Guides

Database Profiles:Academic Search Elite

Need Help?

Do you need some help with library research? Drop by or make an appointment The SEAM by clicking on the logo!  Located on the 2nd floor of the Main Library, Room 2013, we're open Sunday - Thursday, 5-9 p.m. We specialize in Rhetoric and ESL Writing class assignments.

Research help is also available on the 1st floor of the Main Library near the Service Desk, M-F, 9 a.m - 5 p.m.

About

Academic Search Elite logo

Click on the image to get to the search home page of Academic Search Elite for basic, boolean, and advanced searching. If you're familiar with other EBSCOhost databases, you will recognize this search page!

Academic Search Elite 

Covering All Major Academic Disciplines

Designed to meet every academic researcher's needs, Academic Search Elite provides access to acclaimed full-text scholarly journals and magazines.

 

Search Tips & Tricks:

Search History is your friend! Once you run a few searches, you can use your search history to re-run previous searches, edit past searches, and combine past searches into a new search. Make sure your search history is visible by clicking the "Search History" triangle directly below the search boxes.

search history

Using some of the same search terms again in a new search? Don't type them all back out! Type the Search ID# from the Search History into the search box instead to save some time.


Refine your search results by selecting other EBSCOhost databases to search. The University of Iowa subscribes to many EBSCOhost databases. Click on "Choose Databases" directly above the search boxes to see the list of available databases.

The list that will pop up is long (the snapshot below is only a fraction of the available databases). Check the box next to the databases you want, and then hit "OK." If you want more information about what a certain database contains, hover your mouse over the small square speech bubble that sits at the end of each database title.

database list