Lock icon= subscription resource. Use hawk id and password to access off campus.
Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Nursing Practice by Bridie Kent (Editor); Brendan McCormack (Editor)The Evidence-Based Nursing Series is co-published with Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI). The series focuses on implementing evidence-based practice in nursing and midwifery and mirrors the remit of Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, encompassing clinical practice, administration, research and public policy. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice provides insights into the key contextual issues to be considered in the implementation and assessment of evidence-based practice. Increasingly, implementation research is demonstrating that for evidence to be successfully implemented into practice, the context of practice needs to be considered. Clinical Context for Evidence-Based Practice addresses professional, educational, and organizational contextual issues that impact on the implementation of evidence into practice and the bringing about of practice change. Practical strategies that have been used effectively to overcome these contextual issues in a range of healthcare settings are identified. Specific contextual issues in different care settings are also addressed e.g. acute care, primary health care, peri-operative settings, paediatrics, aged care, mental health, midwifery. Each chapter is written by an internationally known and respected author, with experience of developing or reviewing contextual strategies that have an impact on the implementation and utilisation of research in practice. They explore how gaining a better understanding of context made a difference to the implementation process or outcome and address the potential to transfer different approaches to a range of healthcare settings. An informative, practical resource for nurses and other health care professionals Explores context-related models and approaches to implementation Informs implementation and enables effective decision making Critically appraises contextual factors across the spectrum of care Explores future directions and implications Includes case examples
Publication Date: 2011-11-22
Error Reduction in Health Care by Patrice L. Spath (Editor)Error Reduction in Health Care Completely revised and updated, this second edition of Error Reduction in Health Care offers a step-by-step guide for implementing the recommendations of the Institute of Medicine to reduce the frequency of errors in health care services and to mitigate the impact of errors when they do occur. With contributions from noted leaders in health safety, Error Reduction in Health Care provides information on analyzing accidents and shows how systematic methods can be used to understand hazards before accidents occur. In the chapters, authors explore how to prioritize risks to accurately focus efforts in a systems redesign, including performance measures and human factors. This expanded edition covers contemporary material on innovative patient safety topics such as applying Lean principles to reduce mistakes, opportunity analysis, deductive adverse event investigation, improving safety through collaboration with patients and families, using technology for patient safety improvements, medication safety, and high reliability organizations. The Editor
Publication Date: 2011-02-25
Evaluation of Health Care Quality in Advanced Practice Nursing by Joanne V. HickeyHigh-level evaluation skills reflecting national standards and benchmarks are becoming increasingly important in our changing health care climate. This is the only nursing textbook to lay the foundation for APNs to achieve the highest possible competency in conducting systematic and in-depth evaluations of all aspects of health care. Comprehensive in scope, it distills current best practice information from numerous sources to create a thorough and reliable resource for APN and DNP graduates. The text addresses both the theoretical basis of evaluation and its application as an integral part of contemporary practice. It provides an overview of evaluation science and critically examines the characteristics, sources, and quality of the nature of evidence. Several frameworks are described to provide the reader with different evaluation models, including those of economic evaluation. The text covers in detail the evaluation of organizations, systems, and standards for practice, including information systems and patient care technology, the redesign of health care in accordance with patient-family centered models, and the challenges of the current trend toward electronic medical records. Also addressed is the evaluation of populations and health care teams, including characteristics, risk factors, and determinants, as well as the emphasis on interdisciplinary collaborative health teams. Additionally, the text covers translating outcomes from evaluation into health care policy, and opportunities for advocacy and leadership among APNs. Key Features: .; Provides comprehensive coverage of evaluation of patient, population, systems, health team, and health care information systems technology outcomes; Presents best practices and evidence-based practices that stress use in practice; Uses case studies to illustrate application of evaluation in each practice area; Stresses the importance of clear terminology in evaluation and provides definitions of relevant term
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Evidence-Based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Health Care by Alan Pearson; John Field; Zoe JordanEvidence-Based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Healthcare examines the Joanna Briggs Institute model for evidence-based practice which recognises research, theory and practice as sources of evidence and takes a practical approach to developing, implementing and evaluating practice, based on 'evidence' in its broadest sense. Evidence-based Clinical Practice in Nursing and Healthcare addresses the nature of evidence in clinical practice, generating and synthesising evidence, and transferring and utilising evidence in clinical practice. It describes the development of practice information sheets and clinical guidelines and provides practical guidance on the implementation of evidence-based practice and its evaluation using clinical audit.
Publication Date: 2007-01-16
Evidence-based Practice by Janet Houser; Kathleen S. OmanEvidence-Based Practice: An Implementation Guide for Healthcare Organizations was created to assist the increasing number of hospitals that are attempting to implement evidence-based practice in their facilities with little or no guidance. This manual serves as a guide for the design and implementation of evidence-based practice systems and provides practice advice, worksheets, and resources for providers. It also shows institutions how to achieve Magnet status without the major investment in consultants and external resources.
Publication Date: 2010-10-25
The Hospital Guide to Reducing Medicaid Readmissions by U.S. Department of Health & Human Services - Agency for Healthcare Research & QualityReducing readmissions is a national priority for payers, providers, and policymakers seeking to improve health care and lower costs. Readmissions are a significant issue among patients with Medicaid. The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) commissioned this guide to identify ways evidence-based strategies to reduce readmissions can be adapted or expanded to better address the transitional care needs of the adult Medicaid population. The guide has been field tested by individual hospitals and groups of hospital quality improvement collaboratives. Based on a series of coaching and feedback calls with hospitals, the second release of this guide has been updated to provide updated tools and clearer guidance on who should use the tools and what to do with the output of the tools. It also offers new tools that can be used in the day-to-day working environment of hospital-based teams and cross-setting partnerships.
The Health Care Data Guide by Lloyd P. Provost; Sandra MurrayThe Health Care Data Guide is designed to help students and professionals build a skill set specific to using data for improvement of health care processes and systems. Even experienced data users will find valuable resources among the tools and cases that enrich The Health Care Data Guide. Practical and step-by-step, this book spotlights statistical process control (SPC) and develops a philosophy, a strategy, and a set of methods for ongoing improvement to yield better outcomes. Provost and Murray reveal how to put SPC into practice for a wide range of applications including evaluating current process performance, searching for ideas for and determining evidence of improvement, and tracking and documenting sustainability of improvement. A comprehensive overview of graphical methods in SPC includes Shewhart charts, run charts, frequency plots, Pareto analysis, and scatter diagrams. Other topics include stratification and rational sub-grouping of data and methods to help predict performance of processes. Illustrative examples and case studies encourage users to evaluate their knowledge and skills interactively and provide opportunity to develop additional skills and confidence in displaying and interpreting data. Companion Web site: www.josseybass.com/go/provost
Publication Date: 2011-08-15
Nursing Practice and Health Care by Sue Hinchliff; Sue NormanNursing Practice and Health Care is an essential companion to pre-registration nursingaeducation programmes, for those studying at degree and diploma level, and for students on post-registration courses.aThis fifth edition has been completely revised to reflect the current professional and educational requirements for those preparing for registration as a nurse, while maintaining a strong focus on practice and reflecting the needs of those requiring nursing and health care. Additionally, it uses thea2008 NMC Code as the cornerstone for many of its chapters.aBuilding on the changes in the fourth edition, the requirements of pre-registration nursing programmes, the fitness for practice initiative and other developments in health policy within the four countries of the UK, theabook provides an invaluableasupport for students as theyalearn the skills in critical thinking that will enable the development of an accountable, professional practitioner. Both student- and patient-centred, the book is divided intoafive parts: Perspectives on nursing, Learning nursing, Practisting nursing, Key aspects of care and Professional support and development. Key features: Completely revised and updated to reflect the new NMC CodeBoth student- and patient-centredTackles key issues for today''s student nurse, including health promotion, quality and the patient experience, informatics, diversity of care settings, accountable practice and ethics and the lawIncorporates a wide range of helpful text features including learning objectives, section and chapter summaries, patient scenarios and reflective points, useful websites and further readingReflects the governmental reports, policies, frameworks and targets of all four UK countries"
Taking the Lead in Patient Safety by Thomas R. Krause; John Hidley; Diane C. Pinakiewicz (Foreword by)Written by industry professionals: a workplace safety specialist in conjunction with a practicing physician and medical manager. Provides recommendations for assessing hospital safety practices as well as specific suggestions for behavioural interventions. Brings a systematic approach to healthcare safety, identifying common problems through illustrative case studies and offering solutions. Offers several different perspectives including patient safety, doctor safety, and administrator safety.