Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to content

* Japanese Studies Collection: Home

The guide provides resources to assist your research on Japanese Studies

About this Subject Guide

This Subject Guide has been developed to support your research on Japanese Studies at the University of Iowa Libraries. Sources with Lock Image Lock Image means that those resources are available to only UI affiliated users and you need to login to InfoHawk+ with your valid HawkID and password to use them. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact UI library staff. We are here to assist you!

Popular resources

JapanKnowledge Lock Image

  • JapanKnowledge is a reference/e-book database that covers a wide variety of content and has been one of the most useful databases for Japanese Studies. You can find a video recording of a JapanKnowledge workshop here.

Kenkyusha Online Dictionary Lock Image

  • KOD (Kenkyusha Online Dictionary) offers online access to over a dozen of English-Japanese and Japanese-English dictionaries.

Academic Search Elite Lock Image

  • This multi-disciplinary database covers virtually every area of academic study with full text information.

Streaming Video through UI Libraries 

  • Links to licensed online videos

Manga for Japanese Language Learners

  • Links to open access manga

 

News

Fall 2022

The UI Tadoku club is starting its Fall 2022 sessions on Wednesday, September 21, 2022. This semester, we are having Tadoku sessions every other Monday and Wednesday from 3:45 pm to 4:45 pm, at the East Asian Reading Room of the Main Library.

Here are the scheduled session dates for the Fall semester:

  • 9/21 (Wed.)
  • 9/26 (Mon.)
  • 10/5 (Wed.)
  • 10/10 (Mon.)
  • 10/19 (Wed.)
  • 10/24 (Mon.)
  • 11/2 (Wed.)
  • 11/7 (Mon.)
  • 11/16 (Wed.)
  • 11/28 (Mon.)
  • 12/7 (Wed.)

For more info, contact Onishi sensei via email at nana-onishi@uiowa.edu

 

Summer 2022

Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search (朝日新聞クロスサーチ) is now available at the UI Libraries!

Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search is the largest newspaper article database in Japan, permitting searches of 16 million articles and advertisements from its first edition in 1879 (Meiji 12) to today. Articles since 1985 are available for full-text searching, and can be read with the full-text displayed. The database also contains articles from the magazines AERA and Shukan Asahi. English-language News Database, Asahi Graph, Who's Who database, Image Database of Regional pages, Overseas Editions and Contemporary Words Chiezo are also available.

 

March 2022

Updates on ヨミダス歴史館 Yomidasu rekishikan

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1tCt7YCC3T9R4pwq0_dwgXLUE9OtcC7Fe/view?usp=sharing

 

Spring 2022

This Spring semester, the UI Japanese Program and the UI Libraries are presenting Tadoku Club, which offers opportunities for anyone to enjoy reading Japanese books at a comfortable setting.

Tadoku (多読) means reading a lot of books for enjoyment. We have a variety of Japanese books suitable for all levels of learners, including graded readers, picture books, and manga!

The UI Tadoku Club is is open to the public. Anyone interested in reading Japanese books can join us.

 

NDL logo

Fall 2021

Now you can access to digitized versions of out-of-print materials in the National Diet Library, Japan (NDL) from the UI Main Library.

The Digitized Contents Transmission Service for Libraries is provided by the NDL as a means of making digitized versions of otherwise difficult-to-obtain materials available to university libraries that subscribe to the Service. In North America, currently this service is available only at the University of Iowa Library and the C.V. Starr East Asian Library, University of California, Berkeley.

For more details of the service, click here.

Locating Japanese collection items

The general materials of Japanese Collection are located in the UI Main Library. Japanese language items are integrated in the East Asian Collection on the 2nd floor, while English & other western language materials are shelved on Main Library Stacks on 2nd, 4th, and 5th floors according to their call numbers. 

Main Library Floorplan

Library Hours

Subject guide

Profile Photo
Tsuyoshi Harada
Contact:
100 Main Library
tsuyoshi-harada@uiowa.edu