Cochrane Library includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, which is the most comprehensive report of controlled trials. Cochrane Central is considered an essential source to search when conducting a systematic review.
Embase is one of three Essential sources to search when conducting a systematic review. It is a biomedical and pharmaceutical database contains bibliographic records with abstracts from EMBASE (1974-present) and Medline (1966-present) deduplicated and searchable with EMTREE.
Scopus can be searched by keyword or it can be used for citing paper searches, to identify papers that have cited included studies.
Multidisciplinary coverage with inclusion of health sciences, especially strong with regard to nursing and social sciences.
Web of Science is useful for identifying citing papers of included studies. It can also be searched aby keyword. Coverage is strong for health sciences and physical sciences.
Additional Databases to Consider
Academic Search EliteThis link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
AgeLineThis link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Produced by the American Association of Retired Persons (AARP), AgeLine provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology, i.e. the study of aging in psychological, health-related, social, and economic contexts. Also covered are the delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies, and consumer, employment, and public policy issues. Of interest to researchers, health professionals, service planners, policymakers, employers, older adults and their families, and consumer advocates.
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowRECOMMEND USING CHROME; Business Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated daily.
This link opens in a new window
ERIC (EBSCOhost version)This link opens in a new windowThis database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Google ScholarThis link opens in a new windowClick on the "ViewIt@UILink" in your results list for UILink services including full text (when available), links to the InfoHawk+ Catalog, Interlibrary Loan requests and more. [TO USE THIS OPTION FROM OFF-CAMPUS: Additional information about Google Scholar]
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI)This link opens in a new windowProvides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Social Services AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts current research (articles are from 1980 to the present) in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage include community and mental health services; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness; professional issues in social work; social development; social work education; support groups/networks; violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare services. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
SPORTDiscusThis link opens in a new windowSPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. The content also consists of multi-disciplinary, international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. SPORTDiscus is provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre.