Nursing Resources: Primary Care
Resources for anyone affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Nursing or University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
About E-Resources
All of the resources listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with a Hawk ID and password.
There are more electronic and print books which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Jennifer DeBerg
Primary Care E-Journals
Select journals appear below. Search the library catalog or journal list for additional titles.
- Journal of Family NursingE access from 1995
- Journal of Pediatric Health CareE access from 1987
- Journal of the American Academy of Nurse PractitionersE access from 1989
- Maternal and Child Health JournalE access from 1997
- Nursing for Women's HealthE access from 1997
- Pediatric NursingE access from 1999
Find More Primary Care E-Books
Visit the Family Medicine Subject Guide for additional E-books on this topic.
Primary Care E-Books
Leadership and Governance in Primary Healthcare by
Key Features: * Improves the management of primary health facilities. * Helps the health facility managers and teams at primary healthcare level to effectively and efficiently lead and manage the facilities. * Enumerates practical scenarios on health issues that commonly occur in health facilities and provides alternative ways of addressing the issues raised in the scenarios.
ISBN: 9781032387994Publication Date: 2023
Pediatric Diagnostic Labs for Primary Care: An Evidence-Based Approach by
This textbook helps nurses, physician assistants, medical students and residents to order appropriate tests and understand how to interpret them to improve their diagnostic reasoning. Children are not like adults, and interpreting of the results of their diagnostic laboratory tests requires knowledge of the biochemical and metabolic differences. Using a combination of information, questions and case studies, the book allows readers to gain an understanding of the key concepts of sensitivity, specificity, and positive and negative predictive values, as well as the indications for diagnostic lab tests. This textbook presents the state of art in testing across body systems and guidance on how to order and interpret diagnostic laboratory tests in pediatric patients. Each chapter includes learning objectives, tables and figures, as well as questions and references for further learning. This textbook provides an update for clinicians and is a valuable learning tool for students and new clinicians. .
ISBN: 9783030906412Publication Date: 2022
Primary Care Medicine by
Primary health care is a building block of a community's public health services. Its main purpose is to prevent health problems in individuals and the public at large. It also plays a key role in environmental health. As such, primary health care is essential for all healthcare systems worldwide. This book provides a comprehensive overview of primary health care.
ISBN: 9780854660629Publication Date: 2024
Primary Care Revisited by
This book adopts an interdisciplinary approach with a wide scope of perspectives on primary healthcare, describing related principles, care models, practices and social contexts. It combines aspects of development, research and education applied in primary health care, providing practitioners and scholars with a comprehensive overview of the current knowledge and delivery models of healthcare in community settings. It covers the practical, philosophical and scholarly issues pertinent to the delivery, financing, planning, ethics, health politics, professional and technological development, resources, and monitoring in primary health care. Contributors are from a diverse range of academic and professional backgrounds, bringing together collective expertise in mainstream medicine, nursing, allied health, Chinese medicine, health economics, administration, law, public policy, housing management, information technology and mass communications. As such, the book does not follow the common clinical practice or service-based approach found in most texts on primary care.The contents will serve as a useful reference work for policymakers, researchers, community health practitioners, health executives and higher education students.
ISBN: 9789811525209Publication Date: 2020
Treating Obesity in Primary Care by
The latest information from the CDC demonstrates that 70% of Americans can be classified as having pre-obesity or obesity. This chronic disease is considered the cause of many other chronic diseases such as hypertension, dyslipidemia, diabetes, and nonalcoholic fatty liver disease, to name but a few of the 236 obesity associated disorders. Additionally, obesity is considered to be the cause of fourteen different types of cancers. Based on the number of people affected and the consequences of the disease, it is imperative that it is studied and treated by primary care providers. Few training programs for physicians, NPs or PAs are covering the basics of treating obesity. These fundamentals include pathophysiology, assessment of the disease, and the foundational components of treatment with eating plans, physical activity and behavioral interventions, then the supporting components of anti-obesity medications, devices and surgery. As a result, few of those currently in primary care practice have received any education in the evidence-based treatment of obesity. This book provides the reader with the education to understand the disease, the patient's experience, and full evidence-based treatment. It also provides the opportunity to understand how to incorporate the treatment into primary care. Written by a leading expert in the field, Treating Obesity in Primary Care offers all clinicians providing primary care services the information needed to effectively treat the chronic disease of obesity.
ISBN: 9783030486822Publication Date: 2020
Disease Specific Primary Care E-Books
Casebook of Dementia by
Dementia is hugely underdiagnosed and under-managed partly due to stretched specialist services. Written by a team involved in a pioneering community-based primary care service, this practical book brings together 99 case studies from the frontline in providing early intervention for people seeking help for suspected dementia. Both typical and atypical cases of Alzheimer's disease and other dementias are examined, familiarising readers with possible patient scenarios and the recommended management strategies. Useful tools such as example forms for history taking and the use of a modified General Practitioner Assessment of Cognition (GPCOG) equip multidisciplinary teams with the knowledge needed for early identification of dementia. The final chapter sets out key considerations in primary care such as carer support, sharing diagnoses, and forming a dementia-friendly community. The emphasis on collaborative care between the medical and social care provides guidance for post-diagnostic support. This title is available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.
ISBN: 9781108984492Publication Date: 2024
Managing Heart Failure in Primary Care: A Case Study Approach by
This guide provides a clear and concise overview of heart failure for primary care clinicians. Written by two nurse practitioners for nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, medical students, and pharmacists, it is uniquely designed to bridge the gap between cardiology and primary care. It delivers the most current recommendations outlined by the American Heart Association and the Heart Failure Society of America guidelines for the management and treatment of heart failure. This book includes a comprehensive overview of heart failure with reduced ejection fraction and heart failure with preserved ejection fraction. Special chapters are dedicated to physical exam, interpretation and application of diagnostic testing, and the management of chronic illness in the setting of acute and chronic heart failure. Additionally, the book provides clinicians with guidance on common medications to avoid, patient education, successful transitions of care, and conversations regarding goals of care. Each chapter includes an overview and learning objectives. The "Practice Pearls" and case studies found throughout the text highlight key takeaway points.
ISBN: 9783031201929Publication Date: 2023
