Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Accessing Resources
All of the E Books and E Journals listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
There are more resources which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Orthopedics Librarian Liaison
Trauma E Books
Atlas of Upper Extremity Trauma by Demonstrating current management techniques for traumatic fractures and dislocations of the upper extremity, this atlas utilizes a practical, how-to structure, discussing philosophy, approach, patient positioning, prepping, draping, and surgical techniques for each type of injury. Generously illustrated with intraoperative photos, the chapters of this atlas are arranged by anatomic location, from the clavicle and shoulder down to the fingers, with each chapter briefly describing the thought processes involved in choosing surgical interventions and applied anatomy approaches, fixation selections, and techniques. Actual case examples, cadaver photos and plentiful radiographs illustrate the text for a strongly visual presentation, and a list of "Eglsederisms" - pithy bits of advice for residents and veteran surgeons alike - set the stage for a highly demonstrative resource for orthopedic and trauma surgeons, residents and fellows.
Publication Date: 2018
General Principles of Orthopedics and Trauma by The second edition of this book concisely covers the most recent developments in orthopedics and trauma. It features detailed descriptions, x rays, clinical and therapeutic pathway diagrams for a number of commonly encountered disorders including fractures, metabolic disorders, bone tumors, and amputations enabling the reader to develop a deep understanding of the latest information on how to successfully diagnose and treat these patients. General Principles of Orthopedics and Trauma is an ideal resource for trainees and junior surgeons seeking an easy to follow clinical guide on how to successfully diagnose and treat patients with orthopedic and trauma disorders. It is also of use to the experienced practitioner seeking a practically applicable text on the latest advances in the field.
Publication Date: 2019
Operative Techniques: Orthopaedic Trauma Surgery by Part of the practical, highly illustrated Operative Techniques series, this fully revised book from Drs. Emil H. Schemitsch and Michael D. McKee brings you up to speed with must-know surgical techniques in today's technically demanding orthopaedic trauma surgery. Step-by-step, evidence-based guidance walks you through both common and unique cases you're likely to see in your practice, including upper extremity, lower extremity, spine, pelvis, and acetabulum trauma. Practical features such as pearls of wisdom, key points, and potential pitfalls detailed by the authors in order to successfully manage patients with complex fracture patterns have all been reinforced in this new edition. Includes all-new chapters on Acromioclavicular Joint Injuries, Sternoclavicular Joint Open Reduction and Internal Fixation, Intramedullary Fixation of Clavicle Shaft Fractures, Use of the Reamer Irrigator Aspirator (RIA) for Bone Graft Harvesting, Fractures of the Posterior Tibial Plateau, Reverse Total Shoulder Arthroplasty for Proximal Humerus Fractures, and many more. Features high-quality line drawings, diagnostic and intraoperative images, and radiographs alongside expert technical guidance on instrumentation, placement, step-by-step instructions and more - all supported by best evidence. Includes practical videos online to support visual understanding and implementation into practice. A bulleted, highly templated format allows for quick understanding of surgical techniques. Outlines positioning, exposures, instrumentation, and implants to equip you to be more thoroughly prepared for every procedure. Offers post-operative management guidelines and discussions of expected outcomes to help you avoid mistakes and offer quality, patient-focused care. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019
Orthopedic and Trauma Findings by This book is a practical, step-by-step guide to orthopedic examination and diagnosis. The author explains a systematic classification of clinical findings that has proven very useful in diagnosing orthopedic disorders in daily routine. The approach to examination begins with a checklist covering the complete patient history, including subjective descriptions of complaints. This is followed by a stepwise approach to physical examination of the patient and collection of clinical findings. Photographs and illustrations clearly depict the necessary examination techniques. The main symptoms are then determined from the patient history and clinical findings, leading to a diagnosis. An overview of all relevant orthopedic conditions for each region of the body facilitates differential diagnosis and thereby completes the examination findings. This book will be of particular value for new residents in orthopedics and trauma but will also be useful for the experienced physician as a means of refreshing knowledge or as a reference.
Publication Date: 2016
Orthopedics in Disasters by This book is the first to address specifically the mechanisms and treatment of orthopedic injuries due to natural disasters and other mass casualty events. Casualty management is discussed in a range of contexts, from earthquakes and tsunamis to terror attacks and combat situations. Organizational aspects are addressed, general treatment principles are documented, and the management of a variety of orthopedic injuries is described with the aid of numerous illustrations. The book will serve as an invaluable source of practical knowledge for a broad spectrum of medical and other staff, including emergency personnel, orthopedic and trauma surgeons, general practitioners, medical students, and professionals working for the military, government bodies, and NGOs.
Publication Date: 2016
Orthopedic Traumatology by Now in its revised and expanded second edition, this comprehensive, user-friendly text brings the latest evidence to bear on the diagnosis and management of orthopedic trauma patients. Centering on clinical scenarios, each chapter is based on a specific case. Leaders in the field of orthopedic trauma provide their expert opinions on management strategies and techniques while using data as their guide. The book is divided into sections covering the spine, upper and lower extremities, hip and acetabulum, foot and ankle, polytrauma, infection and perioperative management. New chapters in this edition discuss elbow fracture dislocations, femoral neck fractures in the young, Lisfranc injuries and acute post-operative infection. Each chapter describes and summarizes the data in a consistent structure, but achieves this objective in a case-based format. Utilizing the latest literature, Orthopedic Traumatology: An Evidence-Based Approach, Second Edition will continue to serve as a guide for orthopedic residents and practicing physicians alike.
Publication Date: 2018
Trauma and Orthopaedic Classifications by This illustrated textbook is an essential and invaluable guide to young clinicians and researchers of Trauma and Orthopaedics, reporting all classification systems which are currently utilised in the clinical setting. It includes classifications relevant to both Elective Orthopaedic Practice and Orthopaedic Trauma. Clear graphic illustrations accompany the description of all different classification schemes in a comprehensive manner, together with a structured presentation of existing clinical evidence. In this manner each chapter of the different anatomical sites and pathologies assists the decision making of the readers regarding treatment strategy as well as informed consent of their patients. It is envisaged that this textbook will be a point of reference not only to the surgeons in training (residents) but also to senior surgeons and academic clinicians.
Publication Date: 2015
Trauma and Orthopaedics at a Glance by Trauma and Orthopaedics at a Glance is an easy-to-read, highly visual guide to orthopaedics. It comprehensively covers relevant basic science and clinically-oriented anatomy of the musculoskeletal system, and the diagnosis and management of trauma, sports injuries, paediatric orthopaedics, degenerative disease, and musculoskeletal tumours. Although primarily aimed at junior doctors and senior medical students, it is also useful for physiotherapists and nurse practitioners. Trauma and Orthopaedics at a Glance: * Provides thorough coverage of diagnosis, investigation and contemporary treatment options of commonly encountered orthopaedic conditions; * Features a section on what to expect as a Foundation doctor in orthopaedics, including how to present cases in trauma meetings, essential information to survive 'on-call' shifts and tips for efficient clerking of trauma admissions; * Unique 'how to' section, comprising guidance on key practical procedures such as aspirating joints, manipulating fractures and applying plaster casts. * Includes a companion website at ataglanceseries.com/tando featuring 120 multiple-choice questions and 10 case studies This brand new title presents an overview of all the information relating to diagnosing and treating musculoskeletal conditions, and is ideal while on rotation or revising key concepts.
Publication Date: 2015