Nursing Resources: General and Reference
Resources for anyone affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Nursing or University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
About E-Resources
All of the resources listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with a Hawk ID and password.
There are more electronic and print books which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Jennifer DeBerg
General E-Journals
Select journals appear below. Search the library catalog or journal list for additional titles.
-
American Journal of NursingE access from 1900
-
BMC NursingE access from 2002
-
Clinical Nurse SpecialistE access from 1987
-
International Journal of Nursing PracticeE access from 1995
-
The Journal for Nurse PractitionersE access from 2005
-
Journal of Advanced NursingE access from 1976
-
Journal of Clinical NursingE access from 1992
-
Journal of Professional NursingE access from 1985
-
Journal of the American Academy of Nurse PractitionersE access from 1989
-
The Nurse PractitionerE access from 1975
-
Nursing OutlookE access from 1994
General and Reference E-Books
-
Davis' Comprehensive Manual of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications
by
The information nurses need...when, where, and how they need it! Nursing-focused and easy-to-read, this full-color manual delivers all the information you need to understand how tests work, interpret their results, and provide quality patient care--pre-test, intra-test, and post-test. Tests and procedures are listed in alphabetical order by their complete name for quick reference. The integrated index allows fast searches by abbreviation, synonym, disease/disorder, specimen type, or test classification.
ISBN: 9781719649056Publication Date: 2023, 10th ed. -
Guide to Clinical Documentation
by
Understand the when, why, and how! Here's your guide to developing the skills you need to master the increasing complex challenges of documenting patient care. Step by step, a straightforward 'how-to' approach teaches you how to write SOAP notes, document patient care in office and hospital settings, and write prescriptions. You'll find a wealth of examples, exercises, and instructions that make every point clear and easy to understand.
ISBN: 9780803669994Publication Date: 2019, 3rd ed. -
Guide to Diagnostic Tests
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
ISBN: 9781259640896Publication Date: 2017, 7th ed. -
Intervention Effectiveness Research: Quality Improvement and Program Evolution in Healthcare
by
This new edition provides a model and road map to answer clinical questions related to intervention effectiveness research, quality improvement, and program evaluation. It offers clear and simple guidance for all phases of a clinical inquiry projects from planning through dissemination and communication of results and findings. The book emphasizes the value and importance of leveraging existing data to advance research, practice, and quality improvement efforts. The new edition of Intervention Effectiveness Research is an updated practical guide for organizing and navigating the intersections of research and practice. Structure, process, and outcome worksheets for every step are provided together with examples from diverse settings and populations to lead readers through the process of implementing their own projects. The author highlights real world projects and clarifies interpretations from the differing perspectives of research, quality improvement,and program evaluation. This book is intended for teachers of DNP and PhD programs in nursing and other disciplines, their students, and healthcare leaders who need to leverage data to demonstrate care quality and outcomes.
ISBN: 9783031541117Publication Date: 2024, 2nd ed. -
Research Methodology in the Health Sciences
by
The current book on research methodology is primarily meant for students, scholars and interested faculty members of biomedical sciences like medicine, dentistry, nursing, pharmaceuticals, physiotherapy, etc. Format: The format and content of the book has been kept concise for easy readability, with examples drawn exclusively from real healthcare scenarios for easy understanding, and at the same time without compromising on the basic principles of research methodology. Math Issue for Health Science Students--doesn't and wont be too high level of math. Appropriate level for the health science student Biomedical Ethics, Review of Medical Literature also discusses how to write a dissertation
ISBN: 9781260463293Publication Date: 2021
Drug Resources
-
Clinician's Guide to Psychopharmacology
by
This book employs a direct and clear approach to understanding the medications used in the treatment of psychiatric disorders. A range of areas, such as prescription errors, dosage modification in renal and hepatic dysfunction, augmentation strategies in treatment resistant patients, and recent findings from various clinical trials are addressed. Given its clear, straightforward approach, the book will be a valuable guide for all clinicians working with patients with psychiatric illness.
ISBN: 3030607666Publication Date: 2021 -
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses
by
Davis's Drug Guide for Nurses provides comprehensive, current drug information in well-organized, nursing-focused monographs. It also includes extensive supplemental material in 14 appendices, addresses the issue of safe medication administration, and educates the reader about 45 different therapeutic classes of drugs. In this 19th edition, we continue to focus on safe medication administration by including Medication Safety Tools and even more information about health care's most vulnerable patients: children, the elderly, pregnant women, and breast feeding mothers.
ISBN: 9781719646406Publication Date: 2022, 18th ed. -
Meyler's Side Effects of Drugs
by
Building on the success of the 14 previous editions, this remarkable reference has been extensively reorganized and expanded and now comprises almost 1,500 individual drug articles providing the most complete coverage of adverse reactions and interactions found anywhere. Each article contains detailed and authoritative information about the adverse effects of each drug, with comprehensive references to the primary literature making this a must have for any academic or medical library, pharmacologist, regulatory organization, hospital dispensary or pharmaceutical company. Now available online for all academic, corporate or government institution as well as individuals via Science Direct! The online version provides an unparalleled depth of coverage and functionality by offering convenient desktop access and enhanced features such as increased searchability, extensive internal cross-linking and fully downloadable and printable full-text, HTML or PDF articles. Enhanced encyclopedic format with drug monographs now organised alphabetically Completely expanded coverage of each drug - thalidomide warranted three sentences in Meyler's 14th edition, but is now a 13 page extensive monograph Clearer, systematic organization of information for easier reading including case histories to provide perspective on each listing Extensive bibliography with over 40,000 references - Meyler's 15th edition incorporates all relevant citations from Meyler's 14th, but also includes relevant citations from previous editions of Meyler's and Side Effects of Drugs Annuals to give a historical perspective on the use and safety of drugs
ISBN: 9780444510051Publication Date: 2016, 16th ed.
Medical Billing and Coding
The following list includes both print and electronic books/resources.
-
Organizational Behavior and Management in Health and Medicine
by
This comprehensive textbook on healthcare organizational behavior and management uniquely bridges theory and practice, directing significant attention toward operationalization in health and medical settings. This blend of theory and practice differentiates the content of this book from that of related academic and professional books that tend to discuss theory at length with limited attention being directed toward practical applications. This approach ultimately affords readers with a working knowledge of the subject matter which must be mastered to successfully operate healthcare organizations and a real‐world skill set for use in practice. The contents of the text encompass a fairly broad spectrum of organizational behavior and management within the context of the healthcare industry and its associated organizations. Among the topics covered: Leadership in Health and Medicine Motivation in Health and Medicine Communication in Health and Medicine Strategy in Health and Medicine Ethics and Social Responsibility in Health and Medicine Organizational Culture in Health and Medicine Groups and Teams in Health and Medicine Power and Politics in Health and Medicine Beyond its efficient presentation of core facets of organizational behavior and management, the book features practical insights in each chapter from the authors' experiences as leaders at a health system. These passages share real-world insights, often involving unique applications, innovative thinking, and other creative perspectives from practice. These viewpoints are invaluable for helping readers to ground the theoretical overviews presented in each chapter, bolstering knowledge and understanding. A glossary of organizational behavior and management terminology is also included. Organizational Behavior and Management in Health and Medicine serves as a primer featuring principles and practices with intensive application and operational guidance. The text, with its learning objectives, chapter summaries, key terms, and exercises, is ideally suited for professors and students of health administration, medicine, nursing, and allied health. The book also can serve as a refresher for healthcare executives and managers (e.g., administrators, nurses, physicians) and as a useful reference for anyone with an interest in learning about administrative practices in health and medical settings.
ISBN: 9783031618239Publication Date: 2024 -
The Medical-Legal Aspects of Acute Care Medicine
by
The Medical-Legal Aspects of Acute Care Medicine: A Resource for Clinicians, Administrators, and Risk Managers is a comprehensive resource intended to provide a state-of-the-art overview of complex ethical, regulatory, and legal issues of importance to clinical healthcare professionals in the area of acute care medicine; including, for example, physicians, advanced practice providers, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, and care managers. In addition, this book also covers key legal and regulatory issues relevant to non-clinicians, such as hospital and practice administrators; department heads, educators, and risk managers. This text reviews traditional and emerging areas of ethical and legal controversies in healthcare such as resuscitation; mass-casualty event response and triage; patient autonomy and shared decision-making; medical research and teaching; ethical and legal issues in the care of the mental health patient; and, medical record documentation and confidentiality. Furthermore, this volume includes chapters dedicated to critically important topics, such as team leadership, the team model of clinical care, drug and device regulation, professional negligence, clinical education, the law of corporations, tele-medicine and e-health, medical errors and the culture of safety, regulatory compliance, the regulation of clinical laboratories, the law of insurance, and a practical overview of claims management and billing. Authored by experts in the field, The Medical-Legal Aspects of Acute Care Medicine: A Resource for Clinicians, Administrators, and Risk Managers is a valuable resource for all clinical and non-clinical healthcare professionals.
ISBN: 9783030685690Publication Date: 2021
