Nursing Resources: Surgical and Anesthesia
Resources for anyone affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Nursing or University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
About E-Resources
All of the resources listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with a Hawk ID and password.
There are more electronic and print books which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Jennifer DeBerg
Surgery/Anesthesia E-Journals
Select journals appear below. Search the library catalog or journal list for additional titles.
-
AORN JournalE access from 1963
-
Journal of PeriAnesthesia NursingE access from 1996
-
MEDSURG NursingE access from 2000
-
Plastic Surgical NursingE access from 1984
Find More Surgery and Anesthesia E-Books
Visit the Surgery Subject Guide and the Anesthesiology Subject Guide for additional E-books.
Nurse Anesthesia E-Books
-
Advances in Regional Anesthesia
by
Advances in Regional Anesthesia - Future Directions in the Use of Regional Anesthesia is a comprehensive exploration of the evolving landscape of regional anesthesia. It provides insights into the latest developments, techniques, and research that shape the practice of regional anesthesia today.Regional anesthesia has undergone a remarkable transformation, emerging as an integral component of modern perioperative care, and we have assembled a distinguished group of experts, clinicians, and researchers who share their insights, experiences, and innovations in this field of knowledge. This book is designed for a diverse audience, including anesthesiologists, pain specialists, surgeons, residents, and students interested in the expanding domain of regional anesthesia. Each chapter is crafted to deliver valuable information, foster critical thinking, and inspire further exploration into the ever-evolving field. We hope that you will find this book a useful resource that deepens your understanding of regional anesthesia and its pivotal role in shaping the future of perioperative medicine.
ISBN: 9781837693504Publication Date: 2024 -
Anesthesia Secrets
by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Anesthesia Secrets, 6th Edition offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of anesthesiology. This bestselling resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable.
ISBN: 9780323640169Publication Date: 2021, 6th ed. -
Anesthesia Student Survival Guide
by
This comprehensive update of the previous two successful editions covers both basic and advanced anesthesia topics. These include pharmacology, procedures, monitoring, equipment, subspecialty anesthesia, safety, professionalism, pain management, and more.Chapters are concise, easy-to-read, and authored by faculty specialized in medical education. They feature case studies designed to help apply theoretical knowledge to real patient situations, as well as questions and answers. A convenient resource for medical students, student registered nurse anesthetists, and student anesthesiologist assistants in any student of anesthesia will find this unique book useful.
ISBN: 9783030986742Publication Date: 2022, 3rd ed. -
Improving Anesthesia Technical Staff's Skills
by
This book showcases state-of-the-art techniques as well as various clinical, technical and non-technical skills. By highlighting the reliability of the new techniques compared to standard clinical methods of predicting peri-operative problems in the operating rooms, it enables better management and utilization of operating rooms. The combined use of knowledge and technology has resulted in improvements in healthcare services that are not achieved by the use of the best technology but by the best use of technology. Medicine is a continually advancing science, and healthcare providers constantly enhance their knowledge and develop their skills. While knowledge sharing is vital for humanity, technology has made the application of medical knowledge more versatile and more widely available. Written by leading anesthesiologists, anesthesia technicians and technologists, the book addresses the need for a ready reference for anesthesiologists, as well as anesthesia technical staff. It provides an easily navigated, pocket-sized reference resource featuring pictures, tables and schema.
ISBN: 9783030888480Publication Date: 2022 -
Nurse Practitioners and Nurse Anesthetists: The Evolution of the Global Roles
by
As the only book of its kind, this publication provides students, clinicians, researchers, ministries of health, and others with a valuable, thorough, and focused understanding of the development of the nurse practitioner (NP) and nurse anesthetist (NA), two advanced practice nursing roles which have improved access to care and healthcare outcomes as bilateral role development has progressed internationally. As the two roles have significant clinical differences, the book will appraise each role separately within two sections utilizing different approaches. After a thorough platform of defining and describing each role, including history and origins, education, practice, regulation, and leadership, the book guides by example, utilizing unique country case studies divided by WHO regions as exemplars for international role development as well as an outlook for the future of advanced practice nursing on the global stage. The book expands on the tenets and principles as outlined in the ICN Guidelines on Advanced Practice Nursing for Nurse Practitioners (2020) and Nurse Anesthetists (2021), providing the reader with an internationally vetted and accepted comprehension of the roles, guiding and inspiring future role development to improve global health care.
ISBN: 9783031207617Publication Date: 2023 -
Practical Trends in Anesthesia and Intensive Care 2022
by
This book offers an essential guide to managing the most-debated hot topics of practical interest in anesthesia and intensive care. It reviews the state of the art in issues concerning both intensive care medicine and anesthesia. Written by leading experts and including updated references, it provides a comprehensive, easy-to-follow update on anesthesia and intensive care. The book clearly explains complex topics, offering practicing clinicians valuable insights into the latest recommendations and evidence in the field while, at the same time, making it a vital resource for students new to the fields of anesthesia and intensive care.
ISBN: 9783031438912Publication Date: 2024
Surgery E-Books
-
3D Innovations in Personalized Surgery
by
Current practice involves the use of 3D surgical planning and patient-specific solutions in multiple surgical areas of expertise. Patient-specific solutions have been endorsed for several years in numerous publications due to their associated benefits around accuracy, safety, and predictability of surgical outcome. The basis of 3D surgical planning is the use of high-quality medical images (e.g., CT, MRI, or PET-scans). The translation from 3D digital planning toward surgical applications was developed hand in hand with a rise in 3D printing applications of multiple biocompatible materials. These technical aspects of medical care require engineers’ or technical physicians’ expertise for optimal safe and effective implementation in daily clinical routines.The aim and scope of this Special Issue is high-tech solutions in personalized surgery, based on 3D technology and, more specifically, bone-related surgery. Full-papers or highly innovative technical notes or (systematic) reviews that relate to innovative personalized surgery are invited. This can include optimization of imaging for 3D VSP, optimization of 3D VSP workflow and its translation toward the surgical procedure, or optimization of personalized implants or devices in relation to bone surgery.
ISBN: 9783036564845Publication Date: 2023 -
Advanced Practice and Leadership in Radiology Nursing
by
Endorsed by the Association of Radiologic and Imaging Nursing (ARIN), this first of a kind comprehensive radiology nursing textbook fills a gap by addressing important subjects for patient care and professional issues, as well as, future possibilities affecting nursing practice. It serves as a resource to related nursing specialties, e.g. critical care, emergency or peri-anesthesia, and to radiologic technologists and physician assistants. The book could be used as one resource for studying for radiologic nursing certification. The textbook is subdivided into five sections that address advanced practice and leadership roles, clinical patient care topics, safety topics, including legal considerations, e.g. infection prevention and equipment. It includes a section with topics impacting the patient experience and a section on professional topics, e.g. cybersecurity, social media, research/outcomes, interprofessional collaboration, workplace violence and current trends in imaging. The authors include advanced practice providers, radiology nurse managers, educators, physicians, a physicist, a dentist, attorneys, a child life specialist, administrators and a social worker. Radiology diagnostic examinations and therapeutic procedures have become a more prominent part of patient care due to advances in technology and the ability of radiology to provide services that were traditionally done in surgery or not done because of limited knowledge. Many procedures are facilitated by the radiology nurse from initial consult to transfer to a hospital unit or discharge and follow-up. Nurses assess, monitor, administer sedation/other medications and respond to emergencies. They serve as educators, researchers, and resource personnel to the radiology department and in many instances, to the entire facility. Radiology nurses are real leaders. In order to keep up-to-date on new developments, nurses need new literature to support their clinical expertise and leadership. This book is an unparalleled resource, written by experts in their areas of interest.
ISBN: 9783030326784Publication Date: 2019 -
Current Concepts and Controversies in Laparoscopic Surgery
by
Minimal access surgery continues to evolve at a fast pace. This book, Current Concepts and Controversies in Laparoscopic Surgery, provides a comprehensive and up-to-date overview of some specialist areas in this field. The chapters cover a fascinating variety of subjects in areas where recent developments have had a significant effect on clinical practice. The topics discussed include the risks of laparoscopic access techniques, gastrointestinal anastomoses, minimal access surgery for early rectal cancer, and simulation in laparoscopic surgery. This book is an invaluable resource for physicians, surgeons, nurses, and allied healthcare professionals who seek to refresh and expand their knowledge in laparoscopic surgery as well as a source of excellent information for those preparing for professional examinations.
ISBN: 9781803562032Publication Date: 2024 -
Infections in Surgery
by
Infections in surgery, commonly known as surgical site infections (SSIs), are complications that may occur after a surgical procedure. SSIs represent a serious problem leading to increased morbidity, mortality, and healthcare costs, highlighting the need for continued efforts to improve surgical practices and reduce their incidence. Several factors can contribute to the development of SSIs: patient-related factors (such as obesity, advanced age, diabetes, immunosuppression, pre-existing infections etc.); preoperative preparation-related factors (such as incomplete skin antisepsis or failure to administer appropriate antibiotic prophylaxis); microbial contamination (despite sterile techniques, microorganisms can infect the surgical site); surgical procedure-related factors (duration and complexity of the surgeries); postoperative care-related factors (such as inadequate wound care or infection control measures). To prevent SSIs, healthcare facilities implement various strategies, including: optimization of patients' conditions before surgery; preoperative antibiotic prophylaxis; strict sterile technique; postoperative wound care; surveillance and monitoring to identify and address SSIs early, preventing their spread and complications. Despite the evidence supporting the effectiveness of best practices, many clinicians fail to implement them, and evidence-based practices that optimize both the prevention and treatment of SSIs tend to be underused, highlighting the importance of ongoing research and improvement in surgical techniques and infection control practices. This open access book provides a practical toolkit for surgeons and intensivists to improve their daily clinical practices in order to reduce the risk of SSIs.
ISBN: 9783031604614Publication Date: 2024 -
Mastering Endo-Laparoscopic and Thoracoscopic Surgery: ELSA Manual
by
This is an open access book. The book focuses mainly on the surgical technique, OR setup, equipments and devices necessary in minimally invasive surgery (MIS). It serves as a compendium of endolaparoscopic surgical procedures. It is an official publication of the Endoscopic and Laparoscopic Surgeons of Asia (ELSA). The book includes various sections covering basic skills set, devices, equipments, OR setup, procedures by area. Each chapter cover introduction, indications and contraindications, pre-operative patient's assessment and preparation, OT setup (instrumentation required, patient's position, etc.), step by step description of surgical procedures, management of complications, post-operative care. It includes original illustrations for better understanding and visualization of specific procedures. The book serves as a practical guide for surgical residents, surgical trainees, surgical fellows,junior surgeons, surgical consultants and anyone interested in MIS. It covers most of the basic and advanced laparoscopic and thoracoscopic surgery procedures meeting the curriculum and examination requirements of the residents.
ISBN: 9789811937545Publication Date: 2022 -
Recent Strategies in High Risk Surgery
by
Major surgical societies have been publishing perioperative recommendations for over half a century, based on committees conducting reviews of the literature. Surgical books fundamentally target the intraoperative period when anesthesia is going on. Fatalities are often embedded in a larger context of systemic failures, in which initial problems are sidestepped or mishandled till they become overwhelming and irreversible. There must be a guiding principle and a truly integrated approach for each condition and treatment, of course based on the strongest available evidence. This unique book provides the reader standardized instructions and recommendations on the management of all high-risk surgical candidates in different specialties and contexts, encompassing a continuum of care, and not just in selected phases or groups. Written by worldwide experts, it is divided in 11 sections and 41 chapters which discuss: Preoperative evaluation, Lifestyle interventions, Surgicalspecialties, Protocols of special relevance, Fluids, electrolytes and shock, Perioperative surgical challenges, Bedside and adjunct procedures, Wound care, Innovative Approaches (including artificial intelligence and machine learning), End of life care and other ethical challenges. It also includes an additional section with supplementary material. Residents, fellows, practitioners in training and seasoned professionals seeking society recertification, primarily in surgery, anesthesiology, intensive care medicine, internal medicine, emergency services, trauma, vascular surgery, nursing, and physical therapy will find this book valuable. Professionals in the industry (especially those related to surgery, critical care monitoring devices, imaging diagnosis and interventional radiology), policy makers and government agencies will also benefit from this work.
ISBN: 3031562704Publication Date: 2024 -
Robotic Surgery and Nursing
by
Written in readable format and rich with clinical cases, this book systematically introduces surgical nursing during robotic surgery. The first part introduces the history of robotic surgery, operating room management, quality control of robotic surgical nursing, management of safety, infection, and anaesthesia. The second part introduces key points of nursing during robotic surgery in urology, general surgery, gynaecology, heart, chest and otorhinolaryngology. It will be a helpful reference for practitioners those in the process of implanting or about to implant robotic surgery.
ISBN: 9811605106Publication Date: 2021 -
Scrub Nurse in Minimally Invasive and Robotic General Surgery
by
This comprehensive book provides an excellent overview on the role of the scrub and circulating nurse during minimally invasive procedures and a detailed description of the specific instruments adopted during surgical procedures in each subspecialty areas as esophago-gastric, colorectal, endocrino-metabolic, hepato-biliary, spleno-pancreatic and abdominal wall surgery. The concept that laparoscopy now allows everyone to actively see all the surgical steps and therefore to be no longer just a simple “another man/woman in the theatre” but an active actor. The need therefore for all the nurses – and above all the scrub ones - to know and to have the knowledge - and therefore to have in a sort of parallelism thanks to this manual - the purely medical surgical steps with the corresponding and parallel nursing ones: an added value in the training and preparation of the all the people involved in surgery. This practical book correlated by images guides scrub nurse in all operative phases. The Scrub Nurse in Minimally Invasive and Robotic General Surgery also explores the legal aspects in the scrub nursing. The Italian Society of Endoscopic and Laparoscopic Surgery and the Italian Association of Scrub Nurses endorse this book and as such fills a gap.
ISBN: 3031422570Publication Date: 2024
