Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to content

Guides

News and Newspapers: Home

Accessing the New York Times and the Chronicle of Higher Education

Accessing the New York Times and the Chronicle of Higher Education

The University of Iowa Libraries has purchased a subscription that provides all students, staff, and faculty complimentary, full access to The Chronicle of Higher Education. 

Follow the steps below to register for a complimentary subscription to The Chronicle of Higher Education. 

  1. Click the following link to log-in using the UI Libraries subscription. https://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/chronicle 
  2. If off-campus you will need to enter your hawkid and password to gain initial access to the site. 
  3. If you see the message "Site license access provided by University of Iowa" in the top left corner of The Chronicle site, then you are ready for the next step. If you do not see this message, use the link provided above to re-open The Chronicle. 
  4. Click on the 'Sign In' option at the top right corner of the page. 
  5. Choose the 'Sign Up' tab. 
  6. Enter your first and last name. It is essential that you enter your UI email address in this step. Your password can (and should, for the sake of security) be unique to this site. Click 'Sign Up'. 
  7. You'll receive an email asking you to confirm your account. 
  8. From now on you should be able to use this log-in combination -- your UI email and unique password -- to access Chronicle content without using the proxy url log-in process each time. 

Current Subscriptions received in Media Services

Local newspapers

  • Iowa City Press-Citizen
  • The Des Moines Register
  • Cedar Rapids Gazette

 National/International newspapers

  • Chicago Tribune
  • The Christian Science Monitor
  • The Chronicle of Higher Education
  • The Guardian Weekly
  • Le Monde
  • The New York Times
  • The Times (London)
  • USA Today
  • The Wall Street Journal
  • The Washington Post

Selected Resource

The Chronicle of Higher Education

One of the many newspapers with a national focus that we have access to through the University of Iowa is The Chronicle of Higher Education. This bi-weekly newspaper specializes in information related to college and university news.

To access this newspaper, you can search through it by using one of our databases that has access to it, including Academic Search Elite, Business Insights: Essentials and Gale Academic OneFile. These databases have coverage starting from 1999 to the present. There is a 30 day delay before new articles from The Chronicle of Higher Education are placed in these databases. If you would like to read these newer articles, you can search through the newspaper publisher's website at this address: The Chronicle of Higher Education.

Newspapers

Newspaper articles are great research tools. They can keep you up to date on current affairs. They can also serve as primary sources and enable you to put events into historical context.  The University of Iowa Libraries have numerous resources that will allow you to locate news materials on a local, national and international scale. You can find information on politics, business and finance, sports, pop culture, etc. Regardless of your topic - the Obama administration, the Iowa flood of 2008, movie reviews for Star Wars from 1977, the Spanish American War or Y2K - newspapers are valuable resources.

 

ROBERT D. McFADDEN.  "A Glittering Party For Times Square :Gleeful Embrace of a New Year Links the Globe's Midnights FROM BALI TO BROADWAY A Glittering Party for Times Square as Midnight Ticks Across Globe." New York Times (1857-Current  file), January  1, 2000,http://www.proquest.com/ (accessed June 16, 2009).

Accessing Newspapers Using a Database Interface

What is a database interface?

Something that you might immediately notice when searching for a newspaper or newspaper article through the University of Iowa libraries is that the page you're looking at will be different than on a typical newspaper website.

Rather than seeing this:

Washington Post Website Interface

You will see something like this:

Washington Post Factiva Interface

In most cases, the actual articles that you will be able to access through the databases will be the same as the article you'd access through a newspaper website. The big difference is just the way that they are presented. Each database you're using might hold many, many different newspapers in addition to other resources, while the newspaper websites will be designed uniquely. Some users might find that the database view is less visually appealing or harder to casually browse through. There are, however, a number of advantages. One is that you will not hit a paywall after reading too many articles when searching through our databases. Another is that you have a greater degree of control when searching for a specific article or topic in a newspaper. In addition to this control, you might find that once you've gotten used to the interface of one of the databases, it is easy to search through this database for many different newspapers. Finally, the databases are often much easier to use to find archived materials than on newspaper websites.

 

One notable exception to accessing newspapers through University of Iowa databases is the New York Times. You can directly access this newspaper through the New York Times website by getting registered through the subscription payed for by the University of Iowa. To learn more about this you can click on the New York Times tab up at the top. You can also access New York Times articles through databases that you might use for other newspapers.

 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Janalyn Moss
Contact:
The University of Iowa Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
319/335-5698