Guides

Database Profiles:ERIC

About

Use ERIC to find:

  • Scholarly journals, articles, and conference papers about education

eric logo

ERIC or  Educational Research Information Center is your go-to for education literature and research, consisting of over 1.4 million records - both bibliographic information (AKA citations) and full-text.

Try me out!

ERIC is available through three (3) different platforms: EBSCOhost, ProQuest, and the Department of Education. Each has their advantages and disadvantages, and each will pull up different (although similar) results.

View the search tips on the right to understand how to use each of the platforms.

ERIC Video Tutorial

Search Tips

​​ ProQuest and the Dept. of Education allow you to filter your search results by education level (higher education, elementary, secondary) and target audience. EBSCOhost lumps education level under "Subject" instead, and does not have an audience filter.

 The Dept. of Education has other education-specific filters such as "Laws, Policies, and Programs," and "Assessments and Surveys." These filters allow you to limit your results to those that deal with your topic and specific laws (such as No Child Left Behind) or assessment strategies or tools (such as California Critical Thinking Disposition Inventory). 

 EBSCOhost and the Dept. of Education allow you to filter by full-text directly from the results page; in ProQuest, the full-text filter is an advanced search option.***

 ProQuest and EBSCOhost have UI Link built directly into your search results. In the Dept. of Education interface, it is called Direct Link (and it is sometimes even fussier than UI Link).

 ProQuest and EBSCOhost contain many other databases beyond ERIC, and so their search interfaces might be more familiar to you, and easier to use. You can easily add those other databases to your search to broaden your results. The Dept. of Education site is only ERIC.

***If you find an article that looks great but isn't full text, don't give up! Use UI Link or Inter-Library Loan to access the article. That's why limiting your search to full-text only can often be detrimental to your search!

Tree icon by kitzsingmaniiz for the Noun Project