Guides

A-Z E-Resources

Find the best library databases for your research.

Find articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for UILink button in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please visit E-Resources Help: problems, tips, etc.

Restricted Resource - UI Access Only – Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Iowa Mobile Resource – Mobile-enabled resource

Database Trials (Resources Under Evaluation)

Hide descriptions
Show descriptions
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Birds of the World is a powerful resource that brings deep, scholarly content from four celebrated works of ornithology into a single platform where biologists and birders can find comprehensive life history information on birds. Every bird has a story. Discover them all with Birds of the World.
New
ALL FIRST TIME USERS MUST REGISTER; The English Corpora include some of the most widely-used online corpora. This resource allows users to find out how native speakers speak and write; find frequency of words, phrases, and collocates; look at language variation and change; gain insight into culture; and design authentic language teaching materials and resources.
  • Restricted Resource
New
In partnership with Global Eagle, this collection offers hundreds of full-length feature films focusing on both current and hard-to-find titles, including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Trial
Effective immediately and until normal access to physical collections resumes, students, faculty, and staff at the University of Iowa have online access to a large portion of the University Libraries’ print collection—volumes that would have been difficult to access from library facilities that are closed due to COVID-19. To access, visit HathiTrust and click the yellow “LOG IN” button. Select “University of Iowa” and log with your HawkID
New
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access.
Trial
The Internet Archive has made available until June 30, 2020 over a million books normally under copyright. To these books, go to NEL and search for the book title or subject.
Trial
RedShelf has made many of their digital textbooks available at no cost for the rest of the semester, through May 25, for University of Iowa students. Users must create an account before searching for the book title.
New
This award-winning digital library has been created as a response to the need for a high-quality online research tool for drama and literature students, professors, and teachers. It is the only resource to combine exclusively available playtext content and scholarly publications with filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...