News, Commentary, & Opinion
Browse this selection of magazines from our collection to read in-depth coverage of current events, and social, economic, and political issues of the day.
This page provides a link to the titles':
- InfoHawk+ catalog record (describing date coverage and location information)
- searchable Libraries' subscription access to its archive (if available)
- publicly available online site
- description from Wikipedia,
- allsides.com entry (if available) which provides information on a publication's bias
Most of these publications can be searched in InfoHawk+ or our online databases.
If you're looking for older print issues, many of these can be found on the upper floors of the Main Library. Check the InfoHawk+ link for details on date coverage and location information.
Magazines
American Prospect
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1996-Today)
Website
Wiki
American Scientist
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1994-Today)
Website
Wiki
Annals of Iowa
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1863-Today)
Wiki
The Annals of Iowa is hosted by The University of Iowa Libraries.
Atlantic, The
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1988-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Better Homes and Gardens
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Billboard
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1988-Today)
Website
Wiki
* oversize - located on News & Reviews stand
Congressional Digest
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1921-Today)
Supreme Court Debates Full Text Online (1998-Today)
Website
Wiki
Current Archaeology
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Economist
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1992-Today)
Full Text Archive (1843-2020)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Esquire
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1996-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Foreign Affairs
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1922-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Foreign Policy
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1990-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Harper's Bazaar
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1999-Today)
Historical Archive Full Text Online (1867-1900)
Website
Wiki
Harper's Magazine
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1992-2007)
Website
Wiki
Interview
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (2002-2018)
Website
Wiki
* oversize - located on News & Reviews stand
Iowan, The
InfoHawk+
Jacobin
InfoHawk+
Website
Wiki
Bias
Ms.
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1972-1974)
Website
Wiki
Mother Jones
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1990-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Nation, The
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1865-Today)
National Geographic
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1995-3 Months Ago)
Website
Wiki
National Review
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1975-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
New Republic
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1955-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
New Statesman
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1988-Today)
Website
Wiki
New York Times Magazine
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1985-Today)
Website
Wiki
New Yorker, The
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1925-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Popular Mechanics
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1996-Today)
Website
Wiki
Popular Science
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1984-Today)
Website
Wiki
Progressive
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1990-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Rolling Stone
InfoHawk+
Full Text Archive (1967-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
* oversize - located on News & Reviews stand
Smithsonian
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1970-Today)
Website
Wiki
Spectator, The
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (2001-Today)
Historical Archive Full Text Online (1828-2000)
Website
Sports Illustrated
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1992-Today)
Historical Archive Full Text Online (1954-2000)
Website
Wiki
Time
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1990-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Vanity Fair
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1992-Today)
Website
Wiki
Bias
Variety
InfoHawk+
Full Text Online (1999-Today)
Historical Archive Full Text Online (1905-2000)
Website
Wiki
* oversize - located on News & Reviews stand
VogueSearch Databases for these titles and beyond
- Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles. Covering virtually every area of academic study, Academic Search Elite offers full text information dating as far back as 1985. This database is updated on a daily basis.
- Alt-Press Watch This link opens in a new windowFull-text database indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. (Main Library Reference Area holds vol. 1- July 1969- to present in the paper edition.)
- America's News Magazines This link opens in a new windowCoverage of U.S. and international news, business, lifestyle, entertainment, sports, and science and technology from 26 familiar magazines.
- Ethnic Newswatch Complete This link opens in a new windowEthnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new windowPrimarily a full text database with some abstracts that contains periodicals, academic journals, newsletters, magazines, regional publications, and government reports focused on gender and women's issues. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) This link opens in a new windowTURN OFF POP-UP BLOCKER; Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 17,000 credible sources of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects. Extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790
