Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Accessing Resources
All of the E Books and E Journals listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
There are more resources which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Orthopedics Liaison Librarian
General Orthopedic Journals
Hardin Library Reference Desk
General Orthopedics E Books
Bio-orthopaedics A New Approach by This book introduces the exciting field of orthobiology, which will usher in a new array of therapeutic approaches that stimulate the body’s natural resources to regenerate musculoskeletal tissues damaged by trauma or disease. The book addresses a range of key topics and discusses emerging approaches that promise to offer effective alternatives to traditional treatments for injuries to bone, cartilage, muscles, ligaments, and tendons. It explains in detail how a variety of innovative products, including biomaterials, growth factors, and autogenous cells, together provide the basis for the regeneration of these musculoskeletal structures and how recent scientific progress has created unique opportunities to address pathological situations that until recently have been treated with unsatisfactory results. The authors are experts from across the world who come together to provide a truly global overview. The book is published in collaboration with ISAKOS. It will be invaluable for all with an interest in this area of medicine, which has already attained huge popularity in Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine and has also attracted the attention of the lay public.
Publication Date: 2017
Campbell's Core Orthopaedic Procedures by Ideal for orthopaedic surgeons who need a practical resource covering the top procedures in the field, Campbell's Core Orthopaedic Procedures utilizes a succinct format that focuses solely on the surgical techniques critical in helping achieve optimal patient outcomes. Featuring step-by-step procedures used at the Campbell Clinic, this new resource offers practical, concise solutions for every patient scenario. Trusted techniques follow the format outlined in Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics, 12th edition, accompanied by detailed illustrations, intraoperative photographs, and additional online video clips. Easily find information in the moment of need with a practical, portable, easily accessible volume featuring the most relevant procedures used at the Campbell Clinic. Covers procedures from all body regions presented in a concise atlas-style format that includes an Expert Consult eBook with image enhancements. Procedural steps lead with artwork and are followed by bulleted information so that techniques can be quickly reviewed. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2015
Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics, 4-Volume Set by Still the most widely used comprehensive resource in orthopaedic surgery, Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics is an essential reference for trainees, a trusted clinical tool for practitioners, and the gold standard for worldwide orthopaedic practice. Unparalleled in scope and depth, this 14th Edition contains updated diagnostic images, practical guidance on when and how to perform every procedure, and rapid access to data in preparation for surgical cases or patient evaluation. Drs. Frederick M. Azar and James H. Beaty, along with other expert contributors from the world-renowned Campbell Clinic, have collaborated diligently to ensure that this 4-volume text remains a valuable resource in your practice, helping you achieve optimal outcomes with every patient. Features evidence-based surgical coverage throughout to aid in making informed clinical choices for each patient. Covers multiple procedures for all body regions to provide comprehensive coverage. Keeps you up to date with even more high-quality procedural videos, a new chapter on biologics in orthopaedics, and expanded and updated content on hip arthroscopy, patellofemoral arthritis and more. Follows a standard template for every chapter that features highlighted procedural steps, high-quality illustrations for clear visual guidance, and bulleted text. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Publication Date: 2020
Current Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics, Twenty-Fifth Edition by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most practical, up-to-date, and well-referenced guide to the diagnosis and treatment of children--from birth to adolescence A Doody's Core Title for 2020! Following the "Current" outline format to make it super easy for you to find the answers you need, this comprehensive, clinically focused guide delivers evidence-based information on the pediatric medical conditions most often encountered in daily clinical practice. Complete with an invaluable guide to normal laboratory values and 600 photos and illustrations, CURRENT Diagnosis and Treatment Pediatrics offers succinct, authoritative overviews of important pediatric health concerns, such as childhood nutrition and eating disorders; substance abuse; psychiatric disorders; child abuse; oral medicine and dentistry; immunization; and emergencies and injuries. The authors provide detailed descriptions of diseases as well as diagnostic and therapeutic procedures, and everything is presented in the time-saving LANGE CURRENT style: Problem, Essentials of Diagnosis, Clinical Findings, Differential Diagnosis, Treatment, and Prognosis.
Publication Date: 2020
Digital Orthopedics by This book addresses all aspects of digital techniques in orthopedics, from development of the core principles to imaging techniques, computer-aided design, reverse engineering and their applications. It illustrates the successful applications in accurate operation using 3-D reconstruction and applied digital techniques. All illustrations and tables were meticulously selected and are easy to understand. The book was written for all doctors and researchers who work in the fields of orthopedics, CAD/CAM and anatomy. Above all, surgeons, physiatrists, radiologists, and engineers in image processing and orthopedics will find it a valuable resource.
Publication Date: 2018
Emergency Orthopedics Handbook by This handbook provides a comprehensive, yet succinct guide to the evaluation, diagnosis, and treatment of various musculoskeletal/extremity disorders in the emergency department. It covers a wide variety of common patient presentations, advanced imaging interpretation, proper anesthetic implementation, and associated extremity reduction/immobilization techniques. Richly illustrated, it assists clinical decision making with high-yield facts, essential figures, and step-by-step procedural instruction. Emergency Orthopedics Handbook is an indispensable resource for all medical professionals that manage emergent orthopedic, musculoskeletal, and local extremity injury care.
Publication Date: 2019
Essential Orthopaedics by The vast majority of orthopaedic care takes place not in the orthopaedic surgeon's office or operating room but in various primary care settings. Essential Orthopaedics, 2nd Edition, provides concise, practical guidance from noted authority Dr. Mark D. Miller, along with a stellar editorial team and numerous contributors from both orthopaedics and primary care. Using a templated, bulleted format, it delivers the information you need on diagnosis, management, and appropriate referrals for adult and pediatric patients. It's the perfect, everyday orthopaedic reference for primary care physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, physical therapists, and athletic trainers in the clinic or training room. Key Features: Offers expert insight to help you confidently diagnose and treat sprains, fractures, arthritis and bursitis pain, and other musculoskeletal problems, or refer them when appropriate; Covers topics of high importance in orthopaedic care: anatomy and terminology, radiologic evaluation of orthopaedic conditions, principles of fracture management, and special considerations for the obese, the elderly, athletes, those with comorbidities, and other patient populations; Features 40 videos covering injections, physical examinations, common procedures, and more; Includes 12 new chapters with current information on physical exam of the hip and pelvis, femoroacetabular impingement (FAI), athletic pubalgia, state-of-the-art surgical techniques, and new imaging information, particularly in the area of musculoskeletal ultrasound; Provides new ICD-10 codes for common orthopaedic conditions; Features diagnostic algorithms, specific steps for treatment, and full-color illustrations throughout.
Publication Date: 2020
General Orthopaedics and Basic Science by This volume of the Orthopaedic Study Guide Series provides the foundation of general orthopedic and basic science. Chapters of this book cohere around three aspects of the musculoskeletal system, anatomy, physiology, and pathology. Next to basic principles, case reports underline key information relating to disorders, diagnosis, and treatment options. Written by leading experts, this volume is a concise guide designed as quick reference, thereby it presents a useful resource for orthopedic residents and fellows. .
Publication Date: 2019
General Principles of Orthopedics and Trauma by The second edition of this book concisely covers the most recent developments in orthopedics and trauma. It features detailed descriptions, x rays, clinical and therapeutic pathway diagrams for a number of commonly encountered disorders including fractures, metabolic disorders, bone tumors, and amputations enabling the reader to develop a deep understanding of the latest information on how to successfully diagnose and treat these patients. General Principles of Orthopedics and Trauma is an ideal resource for trainees and junior surgeons seeking an easy to follow clinical guide on how to successfully diagnose and treat patients with orthopedic and trauma disorders. It is also of use to the experienced practitioner seeking a practically applicable text on the latest advances in the field.
Publication Date: 2019
Intelligent Orthopaedics by This book introduces readers to the latest technological advances in the emerging field of intelligent orthopaedics. Artificial intelligence and smart instrumentation techniques are now revolutionizing every area of our lives, including medicine. The applications of these techniques in orthopaedic interventions offer a number of potential benefits, e.g. reduced incision size and scarring, minimized soft tissue damage, and decreased risk of misalignment. Consequently, these techniques have become indispensable for various orthopaedic interventions, which has led to the emerging field of intelligent orthopaedics. Addressing key technologies and applications, this book offers a valuable guide for all researchers and clinicians who need an update on both the principles and practice of intelligent orthopaedics, and for graduate students embarking on a career in this field.
Call Number: RD731 .I58 2018
Publication Date: 2018
Electronic Orthopedics Collections
Interactive Anatomy Resources
Anatomy.TV Anatomy.TV is a suite of 3D interactive models of human anatomy. In addition, supporting media, surch as MRIs, X-rays, and movies and animations are included.