Orthopedics: General Orthopedics Resources
Resources for medical students, residents, fellows, and staff in Orthopedics.
About Accessing Resources
All of the E-books and E-journals listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with a Hawk ID and password.
There are more resources which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulties accessing resources or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Orthopedics Liaison Librarian
Hardin Library Reference Desk
Please contact the Hardin Library reference desk when immediate help is needed:
Ph: 319-335-9151 email:lib-hardin@uiowa.edu
General Orthopedic Journals
- Clinical Orthopaedics and Related ResearchE access from 1963
- Iowa Orthopaedic JournalE access from 1981
- Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery--AmericanE access from 1948
- Journal of Bone and Joint Surgery-- BritishE access from 1948
- Journal of Orthopedic Surgery and ResearchE access from 2006
- Journal of the American Academy of Orthopedic SurgeonsE access from 1993
- The Open Orthopaedics JournalE access from 2007
- The Orthopedic Clinics of North AmericaE access from 1995
- Orthopedics & Traumatology, Surgery, and ResearchE access from 2009
- Orthopedics: Blue JournalE access from 2018
- Orthopedics and TraumaE access from 1995
General Orthopedics E-Books
Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics, 4-Volume Set by
Still the most widely used comprehensive resource in orthopaedic surgery, Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics is an essential reference for trainees, a trusted clinical tool for practitioners, and the gold standard for worldwide orthopaedic practice. Unparalleled in scope and depth, this 14th Edition contains updated diagnostic images, practical guidance on when and how to perform every procedure, and rapid access to data in preparation for surgical cases or patient evaluation. Drs. Frederick M. Azar and James H. Beaty, along with other expert contributors from the world-renowned Campbell Clinic, have collaborated diligently to ensure that this 4-volume text remains a valuable resource in your practice, helping you achieve optimal outcomes with every patient. Features evidence-based surgical coverage throughout to aid in making informed clinical choices for each patient. Covers multiple procedures for all body regions to provide comprehensive coverage. Keeps you up to date with even more high-quality procedural videos, a new chapter on biologics in orthopaedics, and expanded and updated content on hip arthroscopy, patellofemoral arthritis and more. Follows a standard template for every chapter that features highlighted procedural steps, high-quality illustrations for clear visual guidance, and bulleted text. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
ISBN: 9780323672177Publication Date: 2021, 14th ed.
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Orthopedics by
This Current Diagnosis and Treatment in Orthopedics is the sixth edition of the Orthopedic Surgery contribution to the Lange Current series of books. Much has changed in orthopedics since the first edition came out, but the goal of this book has not changed. It is intended to fill a need for a ready source of up-to-date information on disorders and diseases treated by orthopedic surgeons and related clinicians. The format in this edition is unchanged from the previous edition: there is emphasis on the major diagnostic features of disease states, the natural history of the disease where appropriate, the workup required for definitive diagnosis, and finally, definitive treatment. The book focuses on orthopedic conditions, deemphasizing the treatment of the patient from a general medical viewpoint, except when it pertains to the orthopedic problem under consideration. Importantly, pathophysiology, epidemiology, and pathology are included when they assist in arriving at a definitive diagnosis or an understanding of the treatment of the disease or condition. In many conditions, such as infection or neoplasm, it is extremely important to understand the pathophysiology because the disease may be encountered at various time points in the progression of the disease.
ISBN: 9781260135985Publication Date: 2021, 6th ed.
Emergency Orthopedics Handbook by
This handbook provides a comprehensive, yet succinct guide to the evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of various musculoskeletal/extremity disorders in the emergency department. It covers a wide variety of common patient presentations, advanced imaging interpretation, proper anesthetic implementation, and associated extremity reduction/immobilization techniques. Richly illustrated, it assists clinical decision making with high-yield facts, essential figures, and step-by-step procedural instruction. Emergency Orthopedics Handbook is an indispensable resource for all medical professionals that manage emergent orthopedic, musculoskeletal, and local extremity injury care.
ISBN: 9783030007065Publication Date: 2019
Essential Orthopaedics by
The vast majority of orthopaedic care takes place not in the orthopaedic surgeon's office or operating room but in various primary care settings. Essential Orthopaedics, 2nd Edition, provides concise, practical guidance from noted authority Dr. Mark D. Miller, along with a stellar editorial team and numerous contributors from both orthopaedics and primary care. Using a templated, bulleted format, it delivers the information you need on diagnosis, management, and appropriate referrals for adult and pediatric patients. It's the perfect, everyday orthopaedic reference for primary care physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, physical therapists, and athletic trainers in the clinic or training room. Key Features: Offers expert insight to help you confidently diagnose and treat sprains, fractures, arthritis and bursitis pain, and other musculoskeletal problems, or refer them when appropriate; Covers topics of high importance in orthopaedic care: anatomy and terminology, radiologic evaluation of orthopaedic conditions, principles of fracture management, and special considerations for the obese, the elderly, athletes, those with comorbidities, and other patient populations; Features 40 videos covering injections, physical examinations, common procedures, and more; Includes 12 new chapters with current information on physical exam of the hip and pelvis, femoroacetabular impingement (FAI), athletic pubalgia, state-of-the-art surgical techniques, and new imaging information, particularly in the area of musculoskeletal ultrasound; Provides new ICD-10 codes for common orthopaedic conditions; Features diagnostic algorithms, specific steps for treatment, and full-color illustrations throughout.
ISBN: 9780323567046Publication Date: 2020, 2nd ed.
General Orthopaedics and Basic Science by
This volume of the Orthopaedic Study Guide Series provides the foundation of general orthopedic and basic science. Chapters of this book cohere around three aspects of the musculoskeletal system, anatomy, physiology, and pathology. Next to basic principles, case reports underline key information relating to disorders, diagnosis, and treatment options. Written by leading experts, this volume is a concise guide designed as quick reference, thereby it presents a useful resource for orthopedic residents and fellows. .
ISBN: 9783319921938Publication Date: 2019
General Principles of Orthopedics and Trauma by
The second edition of this book concisely covers the most recent developments in orthopedics and trauma. It features detailed descriptions, x rays, clinical and therapeutic pathway diagrams for a number of commonly encountered disorders including fractures, metabolic disorders, bone tumors, and amputations enabling the reader to develop a deep understanding of the latest information on how to successfully diagnose and treat these patients. General Principles of Orthopedics and Trauma is an ideal resource for trainees and junior surgeons seeking an easy to follow clinical guide on how to successfully diagnose and treat patients with orthopedic and trauma disorders. It is also of use to the experienced practitioner seeking a practically applicable text on the latest advances in the field.
ISBN: 9783030150884Publication Date: 2019, 2nd ed.
Orthopaedics and Trauma: Current Concepts and Best Practices by
This book provides an easy-going, high-quality and updated work focused on the most common diagnoses of Traumatology and Orthopaedics. It's structured with several sub-headings, including bullet-point tips for basic concepts. Each chapter is focused on a specific pathology and includes the following sub-headings: short introduction, applied anatomy and physiology, prevalence, classification, diagnosis (including anamnesis, physical examination and complementary imaging, from plain x-ray to cross-sectional imaging), treatment (conservative-surgical options), controversies, complications, future directions and author’s preference for treatment apart from references. Orthopaedics and Trauma - Current Concepts will be an inspiration to the young orthopaedic resident, fellow or even general orthopaedic surgeon and senior medical student. It will definitely help with their careers and also be a useful tool to prepare for the board certified orthopaedic examination.
ISBN: 3031305183Publication Date: 2024
Orthopedics for Physician Assistant and Nurse Practitioner Students by
This practical introductory guide provides PA/NP students with the tools to recognize and begin treatment of the most common orthopedic problems, to avoid missing critical diagnoses, and to serve as a base of knowledge to which they can add depending on their chosen career path. Utilizing this concise text, PA/NP students will gain a basic familiarity with how to describe a problem (including imaging) to an orthopedic surgeon as well as how to begin treatment. In addition, the student should have no difficulty passing the orthopedic portion of the PA/NP credentialing exams.
ISBN: 9783031044069Publication Date: 2022
Orthopedics for Physician Assistants by
Orthopaedics for Physician Assistants is designed for those PAs who at some point find themselves alone in the vast world of musculoskeletal care and need a fast, reliable source to make it through the day. This text is the first of its kind. It is written for PAs by PAs or PA advocates. Its format is made for quick reading and referencing. Its small size is meant for storage in a pocket or at a clinic workstation. Its content and depth of knowledge are meant to appeal to the level of orthopaedic care provided by PAs working in the emergency department, primary care office, urgent care office, or orthopaedic clinic. This text is a reference and meant to be part of every PA student’s library upon graduation.
ISBN: 9780323709859Publication Date: 2022, 2nd ed.
Personalized Orthopedics: Contributions and Applications of Biomedical Engineering by
This book covers the most important topics in the field of personalized orthopedics. It starts with the 3D geometry of the bones, focusing on the problem of reverse engineering of the bones. It also shows the application of a 3D geometric model of bone for the design of personalized implants and prostheses. This book covers the application of additive technologies in personalized orthopedics as well as prediction, simulation and optimization in personalized orthopedics. Its content provides the necessary knowledge for the transition from classical to personalized orthopedics. The authors present an original method for reverse bone engineering—the Method of Anatomical Features (MAF). This method is unique as it enables the reconstruction of the original geometry and topology of the bone, even when only data on its part are available. The application of this method is shown on the examples of human long bones, mandible and hip bone reconstruction.
ISBN: 3030982793Publication Date: 2022
Tutorials in Suturing Techniques for Orthopedics by
This book introduces the surgical suture techniques in orthopaedics. These techniques have been recognized as a crucial part for wound care and surgery-related prognosis. Training of fellows on suture techniques is of great importance. This book provides a standard tutorial on how to be proficient in surgical suture performance. The history and basic concepts are introduced. Important issues when considering suture methods, including site infections, suturing materials, room setups, cosmetics and drainage are also discussed fully. Different types of suture techniques applying to orthopaedic surgeries are presented with illustrations. The author strives to implement the principle that orthopaedic theory should be connected with clinical practice, highlight the application of theoretical knowledge, strengthen the pertinence and practicality of suture techniques, and reflect domestic and international development trends to the greatest extend.
ISBN: 9813363304Publication Date: 2021
Electronic Orthopedics Collections
- OrthoMedia Free resource from British Society of Bone & Joint Surgery. Provides access to multimedia, such as conference videos, speaker profiles, podcasts. Requires a free account/registration for access.
- Wheeless' Textbook of Orthopedics From Duke University Medical Center's Division of Orthopaedic Surgery. A free online resource that includes general information about anatomy, pathology, and orthopedic surgery. Contains ads.
Interactive Anatomy Resources
- Hardin Simulation Center Hardin has many simulation devices available to help practice basic skills. A list of those available can be found by clicking on this link.
- Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window Anatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. In addition, supporting media, surch as MRIs, X-rays, and movies and animations are included.
- eSkeletons eSkeletons allows users to select a skeleton and view various bones including morphology, insertions, and origins of these bones. There is also a PDA source available for download. Source:University of Texas at Austin
- Gale Interactive Human Anatomy FOR OFF CAMPUS USE LIBRARY ID= uiacic. Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy provides 3D, interactive views of more than 4300 structures and 13,500 identifiable landmarks in the human body.
- Human Anatomy Learning Modules Dartmouth Medical School produces this site including radiographs, images, and dissection videos.
- Inner Body This free website provides labeled images of different parts of the human body including skeletal, digestive, muscular, lymphatic, endocrine, etc.
- The Visible Human Project® The Visible Human Project® is an outgrowth of the NLM's 1986 Long-Range Plan. It is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies. Acquisition of transverse CT, MR and cryosection images of representative male and female cadavers has been completed. The male was sectioned at one millimeter intervals, the female at one-third of a millimeter intervals. Source: National Library of Medicince Website
- Zygote Body (formerly Google Body) Google provides a 3D model of the human body. Using this program you can look at various parts of the anatomy and share what you are seeing with others by copying the URL. Must have google chrome or another compatible browser installed on computer.