Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases available from UI Libraries
Kikuzo II Visual
A newspaper database for Asahi shinbun published from 1879 to present. Also includes articles from the weekly magazines Aera as well as Shūkan Asahi, from the annual new-word dictionary Chiezō, Asahi shinbun jinbutsu dētabēsu, and Aashi shinbun rekishi shashin ākaibu.
Yomidasu Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館
Includes Yomiuri shinbun 1874 to the present: image format from 1874 to 1989; full text 1986 to the present, along with the English edition: the Japan News (Sept. 1989- to the present), both searchable by article, keyword, subject category, and issue. Charts and photographs are not included. Also includes biographical information on 26,000 people.
Japan Times Archives
The Japan Times Archives includes every issue of the newspaper published between 1897 and 2019 — “an English-language version of the first draft of Japan’s modern history.”Recent issues are accessible at http://www.japantimes.co.jp/.Default keyword search performs a partial-match search. To perform an exact-match search, use double quotation marks for phrase search and add a space before and after your search term(s). Eg 1) To conduct an exact match search for Obama, use “△Obama△“ (△ means a 1-byte-space). Eg 2) To find Abe Ken, use “△Abe△Ken△”.
毎日新聞: April 2006-
産経新聞: January 1997-
FujiSankei Business I.: January 2001-
The Daily Yomiuri: Feburyary 2002-
Nikkei: May 2002-
LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni)
LexisNexis Academic includes:
The Japan Times: From January 01, 1998 through current
The Nikkei Weekly: From June 03, 1980 through current
+ more. Use Sources directory in Search the News box to learn more about specific newspaper titles.
Online Newspaper Websites and Collections
- 神戸大学新聞文庫 Newspaper Article in digital version http://www.lib.kobe-u.ac.jp/sinbun/
Newspaper article database from the end of Meiji to prewar days. Main focus is on commercial economy. Newspaper articles on related topics such as foreign relations and law are included in the database. Clippings are available in HTML format and as image file.
- 戦前日本在住朝鮮人関係新聞記事検索 水野直樹教授（京都大学人文科学研究所）http://www.zinbun.kyoto-u.ac.jp/~mizna/shinbun/
Indexes newspaper articles related Korean people and organizations in Japan. Newspapers covered include ones published both in Japan and Korea. As of June 2008, more than 32,000 articles are indexed.
- ことばに関する新聞記事見出しデータベース 国立国語研究所 http://www.kokken.go.jp/siryokan/honkan/sinbundb/
Headline Database of Newspaper Articles relating to Japanese language and the use of language in our society. A wide range of articles on Japanese writing, phonetics, vocabulary, grammar, dialects, linguistic life and the Japanese language in general are included. From 1949 to April 1989, local and special papers were included as well as national papers. After 1989, articles from Asahi, Mainichi, and Yomiuri are indexed.
- 『大阪毎日新聞』記事索引データベース http://shaunkyo.jp/shinbunkijisakuin.html
Downloadable index to articles on social and labor related topics in Osaka and Amagasaki area between 1887-1945.
Now 伯剌西爾時報 is available (1917-1952.