of their field to define the medical management, treatment and surgery for the most common and highly debilitating sports injuries. Currently, foot and ankle injuries are the most common musculoskeletal injuries, thus this book fills the clear need for a state-of-the art resource that focuses upon this growing area of orthopaedic practice. Foot and Ankle Sports Orthopaedics is highly relevant to orthopaedic surgeons, sports orthopaedic surgeons and medical professionals dealing with sports injuries around the F&A. With clear and didactic information and superb illustrations, this book will prove to be an indispensable learning tool for readers seeking expert guidance to further their surgical skills in this area.
Publication Date: 2017
Foot and Ankle Trauma Injuries by This full-color atlas offers a systematic guide to performing surgeries for the most common traumatic lesions of the foot and ankle. It features a wealth of didactic illustrations, achieved with a particular technique employing colors and transparencies that also reveals those anatomic structures that are not visible in the surgical field, but essential to a good outcome. Divided into seven chapters, the book provides coverage of all anatomic segments, presenting each topic logically and explaining all types of lesions, even the most difficult, complicated or infrequent ones; discussing the indications and objectives of the surgical treatment; describing the surgical technique (patient positioning, approach, tips and tricks for reduction, means of osteosynthesis); and providing recommended post-operative protocols. Unique in its exclusive focus on foot and ankle traumatology, this atlas offers an invaluable resource for all surgeons and residents who need a systematic overview of the main treatments options for these segments.
Publication Date: 2018
Handbook of Foot and Ankle Orthopedics by Foot and ankle orthopedics is the fastest developing orthopedic subspecialty in the Asia-Pacific region and the Handbook of Foot and Ankle Orthopedics is designed to be an indispensable guide for all general as well as specialist orthopedicians. The handbook covers a wide range of topics, including the general rules of foot and ankle examination, their investigation, rationale of prescription of foot and ankle orthotics, various malunions, management of foot and ankle trauma, diagnosis, and the management of common foot and ankle infections. It also explains the art of arthrodesis in a concise yet comprehensive manner. Its content is organized in a pointwise format, supported by algorithms, tables, illustrations and real clinical pictures for easy and quick reference by orthopedic surgeons. The chapters are contributed by internationally-renowned authors with years of clinical experience. Salient features Comprehensive knowledge of all common and complex foot and ankle problems encountered in general orthopedic practice. Clear goals and principles of management along with treatment solutions in keeping with the resources available in developing countries. A simple approach to diagnosis and differential diagnosis of problems. Special 'Tips and Tricks' section summarizing the important points at various places within and at the end of chapters.
Publication Date: 2016
New Techniques in Foot and Ankle Surgery by This book presents in exquisite detail numerous new surgical techniques for the treatment of foot and ankle conditions, as well as the latest refinements of established procedures. All operations are depicted step by step with the aid of superb illustrations, with precise and succinct accompanying descriptions. The author is an expert in the field, with many years of experience, whose goals here are to facilitate the smooth translation of theory into practice and to stimulate further discussions and communications regarding optimal surgical management. The book is already in its second edition in German. Among the key features of this first English edition are the latest advances in arthroscopy, surgical procedures on the Achilles tendon, interventions for treatment of lateral ligament and syndesmotic ankle injuries, surgical interventions on the metatarsophalangeal joint, surgical correction of hindfoot deformities, forefoot surgery, and ankle arthroplasty. The book will be of value for foot and ankle surgeons at all levels.
Publication Date: 2017
Skeletal Trauma by Offering expert, comprehensive guidance on the basic science, diagnosis, and treatment of acute musculoskeletal injuries and post-traumatic reconstructive problems, Skeletal Trauma, 6th Edition, brings you fully up to date with current approaches in this challenging specialty. This revised edition is designed to meet the needs of orthopaedic surgeons, residents, fellows, and traumatologists, as well as emergency physicians who treat patients with musculoskeletal trauma. International thought leaders incorporate the latest peer-reviewed literature, technological advances, and practical advice with the goal of optimizing patient outcomes for the full range of traumatic musculoskeletal injuries. Offers complete coverage of relevant anatomy and biomechanics, mechanisms of injury, diagnostic approaches, treatment options, and associated complications. Includes eight new chapters dedicated to advances in technology and addressing key problems and procedures, such as Initial Evaluation of the Spine in Trauma Patients, Management of Perioperative Pain Associated with Trauma and Surgery, Chronic Pain Management (fully addressing the opioid epidemic), Understanding and Treating Chronic Osteomyelitis, and more. Features a complimentary one-year subscription to OrthoEvidence, a global online platform that provides high-quality, peer-reviewed and timely orthopaedic evidence-based summaries of the latest and most relevant literature. Contains unique, critical information on mass casualty incidents and war injuries, with contributions from active duty military surgeons and physicians in collaboration with civilian authors to address injuries caused by road traffic, armed conflict, civil wars, and insurgencies throughout the world. Features important call out boxes summarizing key points, pearls and pitfalls, and outcomes. Provides access to nearly 130 instructional videos that demonstrate principles of care and outline detailed surgical procedures. Contains a wealth of high-quality illustrations, full-color photographs, and diagnostic images. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019
Special Procedures in Foot and Ankle Surgery by Foot and ankle surgery has grown rapidly within the last 20 years, due to international collaboration between podiatric, orthopaedic, and trauma surgeons from around the globe.nbsp;This book aims to provide trainees with a general overview of topics encountered innbsp;foot and ankle surgery, by presenting the general surgery section published originally within International Advances in Foot and Ankle Surgery. While this book does not exclude scientific background, it emphasizes a practical, hands-on approach. To meet the demand of all foot and ankle surgeons, the book encompasses forefoot and rearfoot deformities as well as reconstructive surgery of the diabetic foot. This book will appeal to trainees who have yet to specialise, but need access to an easy reference companion within general foot and ankle surgery.
Publication Date: 2012