Guides

Database Profiles:ProQuest

Need Help?

Do you need some help with library research? Drop by or make an appointment The SEAM by clicking on the logo!  Located on the 2nd floor of the Main Library, Room 2013, we're open Sunday - Thursday, 5-9 p.m. We specialize in Rhetoric and ESL Writing class assignments.

Research help is also available on the 1st floor of the Main Library near the Service Desk, M-F, 9 a.m - 5 p.m.

About

Use ProQuest for:

  • Sources in Interdisciplinary subjects

  • wide range of sources on a wide range of topics

  • Scholarly articles, dissertations and theses, eBooks, and historical newspapers

proquest logo

ProQuest is a collection of cross-searchable databases (meaning, you can search more than one at once) that include theses and dissertations, eBooks, scholarly journals, government documents, historical and cultural archives, and newspaper archives. ProQuest is a great general database - it searches across many other databases and many subject areas.

ProQuest - Video Tutorials

Check this tutorial out for tips on how to use ProQuest's Advanced Search:

Search Tips & Tricks

By default, when you search ProQuest, you will get eBook results in addition to all of your other results in a separate tab at the top of the results list. If you are looking for eBooks, click on the "Ebook Central results" tab.


You might get a lot of book reviews included in your results. If that annoys you, you can get rid of them! Click on "More options..." under the "Document Type" tab along the left side of your results list (you will probably have to expand the Document Type tab first).

more options

This will open up a window that will allow you to exclude reviews from your search results: just check the "Exclude" box and hit "Apply" in the bottom right corner of the pop-up window to update your list!

exclude


Adjust the databases that ProQuest will search for you. Either add or remove databases to broaden or narrow your results. Click "Databases" near the top of the search results screen to open up a list of the databases ProQuest searched through with your search terms.

databases

Select or de-select the databases you want to include or exclude from your search, and click "Use selected databases" back at the top of the list. You will have to rerun your search if you decide to update or change your databases from the search results list.