Technology Available at the Main Library: How to View Physical Media
The University of Iowa Libaries system offers a wealth of physical and other viewable media. The Main Library Service Desk supports several loan options that facilitate media consumption, including a DVD/Blu-ray player and four external drives with CD and DVD player capability.
While this page details those loan options, please know that there are other tech options for viewing physical media at Main, including the Media Viewing Station in the first floor Service Commons. The Media Viewing Station allows an individual with UI Libraries borrowing privileges to use an in-location television, DVD player, and VCR with headphones and remotes. Please talk to the staff at the Service Desk if you would like to use the Media Viewing Station.
Did you know that more than 50,000 titles are accessible to you on physical media through the University of Iowa Libraries? Check out the guide to UI Libraries' physical media collection.
One DVD/Blu-ray player is available at the Main Library Service Desk for loan to undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and staff for a loan period of three days. The DVD/Blu-ray player loan package includes a case containing the player device (any standard DVD region (0-8) and any Blu-ray region), a power cord, an HDMI cord, a remote control, and how-to and troubleshooting instruction sheets. Once the four-hour loan is up, please neatly place all components of the loan package back in the case and return the case to the Service Desk.
Here are other resources related to viewing media through the University of Iowa Libraries:
- UI Libraries' copyright guide (see section on performance rights)
- Where is the Main Media Collection?
- Hawkeye Video guide to navigating UI Libraries' physical media collection
- UI Libraries' Media Collection
- UI Libraries' Microform Collection Guide
- Electronic Resources Guide
- Cable loans at Main
- Main Library Group Study Rooms
- University of Iowa Room Reservations
- Streaming Video through UI Libraries
- Rita Benton Music Library -- Listen to Music resources
- Big Ten 16mm Film Collection
Four CD/DVD external drives are available at the Main Library Service Desk for loan to undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and staff for a loan period of three days. The loan package includes a case containing a CD/DVD external drive and a Micro-USB to USB cord. The drive itself features two USB ports, an SD card port, and a USB-C port. This drive model is compatible with Windows 11/10/8/7/XP, Linux, and Mac OS, and is incompatible with iPads, TVs, cars, Android OS, Fire OS, Chrome OS, tablets, phones, and projectors. Once the three-day loan is up, please neatly place the cord and drive in the case and return the case in the loan bag to the Service Desk.
- CD/DVD RW drive detailed user manual (Windows and Mac OS)
- ROOFULL External Drive product page
