Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Accessing Resources
All of the E Books and E Journals listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
There are more resources which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Pediatrics E Books
The Growing Spine by The second edition of The Growing Spine has been extensively revised to cover recent advances in knowledge and management. The book is intended as a comprehensive, one-stop reference for specialists and health professionals who care for young children with spinal deformities. In addition, it will effectively help to standardize the care of these patients. Depending on the etiology, children with spinal deformities are often cared for by multiple specialists, including pediatricians, pediatric orthopaedists or orthopaedic spine surgeons, neurologists, pediatric surgeons, pediatric neurosurgeons, oncologists, and pulmonologists. The multidisciplinary nature of care is reflected in The Growing Spine, which will be of value for all involved practitioners rather than just orthopaedic specialists. It will also be an ideal reference for nurses, physical therapists, and healthcare professionals in training, who are usually unfamiliar with spinal deformities in children.
Publication Date: 2015
Lovell and Winter's Pediatric Orthopaedics by Now in its updated Seventh Edition, Lovell and Winter,,s Pediatric Orthopaedics remains a must-have for physicians and residents treating infants, children, and adolescents with orthopaedic problems. This classic, comprehensive reference covers the basic science, clinical manifestations, and management of orthopaedic problems in children. Now in full color, the foremost orthopaedists examine normal musculoskeletal development and the causes, diagnosis, and treatment of the entire range of abnormalities, with emphasis on evidence-based decision making in treatment selection. The clinical chapters include pearls and pitfalls and a description of the author's preferred approach. The book will now cover surgical techniques of management with step-by-step illustrations from the Atlas of Pediatric Orthopaedic Surgery.
Publication Date: 2014
The Management of Children's Cervical Spine Disorders by Comprehensive yet practical, this book is the first of its kind to focus exclusively on both major and minor conditions affecting the pediatric cervical spine. Written by eminent orthopedic and spinal surgeons, it provides a systematic approach based on traditional categories: anatomy, pathology, imaging, and both surgical and non-surgical treatment strategies. Utilizing the most up-to-date evidence, the subject is approached in three main sections. The basic science of the pediatric cervical spine - anatomy, biomechanics, imaging and diagnostic techniques - is covered in part I. The clinical aspects of pediatric cervical spine disorders are discussed in part II, including trauma, inflammatory conditions, infections, tumors, congenital anomalies and others. The medical and surgical treatment of these disorders comprises part III, presenting conservative techniques such as immobilization and surgical techniques such as arthrodesis. Complications and other related pediatric cervical conditions are also covered in this last section. Written by an international panel of experts and skillfully edited by leaders in the field, The Management of Children's Cervical Spine Disorders is a unique and definitive resource for pediatric orthopedic spine surgeons, neurologists and all medical professionals treating these delicate conditions.
Publication Date: 2018
Paediatric Orthopaedics by This book provides a refined clinical guide for evidence-based recommendations in paediatric orthopaedics. Focusing on specific body regions (hip, knees, ankle and feet, spine, shoulder, elbow and wrist and hand) this resource addresses clinical questions related to conditions in these areas. A background section in each chapter sets the scene for the best available practice and also appraises the evidence for its strength and weakness. At the end of each chapter, the authors' provide recommendations on future research. Evidence-Based Paediatric Orthopaedics: The Best Answers to Clinical Questions has been edited by a team of surgeons with a great interest in evidence-based practice who have brought together an international experts to produce this timely book. A wide spectrum audience including paediatric orthopaedic surgeons, trauma surgeons, orthopaedic residents, emergency department doctors, general practitioners and medical students looking for an evidence based approach to paediatric orthopaedics will find this book to be an essential guide for clinical practice.
Publication Date: 2016
Paediatric Orthopaedics in Clinical Practice by This book provides orthopaedic surgeons in training with concise and relevant core knowledge on all aspects of children's orthopaedics. Content includes the common orthopaedic conditions that affect children, and key management points in each chapter are highlighted for readers to quickly access this information. The aim of this resource is to offer an authoritative guide on all facets of children's orthopaedics so the treating doctor has enough information to confidently allay the anxieties of the patient and their parents, and to identify when to refer the child to a paediatric orthopaedic surgeon. This book will be an essential reference guide for newly qualified orthopaedic specialists, as well as paediatricians and family doctors working in busy clinics that treat children who present with orthopaedic conditions.
Publication Date: 2016
The Pediatric Foot and Ankle by The Pediatric Foot and Ankle is a comprehensive overview of the current evaluation, diagnosis, and management strategies for various foot and ankle disorders in the pediatric patient. It begins with a general history and physical and radiographic exam of the child's lower extremity to establish normal parameters. Specific disorders are then described in detail, including neurological abnormalities, congenital deformities, and traumatic episodes. Expert authors in each area not only provide their insight and experience for proper diagnosis and treatment, but also proffer available evidence-based medicine on the topic. Since there is currently very little available to the surgeon regarding pediatric foot and ankle surgery, this book is a comprehensive authority on the topic, providing both surgical pearls and evidence-based medicine.
Publication Date: 2019
Pediatric Orthopedics and Sports Medicine by The revised and the expanded second edition of this concise and targeted handbook presents the "need-to-know" musculoskeletal conditions and injuries required for all health care providers dealing with pediatric patients, including primary care physicians, emergency medicine physicians, radiologists, residents, students, nurses, and therapists, to brush up on pediatric orthopedics and sports medicine topics with ease. The most up-to-date information is contained within themed chapters--sports injuries and pediatric trauma, for example--as well as by anatomical region--the hip, knee, foot, spine, etc.--including chapters new to this edition covering pediatric musculoskeletal image interpretation and general aspects of sports medicine. This book addresses high-yield points needed for both general day-to-day pediatric orthopedics and sports medicine practice as well as information needed for the musculoskeletal section of the General Pediatrics Certifying Examination and other board exams for other specialties, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and physical therapists. Well-illustrated and utilizing an easy-to-follow, bullet-pointed format, Pediatric Orthopedics and Sports Medicine gives the reader the basic knowledge to be able to identify and understand the management of common pediatric orthopedic and sports medicine conditions, and indications to either treat these conditions or refer the patient to an orthopedist.
Publication Date: 2020
Pediatric Orthopedics in Practice by This book communicates the latest findings in pediatric orthopedics and answers key everyday questions in the field in an informative, readily understandable manner. The scope is comprehensive, encompassing all aspects of diagnosis and therapy. After an opening section on basic principles, the two main sections discuss diseases and injuries by site and cover systemic conditions including trauma, infections, juvenile rheumatoid arthritis, tumors and hereditary diseases. The book is the translation of the latest edition of the well-known classic Kinderorthopädie in der Praxis, which presents the collected knowledge of experts from Basel University Children's Hospital - Fritz Hefti and his co-workers Reinald Brunner, Carol Claudius Hasler, and Gernot Jundt. This edition has been revised and updated in a variety of ways. New findings are incorporated into all chapters, important advances in treatment are presented and the latest concepts in tumor diagnosis and neuro-orthopedics are discussed. The book contains more than 150 additional illustrations, including new clinical images and radiographs and many further amusing cartoons by Franz Freuler. The aim is to make children's orthopedics fun - in both practice and theory! The book has received several awards.
Publication Date: 2015
The Pediatric Upper Extremity by Sub-specialization within pediatric orthopedics is growing, in part due to the development of free-standing children's hospitals and the desire by patients and their parents to have "experts" care for them. We are at the forefront of a trend in physicians classifying themselves as pediatric upper extremity surgeons. Numerous pediatric hospitals now have or are recruiting physicians to focus their practice in this area. Historically, these issues were treated by general orthopedic surgeons, adult hand surgeons, pediatric orthopedic surgeons, or plastic surgeons. However, none of these professionals treat the entirety of pediatric upper extremity pathology, and no single reference has focused on the treatment of the pediatric upper extremity as a whole. For example, fractures have typically been written about in pediatric textbooks, while tendon and nerve injuries are covered in adult hand textbooks. This textbook is a comprehensive, illustrated reference that discusses all aspects of the pediatric upper extremity, from embryology and functional development to nerve injuries, trauma, tumors, burns, sports injuries and more.
Publication Date: 2019
Tachdjian's Procedures in Pediatric Orthopaedics by Tachdjian's Procedures in Pediatric Orthopaedics is a brand new derivative resource from Tachdjian's Pediatric Orthopaedics, 5th Edition, the classic comprehensive offering on the diagnosis and treatment of pediatric musculoskeletal disorders and trauma. For over 40 years, Tachdjian's has been the trusted resource in pediatric orthopaedics, written by experts at Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children, a world-renowned pediatric hospital. This procedures-focused text includes more than 70 colorized, illustrated procedures, providing step-by-step surgical walkthroughs with accompanying intraoperative illustrations. This procedures-only text will appeal to general orthopaedic surgeons, pediatric orthopaedic surgeons, orthopaedic residents, and anyone who needs to quickly and easily learn new techniques or refresh their understanding of challenging procedures. 3 brand new procedures not included in Tachdjian's Pediatric Orthopaedics, 5th Edition Ganz Periacetabular Osteotomy, Ponte Osteotomy, and Sacro-Iliac Screws.
Publication Date: 2016