United Nations Research Guide: Home
About this guide
Guide content supports the teaching and research goals of multiple departments on campus. Content represents a non-exhaustive selection of essential resources and tools for engaging a wide range of backgrounds and viewpoints.
Key Resources
-
UN's Dag Hammarskjöld Library Research GuidesAuthoritative description of the United Nations system
-
United Nations Treaty Collection This link opens in a new window Contains full-text of the United Nations Treaty Series, the United Nations Treaty Series Cumulative Index, and the League of Nations Treaty Series, the current status of the Multilateral Treaties deposited with the Secretary-General, and texts of recently deposited multilateral treaties.
-
United Nations Yearbook Collection This link opens in a new window
League of Nations
-
League of Nations Archive Records" a massive five-year project to digitize the entire League of Nations Archives, estimated to contain some 15 million pages of content. This project, called the Total Digital Access to the League of Nations Archives Project (LONTAD), will allow for the comprehensive study of this rich and unique collection and will help illuminate the diplomacy of the interwar period."
UN Research
The UN's Dag Hammarskjöld Library Research Guides are an excellent source of research material, and include topical guides that focus on such issues as climate change, gender, and human rights.
The United Nations collection at the University of Iowa Libraries
The University of Iowa Libraries has been a depository library for official documents of the United Nations since 1968. Most United Nations documents available at the University of Iowa are located in the Main Library or the Libraries' Annex. Many of the print titles can be located through InfoHawk+ and requested for pick-up at one of the campus libraries.
This guide is designed to assist researchers and students in gaining access to United Nations materials at the UI Libraries and via the internet. It includes information emanating from principal UN organs—General Assembly or Economic and Social Council, Secretariat, and Trusteeship Council. Some publications of the sixth principal organ—the International Court of Justice or World Court—are collected by the UI Law Library.
The United Nations documents collection consists of a large print collection of documents arranged by UN Document Number (5th Floor, Main Library), Official Records of the major organs (2nd floor Main library), a microfiche collection (1994–2019 ), and various catalogued publications and documents in the Main Library collection. Researchers may also wish to consult the University of Iowa Law Library's Carver United Nations Documents Collection on microfiche.
Please do not hesitate to contact Brett Cloyd with questions about the collection or the United Nations.
