Nursing Resources: Critical Care
Resources for anyone affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Nursing or University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
About E-Resources
All of the resources listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with a Hawk ID and password.
There are more electronic and print books which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Jennifer DeBerg
Critical Care E-Journals
Select journals appear below. Search the library catalog or journal list for additional titles.
-
AACN Advanced Critical CareE access from 2006
-
Critical Care NurseE access from 2002
-
Critical Care Nursing QuartleryE access from 1987
-
Dimensions of Critical Care NursingE access from 1982
-
Heart and LungE access from 1995
-
Intensive and Critical Care NursingE access from 1992
-
Nursing in Critical CareE access from 2003
Critical Care E-Books
-
AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing
by
Endorsed by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), this acclaimed textbook sets the standard for critical care nursing education. Recognizing the learner’s need to assimilate foundational knowledge before attempting to master more complex critical care nursing concepts, the book features a practical building-block organization that starts with the basics and logically progresses to advanced topics.
Bolstered by helpful tables and essential content cases, AACN Essentials of Critical Care Nursing is an essential tool for clinicians at the point of care, and those preparing for CCRN® certification in critical care nursing.
ISBN: 9781260116755Publication Date: 2018, 4th ed. -
Critical Care Nutrition Therapy for Non-Nutritionists
by
This book offers a pragmatic approach to day-to-day metabolic and nutritional care based on physiological considerations. Due to the numerous controversial trials published in the last 15 years, there is no clear guidance for intensive care physicians regarding the metabolic and nutritional management of patients. This has resulted in a return to underfeeding and related complications in most ICUs worldwide as shown by the latest Nutrition Day data. Using a structured, logical approach, the book examines practical solutions for artificial feeding in complex areas of critical care (brain injuries, burns, cardiac failure, ECMO, intestinal failure, long term patient, renal failure, metabolic diseases, obesity, old patients) and discusses measurement of the results of metabolic interventions. It also includes dedicated chapters focusing on specific problems, in order to avoid complications. Critical Care Nutrition Therapy for Non-nutritionists is a valuable resource for all general ICUs and ICU subspecialties such as cardiovascular, neuro, gastrointestinal and burns ICUs.
ISBN: 9783319586526Publication Date: 2018 -
Interventional Critical Care
by
The goal of the first edition of Interventional Critical Care: A Manual for Advanced Care Practitioners was to fill a knowledge gap of the advanced practice provider (APP) specifically regarding the skills and understanding of critical care procedures in response to the rapidly expanding participation of APPs in critical care. Written by experts in the field, this successor edition adds to the content of the first by expanding upon ultrasonography areas to include more direct hemodynamic evaluations as well as the newer “e”FAST. It also explores the specialty of Urology to include more complex interventions. As billing and coding are necessary, the authors added appropriate CPT codes for each of the appropriate chapters. Most chapters have been completely re-written and updated from the first edition and have different authors – thereby a different perspective and experience level.
Interventional Critical Care 2nd Edition serves as a valuable reference for physicians and advanced practice providers in daily practice in the ICU, OR and/or ED setting.
ISBN: 3030646610Publication Date: 2021, 2nd ed. -
Neurocritical Care for the Advanced Practice Clinician
by
By utilizing a review of case-based studies and providing concise management recommendations from leaders in the field, this book provides essential knowledge for those practicing in a dynamic specialty. In the rapidly developing field of Neurocritical Care, Advanced Practice Clinicians have become an integral component of the multi-disciplinary team. This essential volume provides a frame of reference for advanced practice nurses, physician assistants, physicians, and students on a wide range of common Neuro ICU diagnoses and management strategies.
ISBN: 9783319486697Publication Date: 2018 -
Nursing in Critical Care Setting: An Overview from Basic to Sensitive Outcomes
by
This book provides essential insights into how the approach to nursing care in ICU patients has markedly changed over recent years. It shows how the focus has progressively moved away from the technical approach that characterized early ICUs to a wider personalization of patient care that also highlights general problems such as basic hygiene and general comfort. It also demonstrates that, at the same time, the nurses' role has become more professionalized, with increasing competences in assessing and managing patients' problems and measuring related outcomes. It is structured in four units: Unit 1 presents the essential elements of accurate vital-function and basic-needs assessments for ICU patients, using both instrumental monitoring and specially validated assessment tools. Unit 2 addresses basic care in ICU patients, particularly hygiene and mobilization, reflecting recent developments in nursing that focus on the importance of these activities. Unit 3 highlights the main nursing outcomes in ICU patients, particularly focusing on risk prevention and complication management. Lastly, Unit 4 discusses advances in ICU nursing, from clinical, organizational and research perspectives.
* Core title from Doody's (library collection management resource)
ISBN: 9783319505596Publication Date: 2018 -
Oncologic Critical Care
by
This major reference work is the most comprehensive resource on oncologic critical care. The text reviews all significant aspects of oncologic ICU practices, with a particular focus on challenges encountered in the diagnosis and management of the critically ill cancer patient population. Comprised of over 140 chapters, the text explores such topics as the organization and management of an oncologic ICU, diseases and complications encountered in the oncologic ICU, multidisciplinary care, surgical care, transfusion medicine, special patient populations, critical care procedures, ethics, pain management, and palliative care. Written by worldwide experts in the field, Oncologic Critical Care is a valuable resource for intensivists, advance practice providers, nurses, and other healthcare providers, that will help close significant knowledge and educational gaps within the realm of medical care for critically ill cancer patients.
ISBN: 3319745883Publication Date: 2019 -
Pulmonary and Critical Care Considerations of Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplantation
by
This book serves as a guide to the pulmonary and critical care complications of hematopoietic stem cell transplantation (HSCT). HSCT is an important therapeutic modality for a variety of malignant and non-malignant conditions. The outcomes of these patients have been improving and the number of HSCT cases is increasing around the world. These patients, however, continue to have post-transplant complications related to conditioning regimens and graft vs. host disease. Pulmonary complications following HSCT remain a major cause of morbidity and mortality in this patient population. The book begins with an overview of HSCT and graft vs. host disease. Chapters then cover particular complications, including immunological changes in lungs, diffuse alveolar hemorrhage, bronchiolitis obliterans and pulmonary fibrosis. Other complications, including neurologic, renal, gastrointestinal, and cardiac, are covered. Chapters are comprehensive and consistent with each defining the scope of the complication, epidemiology, risk factors, diagnostic approach, management, outcome and predictors of outcome, and future directions. The book provides insight as well on matters that arise during the care of HSCT patients such as provider burnout, nursing care, intensive care unit organization, nutritional support, and pulmonary and physical rehabilitation. This is an ideal guide for pulmonologists, critical care physicians, transplant specialists, oncologists, and relevant trainees caring for patients who have undergone HSCT.
ISBN: 3031287975Publication Date: 2023 -
Textbook of Rapid Response Systems
by
The latest edition of this text is the go-to book and most authoritative source on Rapid Response Systems (RRS). Now in its fully revised and expanded third edition, Textbook of Rapid Response Systems remains the best-selling and most comprehensive book on the topic. The new edition contains over fifty chapters written by world-renowned experts in the field and over fifty percent new material. An entire new section of ten chapters was added on pediatric Rapid Response Systems, which includes important “how to” chapters on managing critical situations during pediatric rapid response calls.
ISBN: 9783031679513Publication Date: 2024, 3rd ed. -
Total Burn Care
by
Contents: A brief history of acute burn care management -- Teamwork for total burn care : burn centers and multidisciplinary burn teams -- Epidemiological, demographic and outcome characteristics of burns -- Prevention of burn injuries -- Burn management in disasters and humanitarian crises -- Care of outpatient burns -- Prehospital management, transportation, and emergency care -- Pathophysiology of burn shock and burn edema -- Burn resuscitation -- Evaluation of the burn wound : management decisions -- Treatment of infection in burn patients -- Operative wound management -- Anesthesia for burned patients -- The skin bank -- Skin substitutes and 'the next level' -- The pathophysiology of inhalation injury....
* Core title from Doody's (library collection management resource)
ISBN: 9780323497428Publication Date: 2018, 5th ed.
Find More Critical Care E-Books
Visit the Internal Medicine Subject Guide for additional E-books on this topic.