Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Get Help
Need help with finding a book, finding full text, using the Hardin Library? The reference desk is staffed whenever the library is open. They can be reached by chat, email or phone: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/hardin/contact/
If you need to learn how to use a library resource, take a look at our HOW workshops. Please schedule a consultation iif you need help finding, organizing, or formatting references.
Orthopedics Liaison Librarian
Hardin Library Reference Desk
Using Hardin Library Interlibrary Loan/Document Delivery Service
Additional Database Training Resources
Help Request Forms
Faculty Literature Search Request
A brief form to collect preliminary information that will help a librarian get started with finding sources to meet the needs of faculty and staff.
Student Help Request Form
A brief request form to collect preliminary information to allow a librarian to help students identify sources and appropriate search approaches.
Systematic Literature Review Request Form
A form to gather preliminary information about your systematic review plans to help the librarian establish a plan for support.
EndNote Desktop Training Resources
EndNote Desktop is an citation management tool that supports importing, organizing, sharing, and formatting references for student or professional research. It is available for UI faculty, staff, graduate students, and residents/fellows, and needs to be installed from the ITS Download page. From an on campus computer, local information technology support should be consulted to assist with download.
EndNote X9 for PC
Guide provides important information on getting started using EndNote Desktop, including setting up and building a library, organizing references, setting up library to find full text, and formatting bibliographies. Created by Hardin Library staff; health sciences database examples provided.
EndNote X9 for Mac
Guide provides important information about getting starting using EndNote Desktop, including setting up and building a library, organizing references, setting up library to find full text, and formatting bibliographies. Created by Hardin Library staff; health sciences database examples provided.
EndNote: Sharing and Collaborating
A brief overview of sharing options available with EndNote products. Created by Hardin Library staff.
EndNote Basic Training Resources
EndNote Basic is a web based citation management tool that supports importing, organizing, sharing, and formatting references, It is available for all UI students, faculty, and staff with the creation of an account. There is no installation to begin use, but an optional plug in can be configured to enable insertion of formatted in text citations within Word documents.
PubMed Training Resources
AMA MANUAL of STYLE, 11th EDITION by The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates areincluded in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updatedguidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-dateon word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations.Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer tonearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.
Publication Date: 2020