Nursing Resources: Mental Health
Resources for anyone affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Nursing or University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
About E-Resources
All of the resources listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with a Hawk ID and password.
There are more electronic and print books which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Jennifer DeBerg
Mental Health E-Journals
Select journals appear below. Search the library catalog or journal list for additional titles.
- Archives of Psychiatric NursingE access from 1990
- International Journal of Mental Health NursingE access from 1999
- Issues in Mental Health NursingE access from 1997
- Journal of Child and Adolescent Psychiatric NursingE access from 1994
- Journal of Psychiatric and Mental Health NursingE access from 1994
- Journal of the American Psychiatric Nurses AssociationE access from 1995
Find More Mental Health E-Books
Visit the Psychiatry and Psychology Subject Guides for additional E-books and resources on this topic.
Mental Health E-Books
Advanced Practice in Mental Health Nursing: A European Perspective by
This textbook explores issues central to the provision of recovery-orientated care based on ethical principles and human rights perspectives. Written by academics and nurse practitioners, this comprehensive text draws together theory, research and practice to map the landscape of Advanced Practice in Mental Health Nursing (APMHN) in Europe. Underpinned by a rights- and relational- based approach to care, the textbook is organized around six themes: theoretical and historical perspectives; foundations for collaborative working; therapeutic engagement in different contexts; beyond the clinical dimension of the APMHN role; advancing the evidence-based practice agenda and emerging issues and challenges. Each theme consists of a number of chapters that are designed to address different aspects of APMHN.
ISBN: 3031055365Publication Date: 2022
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by
The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers. DSM-5-TR includes the fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, Prolonged Grief Disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Stay current with these important updates in DSM-5-TR: * Fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more.* Addition of Prolonged Grief Disorder (PGD) to Section II--a new disorder for diagnosis* Over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5* Fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology* Considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text* New codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis* Fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders* Updated and redesigned Diagnostic Classification This manual is a valuable resource for other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists. The new DSM-5-TR is the most definitive resource for the diagnosis and classification of mental disorders.
ISBN: 9780890425756Publication Date: 2022, 5th ed.
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care: Behavioral Health in the Medical Setting by
An innovative psychiatry textbook that presents behavioral disorders from the perspective of what is seen in medical settings The goal of Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care is not to make psychiatrists out of medical clinicians, but rather, to help clinicians manage common behavioral conditions that most often present in a medical setting. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care seeks to integrate medicine and psychiatry --- as the authors' systems-based biopsychosocial model proposes. The book identifies physical symptoms as a common mode of presentation of mental health problems and describes how to integrate them with psychological symptoms to make diagnoses of mental disorders. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care also details a behaviorally defined, evidence-based mental healthcare model that can be effectively used in a medical setting. The combined experiences in primary care of the authors --- who specialize in both general internal medicine and psychiatry --- provide the perfect background for a book of this nature. Having trained medical students, as well as internal and family medicine residents since 1986, their experience and research demonstrates the information they outline is effective and associated with improved mental and physical health outcomes.
ISBN: 9781260116779Publication Date: 2019
Formulation in Mental Health Nursing by
This book offers a comprehensive overview of formulation applied within the mental health nursing context. It presents a contemporary outlook on the role of the mental health nurse, exploring and reflecting on the foundational values-based and person-centred principles of mental health nurse education and practice. Through this timely and accessible textbook, the authors demonstrate how a variety of theories can be used to enhance formulation in practice, ensuring mental health assessment and intervention are meaningfully connected to support patient recovery. Including service user experiences and viewpoints throughout, each chapter also benefits from tailored discussion points to enable learners to develop critical thinking around formulation. An invaluable guide to the field, it provides a clear, up to date and thought-provoking overview of formulation, essential for students and practitioners in clinical psychology or psychotherapy, as well as clinicians working in all areas of mental health and social care, psychology, therapy, and counselling.
ISBN: 9783031599552Publication Date: 2024
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry by
This eighth edition, revised, updated, and substantially expanded, was put together by a stalwart group of general hospital psychiatrists and psychologists. Our collective efforts culminated in this 54-chapter book; although it was written by more than 100 authors (most from the Massachusetts General Hospital [MGH] Department of Psychiatry) it reads as though it has one “voice.” New chapters (i.e., on COVID-19 Infection; Pulmonary Disease; Resilience, Wellness, and Coping With Burnout; Community Psychiatry; Global Psychiatry and Mental Healthcare Delivery; Care of LGBTQIA+ Patients; and Interdisciplinary Collaborations Across Healthcare Settings) have been added. This volume was designed to help practitioners care for their patients on medical and surgical floors and in outpatient practices filled with patients with co-morbid medical and psychiatric illness. As a result, our chapters were intended to be practical and were crafted for readability. Clinical vignettes have been placed throughout the book to act as a nidus around which clinical pearls would grow.
ISBN: 9780443119323Publication Date: 2025, 8th ed.
Nursing Mental Health & Community Concepts by
This textbook is an open educational resource with CC-BY licensing developed specifically for prelicensure nursing students. The e-book and downloadable versions are free. Affordable print versions are published in collaboration with XanEdu and available on Amazon and in college bookstores. Content is based on the Wisconsin Technical College System (WTCS) statewide nursing curriculum for the Nursing Mental Health and Community Concepts course (543-110), the NCLEX-RN Test Plan, 1 and the American Psychiatric Nurses Association Education Council’s Crosswalk Toolkit: Defining and Using Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing Skills in Undergraduate Nursing Education. 2 Mental health and community health concepts are discussed while emphasizing stress management techniques, healthy coping strategies, referrals to community resources, and other preventative interventions. Nursing care for individuals with specific mental health and substance use disorders is examined, and the nurse’s role in community health needs assessments and caring for vulnerable populations is introduced. The e-book is free and can be viewed online or downloaded as a PDF or other formats for offline use. Affordable print versions are also published in collaboration with XanEdu and are available on Amazon and in college bookstores.
ISBN: 9781734914160Publication Date: 2022
Pocket Guide to Townsend's Psychiatric Nursing by
2 BOOKS IN 1! Practical diagnoses to create a care plan Up-to-date coverage of the latest psychotropic medications This quick reference pocket guide is two books in one! The first half provides the diagnostic information needed to create a care plan; the second half covers the safe prescription and administration of psychotropic medications. It's the most complete and easy-to-use resource on how to develop practical, individualized plans of care for psychiatric-mental health patients...perfect for clinical rotations now and for practicing nurses later. Concepts can be applied in a variety of healthcare settings...from in-patient hospitalization through the outpatient clinic...to home health and private practice. The perfect addition!"I used this daily during my psych rotation and it'll remain on my shelf for future reference. Great must have!"--Sarah, Online Reviewer Nursing Student Psych Nurse must-have."Super useful for nursing diagnoses and concept maps that were required. Has "evidenced by", "goals", "interventions" and "outcomes" -- plus describes all the different conditions! I want one for all my rotations!"--Elle, Online Reviewer Updated! Psychiatric disorders reflect the taxonomy and diagnostic criteria of the DSM-5-TR and Nursing diagnoses current with the NANDA-I 2021-2023 Nursing Diagnoses Definitions and Classifications Expanded & Updated! Section on psychotropic medications includes the addition of medications available since the last edition and the deletion of those discontinued. Clinical Pearl boxes highlight must-know information and interventions for diagnoses. Index of Client Behaviors with page numbers listed on inside covers. Organized by DSM-V-TR and NANDA diagnoses. Helpful rating scales in the appendices--Hamilton Depression Rating Scale, Abnormal Involuntary Movement Scale, and Hamilton Anxiety Rating Scale Nursing diagnoses and interventions include the definition, possible etiologies ("Related to ..."), defining characteristics ("Evidenced by ..."), objectives broken down to show long- and short-term goals, interventions with selected rationales, and desired patient outcomes/discharge criteria. Each psychiatric disorder lists background assessment data, predisposing factors, symptomatology, and nursing diagnoses and nursing interventions commonly associated with the disorder. Unit on psychotropic drug classifications covers anti-anxiety agents, antidepressants, mood stabilizing agents, antipsychotics, antiparkinsonian and tardive dyskinesia drugs, sedative hypnotics, and agents used to treat attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder. Indications, route, and dosage listed for individual drugs as well as for classifications. Communication interventions in the care plans reinforce the emphasis on therapeutic communication,
ISBN: 9781719648509Publication Date: 2023, 12th ed.
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing by
The American Nurses Association, American Psychiatric Nurses Association and the International Society of Psychiatric Mental Health Nurses worked together with nurses from across the nursing profession to develop Psychiatric-Mental Health: Scope and Standards of Practice, 3rd Edition. It is the definitive and up-to-date delineation of psychiatric-mental health nursing, articulating the competent level of nursing practice and professional performance of all PMH registered nurses, whatever their practice level or setting. The publication's scope of practice addresses what is expected of all psychiatric-mental health nurses, specifying the who, what, where, when, why, and how of their practice. The detailed discussion of that scope of practice provides the context needed to understand and use the standards, presenting the underlying assumptions, characteristics, environments and settings, education and training requirements, key issues and trends, and ethical and conceptual bases of the specialty.
ISBN: 9781947800977Publication Date: 2022, 3rd ed.
The Psychiatric Interview by
Using a unique and effective combination of mnemonics, practical techniques, and phrasing examples that illustrate the nuances of the interviewing process, The Psychiatric Interview, 4th Edition helps you establish a rapport with patients and gain valuable clinical insights. Now updated to incorporate the DSM-5 and current research, this popular manual teaches you how to improve your interviewing skills, breaking down this complex area into concise information you can put to use immediately in your practice. Key Features: Offers a practical, concise approach to the psychiatric interview, filled with tips and pearls to develop confidence in interviewing. Uses mnemonics and pocket cards to help you understand and remember key elements of the effective interview. Brings you up to speed with the DSM-5 and current research, including changes in diagnosing dementia, substance abuse, eating disorders, ADHD, and more. Provides clear techniques for approaching threatening topics, and shows how relationships that are endangered can be repaired. Presents information in an engaging, conversational manner, helping you form an alliance with each patient in order to promote cooperation and effective treatment. Ideal for psychiatrists, psychiatric residents, nurse practitioners, or other mental health professionals. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
ISBN: 9781975212988Publication Date: 2024, 5th ed.
Psychiatry Online Collection - DSM 5PsychiatryOnline is a collection of resources. It features DSM-5 and includes variety of other E-books, journals, and tools.
Test Prep
Psychiatric-Mental Health Nurse Practitioner Program Companion & Boards Exam Review Workbook by
Every year, nearly 5,000 US psychiatric-mental health nurse practitioners (PMHNP) sit for the ANCC board exam. Upon passing, PMHNPs become board-certified and eligible for licensure in their respective states, as well as eligible to apply for a DEA license to write prescriptions. However, the extensive content covered on the board exam often exceeds what is taught in Master's of Science in Nursing programs tailored for PMHNPs. Suitable for both PMHNP students and advanced nurses preparing for board certification, this PMHNP Program Companion and Review Workbook serve as a comprehensive guide from Day 1 of the PMHNP program through exam preparation. The book is structured logically, progressing from fundamental nursing topics (e.g., lab values, ethics, public health) to psychiatric-mental health specific content (e.g., assessment and diagnosis, major psychiatric disorders, psychopharmacology, therapeutic modalities). Additionally, it covers essential advanced practice nursing areas like leadership, quality improvement, and biostatistics. What sets this workbook apart is its interactive approach to learning. Through charts, tables, fill-in-the-blanks, matching exercises, and mnemonics, learners actively engage with the material. Answers and explanations are provided for all practice activities, ensuring comprehension and retention. Moreover, the accompanying Springer Nature Flashcard app offers almost 2,000 practice test questions, allowing learners to access study material conveniently on-the-go via their phone, tablet, or computer. It's an engaging and effective method to reinforce learning. The PMHNP Program Companion and Review Workbook is an invaluable resource for anyone pursuing excellence in psychiatric-mental health nursing practice. Test your knowledge with questions and answers about the book in the Springer Nature Flashcards app.
ISBN: 9783031608933Publication Date: 2024
Psychiatric Nursing Certification Review Guide by
Developed especially for practicing nurses preparing for the certification examination offered by the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), the Psychiatric Nursing Certification Review Guide for the Generalist and Advanced Practice Psychiatric and Mental Health Nurse provides a succinct, yet comprehensive review of the core material. This book has been organized to give the reviewer test taking strategies and techniques and sample test questions, which are intended to serve as an introduction to the testing arena. In addition, a bibliography is included for those who need a more in depth discussion of the subject matter in each chapter. The Third Edition has been completely revised and updated to reflect current guidelines and information from the latest version of the DSM IV-TR. The medications and use of medications has also been updated to reflect proper usage and doses.
ISBN: 9781449610937Publication Date: 2011, 3rd ed.
