The Perch: News & Reviews
News & Reviews Stand
Browse the News & Reviews stand for the latest newspapers. There are national, regional, local, and even a few international titles for you to explore as you keep on top of the current events happening in your world.
This page provides:
- links to their online sites,
- a link to our Libraries' most complete online collection of full text for a publication if available,
- a description of the title from Wikipedia, and
- a link to allsides.com if it provides information on a publication's bias.
Many of these publications can be searched in InfoHawk+ or our online databases.
More information about News and Newspapers
There is also a selection of book review publications available on this stand to help our local writers and book aficionados stay abreast of the publishing world.
Want to Search More News?
-
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window Current and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
-
Ethnic Newswatch Complete This link opens in a new window Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989
-
News & Newspapers (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window This is one location to search all of the newspaper collections we own through Proquest.
-
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window TURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
-
ProQuest Recent Newspapers This link opens in a new window Must scroll down to ProQuest Recent Newspapers. All newspapers are searchable databases for the years 2008+ with a 3 month embargo. Includes newspapers from the U.S. and Canada such as Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Baltimore Sun, St. Louis Post Dispatch, Indianapolis Star, Cincinnati Enquirer, Toronto Star, Vancouver Sun, and more. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
News & Reviews Lists
New York Times*
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
*University of Iowa students and staff can create an account here for complimentary enhanced access to The New York Times - digital edition. Then log in at www.nytimes.com.
USA Today
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1987-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Wall Street Journal
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (2008-3 Months Ago)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Washington Post
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (2003-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
 American Poetry ReviewInfoHawk+ Full Text Online (1989-Today) Website Wiki |
 Publishers WeeklyInfoHawk+ Full Text Online (1990-Today) Website Wiki |
 Literaturnaya GazetaInfoHawk+ Website Wiki |
TLS, The Times Literary Supplement |
 London Review of BooksInfoHawk+ Website Wiki |
Women's Review of Books |
 New York Times Book Review InfoHawk+ Website Wiki |
 World Literature TodayInfoHawk+ Full Text Online (1990-Today) Website Wiki |
Chicago Tribune
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (2008-3 Months Ago)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Des Moines Register
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (2009-3 Months Ago)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Gazette (Cedar Rapids), The
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1992-Today)
Website
Wiki
Daily Iowan
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1868-Today)
Website
Wiki
Iowa City Press-Citizen
InfoHawk+
Access via ICPL (1999-present)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Little Village
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (2001-Today)
Website
 Times, TheInfoHawk+ Full Text Online (1985-Today) Website Wiki |
|
 Guardian Weekly, TheInfoHawk+ Full Text Online (1981-2014) Website Wiki Bias |
Zeit, Die |
 Monde, LeInfoHawk+ Full Text Online (2006-1010) Website Wiki |
|
Canard Enchaîné, LeIn addition to the international newspapers in The Perch, three Chinese newspapers are on display outside of the East Asian Reading Room on the 2nd floor of the Main Library:
- People’s Daily
- Chinese Women
- Southern Weekly
Catholic Worker, The
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1943-2016)
Website
Wiki
Christian Science Monitor Weekly
InfoHawk+ (print/micro)
InfoHawk+ (digital)
Website
Wiki
Bias
National Catholic Reporter
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1992-Today)
Website
Wiki
Progressive Populist, The
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1995-Today)
Website
Wiki
| Al Jazeera | Harpers - see entry on Magazines tab |
| American Conservative | The Nation - see entry on Magazines tab |
| American Spectator | The National Review - see entry on Magazines tab |
| The Atlantic - see entry on Magazines tab | The New Republic - see entry on Magazines tab |
| Economist - see entry on Magazines tab | The New Yorker - see entry on Magazines tab |
| Fiscal Times | Slate |
| Guardian US edition (select alternate edition from drop-down menu at top of the site) | Vox |
| The Hill | The Wall Street Journal - see entry to the right |
| Human Events | The Washington Post - see entry to the right |
| The Weekly Standard |