Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Accessing Resources
All of the E Books and E Journals listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
There are more resources which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Orthopedics Liaison Librarian
Spine E Books
Benzel's Spine Surgery by In the latest edition of Benzel's Spine Surgery, renowned neurosurgery authority Dr. Edward C. Benzel, along with new editor Dr. Michael P. Steinmetz, deliver the most up-to-date information available on every aspect of spine surgery. Improved visuals and over 100 brand-new illustrations enhance your understanding of the text, while 26 new chapters cover today's hot topics in the field. A must-have resource for every neurosurgeon and orthopedic spine surgeon, Benzel's Spine Surgery provides the expert, step-by-step guidance required for successful surgical outcomes. Glean essential, up-to-date information in one comprehensive reference that explores the full spectrum of techniques used in spine surgery. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Covers today's hot topics in spine surgery, such as pelvic parameters in planning for lumbar fusion; minimally invasive strategies for the treatment of tumors and trauma of the spine; and biologics and stem cells. A total of 18 intraoperative videos allow you to hone your skills and techniques. New editor Michael P. Steinmetz brings fresh insights and improvements to the text. Features the addition of 26 chapters, including: -Biologics in Spine Fusion Surgery -Endoscopic and Transnasal Approaches to the Craniocervical Junction -Cellular Injection Techniques for Discogenic Pain -Minimally Invasive Techniques for Thoracolumbar Deformity -Spinal Cord Herniation and Spontaneous Cerebrospinal Fluid Leak -MIS Versus Open Spine Surgery Extensive revisions to many of the existing chapters present all of the most up-to-date information available on every aspect of spine surgery. Improved visuals and over 100 brand-new illustrations enhance learning and retention.
Publication Date: 2016
Cervical Spine by This book details the current status of cervical MISS for expert surgeons, young surgeons or clinicians, and residents and fellows with little or no experience on this field of surgery. Because of the involvement of different and highly trained specialists from all over the world, the aim of this book is to satisfy the requirements for knowing the most advanced surgical techniques and their application. Also included are the indications and surgical techniques involving an open standard approach, giving a most exhaustive knowledge of the cervical spine surgery. Due to the difficulty of finding books with both minimal invasive cervical spine surgery and more conventional standard "open" surgery, the benefit of this book is to permit the surgeons and residents and medical doctors, to have a more complete and immediate knowledge of the topics. Due to the scientific multidisciplinary nature of the MISS, several professionals such as orthopedic surgeons, neurosurgeons, radiologists, anesthesiologists and pain management specialists, have been involved in order to create a book in which all the aspects of MISS have been treated.
Publication Date: 2015
Cervical Spine Surgery: Standard and Advanced Techniques by This comprehensive, up-to-date textbook of modern cervical spine surgery describes the standard and advanced techniques recommended by the Cervical Spine Research Society - European Section (CSRS-E) with a view to enabling both young and experienced surgeons to further develop their skills and improve their surgical outcomes. Success in cervical spine surgery depends on the surgeon's awareness of the main challenges posed by distinct cervical spine diseases, theoretical understanding of treatment concepts, and knowledge of technical options and the related potential for complications. It is the surgeon who has to merge theory and practice to achieve the desired outcome, in each case appraising the details of surgical anatomy and weighing the challenges and complications associated with a surgical technique against the skills that he or she possesses. This excellently illustrated book, written by key opinion makers from the CSRS-E with affiliated surgeons as co-authors, presents the full range of approaches and techniques and clearly identifies indications, precautions, and pitfalls. It will be a superb technical reference for all cervical spine surgeons, whether orthopaedic surgeons or neurosurgeons.
Publication Date: 2019
Chordomas and Chondrosarcomas of the Skull Base and Spine by Chordomas and Chondrosarcomas of the Skull Base and Spine, Second Edition, is a major reference and guide for neurosurgeons, medical oncologists, neuroscientists, orthopedic surgeons, head and neck surgeons and radiation oncologists that treat patients and research chordomas and chondrosarcomas of the axial skeleton. This book is the unique result of the collaboration of multidisciplinary specialists from a wide variety of fields (neurological sciences, medical oncology, molecular biology, orthopedics and radiation oncology), offering the most relevant information about chordomas and chondrosarcomas of the axial skeleton from each of these fields condensed into one single volume. It contains new medical knowledge and scientific advances regarding the treatment of these types of tumors. Additionally, the book includes chapters written by the Chordoma Foundation and Sarcoma Foundation of America, providing the most valuable information and support for patients and their relatives.
Publication Date: 2017
Lateral Access Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery by This well-illustrated textbook is the first comprehensive and authoritative source of information on minimally invasive lateral access spine surgery. It covers all aspects of the subject, including patient selection, approach and monitoring techniques, soft tissue management, application in a variety of pathologies, technical nuances, and the prevention and management of complications. In addition, current controversies in the field are discussed and the biomechanics of lateral spinal reconstruction, the physiologic benefits, and cost implications are explained. As use of the lateral approach in spinal surgery has become more popular, so its diversity and complexity have increased. Nevertheless, publications devoted entirely to the technique are lacking, and Lateral Access Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery is designed to fill this vacuum. Written by the world's experts on the topic, it will be an excellent resource for both beginning and experienced surgeons.
Publication Date: 2016
MRI of the Spine by Utilizing plentiful radiological images to illustrate each topic, this text is a comprehensive and descriptive review of magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) interpretation for the spine, emphasizing standardized nomenclature and grading schemes. The book begins with current MR imaging protocols, including indication, sequencing and advanced imaging techniques, and a review of the relevant anatomy of the spine and its anomalies. Subsequent chapters encompass topics of trauma, degenerative disease, infection, inflammatory disease, as well as neoplastic and metabolic disease. Spinal cord and dural lesions will also be presented, with additional chapters dedicated to MRI evaluation of the post-operative patient. The format is reader-friendly, utilizing an efficient presentation of the essential principles and important findings on MR images of the spine, with a wealth of high-quality figures, graphics and tables for differential diagnosis as well as tips and tricks from experts in the field. Presenting the most up-to-date protocols and suggested interpretations, MRI of the Spine will be a solid reference for orthopedic surgeons, sports medicine specialists, neurosurgeons, radiologists and all clinicians and support staff caring for the spine.
Publication Date: 2020
Navigation Assisted Robotics in Spine and Trauma Surgery by The book introduces the using of navigation assisted robotic system in orthopedic surgery. The system is based on real-time 3D navigation. In the first part, it covers spine surgery, which includes pedicle screw fixation on cervical, thoracic, lumbar spine, dens screw fixation, Margerl screw fixation, PVP, PKP, and MED. The second part is about trauma surgery, which covers screw fixation in pelvis fracture and acetabulum fracture. This book is mainly written for spine surgeons, neurosurgeons, and traumatic orthopedic surgeons.
Publication Date: 2020
Quality Spine Care by Quality reporting is a rapidly growing area. Each year, new regulations in the US from the Council of Medicare and Medicaid Services make quality reporting a larger factor in determining reimbursement practices. Quality metrics are common parts of European clinical practice. Value of care is a focus of all payers, with specific interest directed at assessing the quality of care provided by a given healthcare team. While there are many publications in this space, no text has sought to provide an overview of quality in spine care. Quality measurement and quality reporting are ever growing aspects of the healthcare environment. Quality assessment is valuable to all healthcare stakeholders: patients, physicians, facilities, and payers. Patients are drawn to facilities that provide high value care; public reporting systems and grading systems for hospitals offer one opinion with regard to "high quality care." Most physicians email inboxes are inundated with offers of recognition for being a "Top Doc" for a nominal fee. Some payers offer incentives to patients who chose to be treated at "Centers of Excellence" or similar facilities; the definition of "Excellence" may be unclear. There is little consensus on how to measure quality, how to incorporate patient and procedure factors and achieve accurate risk adjustment, and how to define value of care. Regardless of these challenges, regulatory efforts in the US, as well as numerous international efforts, make quality assessment and quality reporting an important part of physician behaviour. Physician and facility reimbursement for procedures are often tied to quality metrics. Spine procedures are costly, elective, and are a focus of many payer-based programs. Hence, spine care is often a focus of quality reporting efforts. This text summarizes the state of the art with regard to quality measurement, reporting, and value assessment in spine care. We will review quality reporting in the US and internationally. Chapters will outline how quality improvement efforts have achieved success in hospital systems. The reader will be provided with insights in how to achieve success incorporating quality metrics into spine care. Features: 1. Illustrates the state of the art in spine quality reporting: There is no text that thoroughly addresses quality assessment and quality reporting in spine care; there are, however, numerous articles in this space. This book provides a definitive text covering the state of the art for quality reporting in spine care and will be of value to the international orthopedic and neurosurgical spine community. 2. Provides insight on quality reporting in different healthcare systems: The text will allow for comparison of different quality reporting systems from different health care systems. This will provide practitioners with insight into the strengths and weaknesses of different approaches to quality reporting, and may drive improvement in quality assessment and reporting systems. A single text that features review of US, European, and Australia/Asian health care systems'' quality reporting is novel and will be thought provoking for readers. 3. Describes the US and international Healthcare reimbursement systems: Practicing physicians are provided with little information and less insight into the vagaries of the US and other healthcare systems. The text will provide insight into code development, valuation, and how quality reporting affects physician reimbursement 4. Explains risk adjustment: Appropriate risk adjustment and assessing patient and procedure factors that may impact quality reporting are invaluable to accurate quality measurement. The text will review risk adjustment, different approaches to risk assessment/mitigation, and provide physicians with insights into appropriate measures to capture in their clinical practices 5. Provides a foundation for improved quality assessment in spine care: While there are many disparate elements and differing approaches to capturing spine quality metrics, no definitive text has attempted to summarize these efforts in a single volume. By synthesizing these variable approaches, the reader may be provided with insights into superior approaches to quality assessment and a foundation will be provided for improving healthcare systems.
Publication Date: 2018
Surgery of the Spine and Spinal Cord by This book offers essential guidance on selecting the most appropriatesurgical management option for a variety of spinal conditions, includingidiopathic problems, and degenerative disease. While the first part ofthe book discusses the neuroanatomy and biomechanics of the spine, pain mechanisms,and imaging techniques, the second guides the reader through the diagnosticprocess and treatment selection for disorders of the different regions of thespine, based on the principles of evidence-based medicine. I.e., it clearlyexplains why a particular technique should be selected for a specific patienton the basis of the available evidence, which is carefully reviewed. The bookidentifies potential complications and highlights technical pearls, describingnewer surgical techniques and illustrating them with the help of images andaccompanying videos. Though primarily intended for neurosurgeons, the book willalso be of interest to orthopaedic surgeons, specialists in physical medicine, and pain specialists.
Publication Date: 2016
Surgical Approaches to the Spine by Now is its revised and expanded third edition, including nine new chapters, this step-by-step, state-of-the-art procedural manual covers over 50 unique surgical approaches for injuries and conditions of the spine. Generously illustrated, various surgical approaches to the cervical, thoracic and lumbar spine are clearly enumerated and described, including anterior, lateral, and posterior approaches and the worldwide movement toward the use of tubular retractors for a multitude of approaches. Written and edited by leaders in the field of spine surgery, this updated edition will be an invaluable resource for orthopedic surgeons, neurosurgeons and sports medicine practitioners alike.
Publication Date: 2015