Key Resources
- UN's Dag Hammarskjöld Library Research GuidesAuthoritative description of the United Nations system
- United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window Contains full-text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the United Nations Treaty Series Cumulative Index, and the League of Nations Treaty Series, the current status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties.
- United Nations Yearbook Collection This link opens in a new window
Background Information about the United Nations
The following titles may be useful for understanding the work and influence of the United Nations during certain times in history. Many of the titles have not been published in several years and may not be useful to those seeking a current perspective of the United Nations.
- Basic Facts about the United Nations. New York: UN Dept. of Public Information, 1947–
JZ4970 .U5 (Latest in Main Reference)
General introduction to the role and function of the UN and its related agencies. - Directory of United Nations Documentary and Archival Sources. Peter Hajnal. Hanover, N.H.: Academic Council on the United Nations System / Millwood, NY: Kraus International / New York: United Nations. 1991.
JX1977.8 .D6 H34 1991
Good introduction to the documentation system of the United Nations and basic bibliographic tools. Extensive annotated bibliography of major publications within the United Nations system of organizations. - Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements. Edmund Jan Osmanczyk. 3rd ed. New York: Facts on File, 2003.
KZ4968 .M66 2003 (Latest in Main Reference)
Extremely useful encyclopedia of International Governmental Organization (IGO)-related information, including definitions of key terms, biographies, and the descriptions and selected texts of major international treaties, conventions and agreements. - Stanley Foundation Reports . On-line reports from the Stanley Foundation examine issues facing the United Nations.
- United Nations Handbook. Wellington, New Zealand: Ministry of External Relations and Trade. 1976–
JZ4970 .U6 (Latest Main Reference)
Annual list of UN organs, agencies, Specialized Agencies, regional development banks. Descriptions include functions, structure, current membership and activities.
