Jennifer DeBerg
Scholarly Writing and Publishing
Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by ISBN: 9783319701264Publication Date: 2018, 3rd ed.
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare by
Writing for Publication in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable guide to 'getting it right', focusing on all aspects of writing for publication. It will help the reader to develop skills in writing articles, book reviews and other forms of publications, and can also be used as an aide-mémoire for editors and journal or book reviewers. It explores: How to get started How to write various forms of publication including abstracts, papers, book reviews, journal articles and books Good practice in reviewing The editorial process Ethical and legal aspects of publishing Offering guidance, tips, examples and activities, this practical how-to book written by experts in the field is essential reading for all nurses and healthcare professionals.
ISBN: 1118302451Publication Date: 2012
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Seventh Edition is the official source for APA Style. With millions of copies sold worldwide in multiple languages, it is the style manual of choice for writers, researchers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, natural sciences, nursing, communications, education, business, engineering, and other fields. Known for its authoritative, easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, language, and tone that will result in powerful, concise, and elegant scholarly communication. It guides users through the scholarly writing process-from the ethics of authorship to reporting research through publication. The seventh edition is an indispensable resource for students and professionals to achieve excellence in writing and make an impact with their work. The seventh edition has been thoroughly revised and updated to reflect best practices in scholarly writing and publishing. All formats are in full color, with a new tabbed spiral version Improved ease of navigation, with many additional numbered sections to help users quickly locate answers to their questions Resources for students on writing and formatting annotated bibliographies, response papers, and other paper types as well as guidelines on citing course materials Dedicated chapter for new users of APA Style covering paper elements and format, including sample papers for both professional authors and student writers New chapter on journal article reporting standards that includes updates to reporting standards for quantitative research and the first-ever qualitative and mixed methods reporting standards in APA Style New chapter on bias-free language guidelines for writing about people with respect and inclusivity in areas including age, disability, gender, participation in research, race and ethnicity, sexual orientation, socioeconomic status, and intersectionality More than 100 new reference examples covering periodicals, books, audiovisual media, social media, webpages and websites, and legal resources More than 40 new sample tables and figures Expanded guidance on ethical writing and publishing practices, including how to ensure the appropriate level of citation, avoid plagiarism and self-plagiarism, and navigate the publication process Guidelines that support accessibility for all users, including simplified reference, in-text citation, and heading formats as well as additional font options
Call Number: print only, at Hardin in course reserve: BF76.7 .P83 2020ISBN: 143383216XPublication Date: 2019
Writing for Publication in Nursing (3rd Edition) by
"Designated a Doody's Core Title " Praise for the Second Edition ""Provides helpful tips for all levels of writing and is a comprehensive, solid reference for any nurse who plans to write for publication."" --"BookEnds" ""Writing for publication is essential for disseminating nursing knowledge, and this book will surely prepare budding authors and serve as a resource for experienced authors. It is a great reference for authors at all levels." Score: 100, " ⋆⋆⋆⋆⋆ --"Doody's" The ability to communicate in writing is an essential skill, particularly for nurses at the graduate level. This is a best-selling, comprehensive, and widely used resource on writing for nurse clinicians, faculty, researchers, and graduate students. It covers all kinds of writing that beginning and experienced nurse authors may be required or choose to undertake: journal articles, book chapters, and preparing manuscripts from course work. Brimming with helpful examples, the book takes the reader step by step through the entire process of writing, from the generation of an idea through searching the nursing literature, preparing an outline, writing and revising a draft, and submitting the finished product for publication. In addition to being extensively updated, the third edition features new chapters on writing articles reporting quality improvement studies and on open-access publications. New writing samples have been added that illustrate how to present multiple types of research and writing for various types of journals and other venues. The book describes how to select an appropriate journal and gear the writing for the intended audience, submit a manuscript, and respond to reviewers. It provides strategies for searching bibliographic databases, analyzing and synthesizing the literature, and writing a literature review. Information is included on developing manuscripts from theses and dissertations, writing a paper with multiple authors, and when and how to include tables or figures. Ethical considerations are also addressed. FEATURED IN THE THIRD EDITION: Selecting the right journal for publication using web resources and moreSelecting and searching bibliographic databases for synthesizing literatureDeveloping literature reviews for target audiences of research versus clinical papersDisseminating research to researchers versus cliniciansWriting quality improvement reports and evidence-based practice articlesWriting papers for clinical journalsPublishing innovations in clinical practice and unit-based initiativesPublishing in open-access journals and important considerationsTurning capstone projects, theses, and dissertations into manuscriptsWorking with coauthors and student/faculty collaborationsResponding to peer reviewsAvoiding abuses of authorship and copyright issues Marilyn H. Oermann, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN, is the Thelma M. Ingles Professor of Nursing and Director of Evaluation and Educational Research at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of 15 nursing education books and many articles on evaluation, teaching in nursing, and writing for publication. She is the editor of "Nurse Educator" and the "Journal of Nursing Care Quality." Dr. Oermann lectures widely on teaching and evaluation in nursing and on writing for publication. Judith C. Hays, PhD, RN, FGSA, is Associate Professor Emerita at Duke University School of Nursing, Durham, North Carolina. She is author/coauthor of a psychiatric epidemiology textbook and more than 70 scientific articles on late-life living arrangements, religiousness, depression, palliative care and bereavement, and nu
ISBN: 0826119921Publication Date: 2015
Guide to Effective Grant Writing by
Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant is written to help the 100,000+ post-graduate students and professionals who need to write effective proposals for grants. There is little or no formal teaching about the process of writing grants for NIH, and many grant applications are rejected due to poor writing and weak formulation of ideas. Procuring grant funding is the central key to survival for any academic researcher in the biological sciences; thus, being able to write a proposal that effectively illustrates one's ideas is essential. Covering all aspects of the proposal process, from the most basic questions about form and style to the task of seeking funding, this volume offers clear advice backed up with excellent examples. Included are a number of specimen proposals to help shed light on the important issues surrounding the writing of proposals. The Guide is a clear, straight-forward, and reader-friendly tool. Guide to Effective Grant Writing: How to Write a Successful NIH Grant Writing is based on Dr. Yang's extensive experience serving on NIH grant review panels; it covers the common mistakes and problems he routinely witnesses while reviewing grants.
ISBN: 9780387277493Publication Date: 2007
Project Planning and Project Management
Proposal Writing for Nursing Capstones and Clinical Projects by
While advanced practice nursing students generally have good clinical skills, many lack the clinical scholarship capabilities that are required for writing scholarly proposals. The only resource of its kind, this is a practical guide for MSN project students and DNP capstone students who must plan and organize their clinical projects into quality proposals. It provides the requisite guidelines for integrating research and best evidence with clearly communicated professional objectives. The book's "how-to" approach helps to demystify the organization and packaging of advanced practice clinical projects into tight proposals. The text includes an overview of basic scholarly approaches required for professional communication that support a diverse array of clinical project topics. Students interact with the content via ongoing prompts and questions that guide them in the kind of reflective writing that facilitates greater understanding of their projects and subsequent proposals. Chapters are organized into three broad sections with a logical flow toward completion of planning, writing, and communicating a project proposal. Each chapter is consistently organized to include objectives, tips for making proposals concise yet complete, and tools for self-assessment. Also included are key point summaries, reflective questions, and writing prompts. Additionally, the book provides plentiful checklists, five exercises that jump-start the process, examples of good writing, and additional resources for further study. Key Features: Provides topflight guidance in proposal writing for nursing capstones and clinical projects Details parameters for integrating scholarship with clearly communicated professional objectives Contains numerous writing prompts and questions that guide students in reflective scholarly writing Includes a project triangle framework, exercises to jump-start the process, examples of good writing, reflective questions, and tools for self-assessment Offers helpful tips for making proposals concise yet complete
ISBN: 0826108636Publication Date: 2013
The Dissertation Journey A Practical and Comprehensive Guide to Planning, Writing, and Defending your Dissertation by ISBN: 9781452262062Publication Date: 2010
DNP Capstone Projects by
"This unique book not only explains the introduction of the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) role but also bridges the DNP essentials with the evidence-based practice framework. It includes wonderful examples of exciting scholarship, but also illustrates how the evidence is then translated into clinical practice...This is a wonderful resource for students completing a DNP degree. It is an excellent book for expanding the understanding of the capstone project and the importance of dissemination of nursing knowledge to improve patient care and outcomes. Weighted Numerical Score: 100 - 5 Stars " Kathleen Woodruff Doody's Medical Reviews With a unique focus on exemplary, completed DNP capstone projects, this book delivers key information on designing, constructing, and completing a high quality capstone project. It demonstrates the impact that a well-conceived capstone project can have on facilitating change and addresses all program, administrative, policy, and clinical issues that DNP students may encounter during the capstone process. The book examines a variety of capstone projects from across the U.S.--quality improvement projects, strategic plans, advocacy, clinical case narratives, and other innovations--that demonstrate efficacy in clinical nursing practice outcomes and positive impact upon the health care environment. The book analyzes the components of these exemplary capstones to demonstrate how each has provided leadership for change in practice, promoted interdisciplinary collaboration, contributed to advocacy and policy change, and enhanced quality improvement in health care systems. Key Features: Focuses on a wide range of exemplary, completed DNP capstone projects Provides a roadmap for excellence in creating capstone projects Analyzes components of capstones that have effected positive change Includes strategies for implementing evidence-based practices for nurses and other health care providers Highlights DNP leadership and resulting positive changes in clinical practice
ISBN: 0826130267Publication Date: 2014
Project Planning and Management: a Guide for CNLs, DNPs and Nurse Executives by
Project Planning and Management provides a step-by-step approach to developing, implementing and evaluating a project plan. This book serves as a guide to refining the idea or question, reviewing relevant evidence to support a best practice intervention, and outlining process dynamics, outcomes management and evaluation strategies. Features throughout the text include chapter objectives, key terms, summaries, evidence-based examples, boxed articles, case studies, review questions, as well as power point presentations and exam questions. This is the perfect resource for capstone courses and field studies as well as an ideal reference for professionals.
ISBN: 9781449619800Publication Date: 2010
Conducting Literature Reviews
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by
""This book is superb. Most undergraduates have to undertake some form of literature review which may be daunting, this book explains it in an clear, easy to understand format. Explanations are given as to why undertaking a literature review is undertaken. Summery sections at the end of each chapter allow the reader to reflect on what they have just read, allowing the information to sink in. This book should be on every university's recommended reading list." Kerry Davis, Student Nurse, University Campus Suffolk, UK" ""This book is fantastic It gives a clear, concise guide to carrying out a literature review, which is of course a widely used formative assessment technique in a nursing program ... (it includes) in depth explanations and reasons as to how and why it is important to do a literature review ... the summary section at the end of each chapter is excellent, and allows the reader to review their understanding of what they're just read. Overall an excellent book which is a must for any student nurse " Gem Smith, Student Nurse, Northumbria University, UK" ""This book is superb. It explains the entire process of writing a literature review very clearly ... extremely helpful as the prospect of reviewing literature can be quite daunting." Vicky Bain, Student Nurse, University of Nottingham, UK "A comprehensive, easy to read guide which will help students to understand how to undertake a literature review, and how to use the resultant information effectively." Anne-Marie Warnes, University of Central Lancashire, UK "As a student, currently writing a literature review, I found this an extremely helpful book, which is invaluable in demystifying some of the more challenging elements, while at the same time providing clear, simple, appealing and appropriate guidance. This is a must have for undergraduate nursing students, and indeed all healthcare students embarking on such projects." Audrey Grace, Trinity College Dublin, Dublin, Ireland" This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The new edition has been fully updated and provides a practical guide to the different types of literature that you may come across when undertaking a literature review. It includes: Examples of commonly occurring real life scenarios encountered by students Emphasis on the importance of setting a question at the very start of the project Advice on how to follow a clearly defined search strategy Details of a wide range of critical appraisal tools "Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care 2/e" is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field - and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence.
ISBN: 9780335238859Publication Date: 2010
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy by
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method, Fifth Edition describes the practical and useful methods for reviewing scientific literature in the health sciences. Please note that an access code to supplemental content such as Appendix C: Data Visualization is not included with the eBook purchase. To access this content please purchase an access code at www.jblearning.com/catalog/9781284133943/.
ISBN: 9781284115253Publication Date: 2016
Reviewing Research Evidence for Nursing Practice by
Reviewing research evidence for nursing practice: systematic reviews highlights the key issues involved in conducting different types of systematic reviews - encompassing qualitative studies, quantitative studies and combining quantitative and qualitative studies. It enables nurses and researchers to understand the key principles involved in preparing systematic reviews and to critically appraise the reviews they read and evaluate their usefulness in developing their own practice. Each section starts with an overview of the methodology, followed by a selection of systematic reviews carried out in specialist areas of nursing practice. Part 1 explores systematic reviews and meta-analysis of quantitative research, part 2 explores meta-synthesis and meta-study of qualitative research and part 3 addresses integrative reviews that combine both qualitative and quantitative evidence. The final part explores the use of systematic reviews in service and practice development.
ISBN: 1281309133Publication Date: 2010
Conducting Your Literature Review by
This book is a step-by-step guide to writing a literature review, and includes tips for modifying the process as needed depending on your audience, purpose, and goals. The lessons in this book can be applied to writing the background section for a thesis or an original research publication. Literature reviews are now much more challenging to compile today than they used to be. You need a structured approach to handle the sheer volume of published research available. This book will help you formulate a strategy for making decisions about what to include and not include in your review, and produce a reliable and unbiased summary of the existing research. You will learn skills for defining research questions, using search tools and managing citations. This book is part of the American Psychological Association's Concise Guides to Conducting Behavioral, Health, and Social Science Research series. Aimed at undergraduate students in research methods courses or others with a lab or research project, each book describes a key stage in the research process. Collectively, these books provide a solid grounding in research from start to finish.
ISBN: 9781433830921Publication Date: 2019
