Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Skip to content


United Nations Research Guide: Regional Commissions

Key Resources

United Nations Regional Commission Documents

The Economic and Social Commission oversees five regional commissions headquartered throughout the world.  These commissions include:

  • ECE – Economic Commission for Europe. Geneva. (Europe, North America)
  • ECLAC – Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean. Santiago, Chile.
  • ECA – Economic Commission for Africa. Addis Ababa.
  • ESCAP – Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific. Bangkok.
  • ESCWA – Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia. Amman.

Each of the Commissions maintains separate publishing operations out of their headquarters. Their web sites can be informative and include  valuable information and publications about their respective economic regions and member countries. Regional Commissions provide selected sales and masthead documents to all depositories. However, full documentation is provided only to depositories located within the area covered by the appropriate Commission. The Regional Commission documents are selectively indexed in the major UN indexes. However, several Commissions publish separate indexes to their own publications

  1. Cepalindex. Santiago, Chile: ECLAC, 1980–1987.
    Z7165 .L3 C6 (incomplete holdings)
  2. ESCAP Meeting Documents. Santiago, Bangkok: ESCAP, 1979–1998
    (continues ESCAP Documents and Publications.)
  3. Devindex Africa. Nairobi: ECA, 1980–1990
    HC800 .U5 (Main Ref)
  4. List of ECA Documents Issued from... Addis Ababa: ECA, April 1964–
    E/ECA/DOC/ (1990– )

Contact Me

Profile Photo
Brett Cloyd
Main Library