Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Accessing Resources
All of the E Books and E Journals listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
There are more resources which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Orthopedics Liaison Librarian
Extreme Sports Medicine by This technically oriented book on medicine as applied to extreme sports offers broad coverage of the field extending well beyond the usual focus on major trauma and acute injuries. In addition to the injuries and diseases associated with individual extreme sports, this book also addresses the topics of psychology, dermatology, ophthalmology, infectious diseases, physiology, nutrition, training, injury prevention strategies, rehabilitation, doping, treatment in hostile environments, and legal aspects. Innovative and less frequently considered topics are also discussed, such as recent advances in protective equipment and materials, the effects of exposure on whole-body vibration, and cold exposure risk management. More than 60 of the most authoritative experts from across the world have contributed to this book, drawing on their personal experiences and including practical examples whenever relevant. Both subject matter and illustrations have been selected with the utmost care, the latter including photographs of world-class athletes.The book's multidisciplinary approach to the subject ensures that it will be relevant to a wide readership.
Publication Date: 2016
Foot and Ankle Sports Orthopaedics by This book provides a comprehensive review of the diagnosis, management and treatment of sports injuries to the foot and ankle. The editors have assembled a list of contributors at the top of their field to define the medical management, treatment and surgery for the most common and highly debilitating sports injuries. Currently, foot and ankle injuries are the most common musculoskeletal injuries, thus this book fills the clear need for a state-of-the art resource that focuses upon this growing area of orthopaedic practice. Foot and Ankle Sports Orthopaedics is highly relevant to orthopaedic surgeons, sports orthopaedic surgeons and medical professionals dealing with sports injuries around the F&A. With clear and didactic information and superb illustrations, this book will prove to be an indispensable learning tool for readers seeking expert guidance to further their surgical skills in this area.
Publication Date: 2016
Hand and Wrist Injuries in Combat Sports by This well-illustrated book describes the injuries to the hand and wrist that are commonly encountered among participants in combat sports, explaining the mechanisms of injury and offering state of the art guidance on diagnosis and treatment. It covers both injuries characteristic of individual sports, such as kendo, karate, judo, jiu-jitsu, aikido, and mixed martial arts, and pathologies encountered across the full range of combat sports, including boxing, wrestling, and taekwondo. In addition to management, careful attention is paid to rehabilitation following injury and to psychological aspects of recovery from injury. The book is the result of a collaboration with the International Society for Sport Traumatology of the Hand (ISSPORTH) and has been designed to meet the needs of all practitioners who work with combat sports athletes. While especially helpful for surgeons, physicians, therapists, and rehabilitators, it will also be of value to coaches, trainers, and players. The authors are leading international experts in the field who have been involved with international societies and in some cases have personal experience of combat sports at a high level.
Publication Date: 2018
Injury in Pediatric and Adolescent Sports by Providing a state-of-the-art account of the nature, distribution and determinants of sports injury in children and adolescents, this unique volume uses the public health model to describe the scope of the injury problem and the associated risk factors and evaluate the current research on injury prevention strategies as described in the literature. Thoughtfully divided in six sections, the nature of the young athlete and epidemiology of pediatric and adolescent sports injury are described first. Then an overview of the most common types of youth sports injuries as well as more serious injuries (e.g., concussions) and outcomes is presented, followed by a discussion of injury causation and prevention. Suggestions for future research rounds out the presentation. Each chapter is illustrated with tables which make it easy to examine injury factors between studies. Throughout, the editors and contributors have taken an evidence-based approach and adopted a uniform methodology to assess the data available. Ideal for physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers and sports scientists alike, Injury in Pediatric and Adolescent Sports concisely and accurately presents the situation faced by clinicians treating young athletes and the challenges they face in keeping up with this growing and active population. Furthermore, the information in this book will be useful to allied health researchers and sport governing bodies as an informed basis for continued epidemiological study and implementation of injury prevention initiatives designed to reduce the incidence and severity of injuries encountered by young athletes.
Publication Date: 2015
Motor Skills Training in Orthopedic Sports Medicine by This book aims to provide orthopedic surgeons with all the information that they will require in order to set up and run a motor skills course that will meet the needs of junior staff in Orthopedic Sports Medicine and help in training better surgeons for the future. The coverage is wide-ranging, from the fundamentals of what it takes to be a sports surgeon through to validation methods that measure teaching effectiveness and the certification of surgical skills at the end of the course. Clear guidance is provided on how to teach concepts of surgical skill and the strategy and practical details of designing a training program, with inclusion of a helpful checklist of do's and don'ts. Different basic training modalities are described, with a particular focus on the FAST system adopted by the Arthroscopy Association of North America, and the role of simulators in surgical skills training is discussed. The book has been produced in cooperation with ISAKOS and the authors are leading professionals from around the world who offer a truly global and multidisciplinary perspective on the subject.
Publication Date: 2016
Netter's Sports Medicine by Edited by past presidents of the American Medical Society for Sports Medicine, Netter's Sports Medicine, 2nd Edition, is a superbly illustrated, go-to sports medicine resource for the outpatient office, the training room, on the sideline, and for certification preparation. Designed for quick reference, this interdisciplinary reference by Drs. Christopher Madden, Margot Putukian, Eric McCarty, and Craig Young, is organized by both topic and sport, so you can find what you need quickly. New Expert Consult online access includes the fully searchable eBook, example downloadable medical forms, videos, downloadable patient education handouts, and handy links to consensus statements. Whether you are a primary care physician managing a common or unique musculoskeletal injury in an ambulatory setting . an orthopaedic surgeon gaining insight about a medical or psychological problem foreign to the cast or operating room . an athletic trainer figuring out a diagnosis in the training room . or a physical therapist pursuing further in-depth sports medicine knowledge, this reference gives you the guidance you need to keep athletes and other active patients at the top of their game. More than 1,000 superb Netter graphics, tables, figures, pictures, diagnostic images, and other medical artwork highlight the easy-to-read, bulleted text. Ideal for the sports clinician, team physician, and any health care professionals who provide care to athletes and active individuals. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. New chapters on travel considerations for the athlete, EKG interpretation, cardiac disease, diagnostic imaging and ultrasound, injury prevention protocols, equestrian sports and rodeo medicine, mixed martial arts, and many more. Up-to-date coverage of nutritional supplements, eating disorders, sports and pharmacology for chronic conditions and behavioral medicine, and extreme and adventure sports.
Publication Date: 2017
Orthopaedic Sports Medicine by Indispensable for both surgeons and sports medicine physicians, DeLee, Drez, & Miller's Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: Principles and Practice, 5th Edition, remains your go-to reference for all surgical, medical, rehabilitation and injury prevention aspects related to athletic injuries and chronic conditions. Authored by Mark D. Miller, MD and Stephen R. Thompson, MD, this 2-volume core resource provides detailed, up-to-date coverage of medical disorders that routinely interfere with athletic performance and return to play, providing the clinically focused information you need when managing athletes at any level. Provides a unique balance of every relevant surgical technique along with extensive guidance on nonsurgical issues-making it an ideal reference for surgeons, sports medicine physicians, physical therapists, athletic trainers, and others who provide care to athletes. Offers expanded coverage of revision surgery, including revision ACL and revision rotator cuff surgery. Features additional coverage of cartilage restoration procedures and meniscal transplantation. Provides significant content on rehabilitation after injury, along with injury prevention protocols. Includes access to a comprehensive video collection, with more than 100 videos new to this edition. Retains key features such as coverage of both pediatric and aging athletes; a streamlined organization for quick reference; in-depth coverage of arthroscopic techniques; extensive references; levels of evidence at the end of each chapter; and "Author's Preferred Technique" sections. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019
Platelet Rich Plasma in Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine by This book provides a comprehensive, state-of-the art review of platelet rich plasmas (PRPs) in the field of regenerative medicine. The book begins with an overview of the basic science behind PRP, describing the role of platelets and growth factors followed by the most important biological effects expected from the use of PRPs. Platelet Rich Plasma in Orthopaedics, Sports Medicine and Maxillofacial surgery includes numerous contributions detailing the rapidly growing field of PRPs in clinical practice. From the origins in oral and maxillofacial surgery, to the latest advances in orthopaedics and sports medicine including the use of Platelet Rich Growth Factors (PRGF) in muscle, bone, tendon, ligament and nerve injuries among others. The volume concludes with contributions from experts in biology, orthopaedics, oral and maxillofacial surgery, where the convergence of expertise is leading to unprecedented insights into how to minutely control the in vivo fate and function of PRGF. This book will provide a useful resource for physicians and researchers interested in the rapidly changing field of biomedicine and learning more about this growing area of treatment.
Publication Date: 2018
Proprioception in Orthopaedics, Sports Medicine and Rehabilitation by This book is a comprehensive guide to proprioceptive rehabilitation after orthopaedic and sports surgery. In addition, it equips readers with a thorough understanding of the neurophysiology and assessment of proprioception and clearly explains the relationships between surgical procedures, injuries, and anatomy and proprioception. Proprioception is still an unclear topic for most clinicians and scientists, and this is the first book specifically on proprioception in the context of orthopaedics and sports injuries, surgery, and rehabilitation. After an opening section describing key basic knowledge, individual chapters discuss proprioception after injuries and surgery to different parts of the body and explain the role of proprioceptive training in optimal rehabilitation. Among other topics addressed are proprioception after soft tissue regenerative treatment and the relation between osteoarthritis and proprioception. The book includes numerous descriptions of exercises, photographs, and tables documenting rehabilitation strategies. It will be of value for all students, clinicians, and academicians with an interest in the subject.
Publication Date: 2018
Sports Injuries of the Elbow by This book provides a concise guide to the diagnosis, investigations, surgical principles and post-operative rehabilitation to sports injuries of the elbow. It features guidance on best practice and information on the appropriate use of the latest diagnostic and therapeutic techniques. Injuries seen in athletes who participate in overhead and contact sports are discussed along with a range of other injury types. Relevant concepts in applied biomechanics and information on sport-specific rehabilitation are also covered enabling the reader to develop a deep understanding of how to develop appropriate treatment plans tailored to individual needs. Sports Injuries of the Elbow comprehensively covers the diagnosis and treatment of patients with elbow injuries acquired during sporting activities, and is an indispensable resource for all medical professionals seeking an up-to-date reference on how to diagnose and treat a range of sports injuries that affect the elbow.
Publication Date: 2020
Surgical Atlas of Sports Orthopaedics and Sports Traumatology by This atlas depicts and describes the newest arthroscopic and open techniques for dealing with sports orthopaedic injuries and problems. More than 75 surgical procedures are presented step by step with the aid of superb illustrations. Arthroscopic views, artist drawings, X-rays and clinical and operative photographs are all included to demonstrate exactly how each procedure should be performed. Individual sections are devoted to the shoulder, elbow, pelvis/hip, knee and ankle/foot. By offering complete illustrated guidance on the surgical management of sports-related injuries, the Surgical Atlas of Sports Orthopaedics and Sports Traumatology will prove invaluable to both novice and experienced surgeons.
Publication Date: 2015