Skip to Main Content Skip to Main Content
University of Iowa

University Libraries

Welcome to Special Collections

A guide to visiting the Special Collections department at the University of Iowa Libraries.

Message From the Outreach and Engagement Librarian

A young white woman with short red hair and blue shirt smiles at the camera

Elizabeth Riordan is the Lead Outreach and Engagement Librarian for Special Collections. She directs the instruction for the department, as well as the coordinator for groups who wish to visit Special Collections. Riordan also coordinates news that is shared on social media platforms, the department blog and monthly newsletter. Excited to bring our material to the people, Riordan is available to work with faculty, student groups, researchers, and community groups to find ways to make Special Collections material accessible for projects and events.

 

Elizabeth Riordan,

Lead Outreach and Instruction Librarian, elizabeth-riordan@uiowa.edu

 
  Outreach and Engagement

A group of people stand around an older man explaining a book on a table in front of them

Throughout the year we offer exhibits, open houses, and lectures open to the public. We also work with your organization or club to put together an event featuring material of interest.

To book a class or group visit with Special Collections and Archives, be sure to fill out our online form. 

Join us every semester for Iowa Bibliophiles where we invite guest speakers to share an aspect of book history or collecting featuring their collections or materials from Special Collections. Find out more about Iowa Bibliophiles by checking out our website.

Also stay on top of events and other activities happening here in Special Collections by signing up for our newsletter by emailing elizabeth-riordan@uiowa.edu.