Nursing Resources: Oncology
Resources for anyone affiliated with the University of Iowa College of Nursing or University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics.
About E-Resources
All of the resources listed on this page are available to all affiliated with the University of Iowa, from on or off campus. If you are off-campus, you should be prompted to sign in with a Hawk ID and password.
There are more electronic and print books which can be located using the library catalog. If you do not see what you are looking for, please search the catalog or contact us.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a title to add, please contact the guide owner.
Jennifer DeBerg
Oncology E-Journals
Select journals appear below. Search the library catalog or journal list for additional titles.
- Cancer NursingE access from 1978
- Clinical Journal of Oncology NursingE access from 2000
- European Journal of Oncology NursingE access from 1998
- Journal of Pediatric Oncology NursingE access from 1984
- Oncology Nursing ForumE access from 2000
- Seminars in Oncology NursingE access from 1985
Find More Oncology E-Books
Visit the Radiation Oncology Subject Guide for additional E-books on this topic.
Oncology E-Books
Advances in Precision Medicine Oncology by
Recent advances in precision medicine and immuno-oncology have led to highly specific and efficacious cancer therapies such as monoclonal antibodies and immune checkpoint inhibitors (ICIs). This book provides an up-to-date overview of advances in the field of immuno-oncology. Chapters cover such topics as ICIs and how they mount a robust immune response against cancer cells as well as the response of ICIs to treatment predictive biomarkers and their potential immune-related adverse events (irAEs). Additionally, the book includes a comprehensive review of the powerful FDA-approved therapeutic agent doxorubicin, highlighting the molecular mechanisms behind doxorubicin’s drug resistance and critical side effects.
ISBN: 9781839688683Publication Date: 2021
Improving Oncology Worldwide by
This open access book describes strategies and experiences of highly skilled professionals in improving oncology care worldwide. The book is structured into three main sections with several chapters each, reflecting the authors' individual, real-life experiences. It explores ways to improve oncology education and scientific training, how to set up and run a clinical research facility ethically and efficiently in low- and middle-income settings, addressing the challenges that the workforce encounters in the real world. The main challenges of today’s oncologists seem to be the ever-growing patient care and administrative workload and the risk of burn-out. What are the best strategies to maintain a healthy work-life for the benefit of the patients, the physicians and society, taking into account the different needs, depending on factors like peace, social and gender equality? This book addresses oncologists all over the world and their allies throughout the associated industries to highlight the importance of shared and sustainable education, clinical research and global cancer care.
ISBN: 9783030960537Publication Date: 2022
Neurorehabilitation in Neuro-Oncology by
This book provides a comprehensive, practical, and timely guide to neurorehabilitation for patients affected by tumors of the central nervous system. These patients encounter various physical and psychosocial impairments, due to sensory-motor, psychological and cognitive limitations, as well as depression, anxiety and fatigue. These common tumor and treatment consequences reduce quality of life and produce long-term limitation in functioning and disability that may benefit from rehabilitative interventions. In the early stages of the disease, rehabilitation aims at restoring functioning after tumor treatment, while in the advanced stages, rehabilitation becomes an integral part of palliative care, which aims to increase patients' independence, to prevent complications and to improve quality of life. Based on an interdisciplinary approach, the book is structured in two main parts. The first is devoted to the basics of cancer and to the main clinical features of the tumors of the nervous system, as well as to the essentials of therapeutic approaches. The second part is dedicated to rehabilitation issues, providing the tools for health personnel to take in charge persons affected by neuro-oncological disease. This unique volume is a valuable resource for all health professionals (physicians, psychologists, trainees nurses specialized in neuro-oncology, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, speech therapists) involved in the interdisciplinary management of individuals affected by tumors of the central nervous system.
ISBN: 9783319956831Publication Date: 2019
Oncologic Critical Care by
This major reference work is the most comprehensive resource on oncologic critical care. The text reviews all significant aspects of oncologic ICU practices, with a particular focus on challenges encountered in the diagnosis and management of the critically ill cancer patient population. Comprised of over 140 chapters, the text explores such topics as the organization and management of an oncologic ICU, diseases and complications encountered in the oncologic ICU, multidisciplinary care, surgical care, transfusion medicine, special patient populations, critical care procedures, ethics, pain management, and palliative care. Written by worldwide experts in the field, Oncologic Critical Care is a valuable resource for intensivists, advance practice providers, nurses, and other healthcare providers, that will help close significant knowledge and educational gaps within the realm of medical care for critically ill cancer patients.
ISBN: 9783319745879Publication Date: 2020
Personalized Medicine in Oncology by
Nowhere is the explosion in comprehensive genomic testing more evident than in oncology. Multiple consensus guidelines now recommend molecular testing as the standard of care for most metastatic tumors. To aid in the advancement of this rapidly changing field, we intend this Special Issue of JPM to focus on technical developments in the genomic profiling of cancer, detail promising somatic alterations that either are, or have a high likelihood of being, relevant in the near future, and to address issues related to the pricing and value of these tests.The last few years have seen the cost of molecular testing decrease by orders of magnitude. In 2018, we saw the first “site-agnostic” drug approvals in cancer (for microsatellite unstable cancer (PD-1 inhibitors) and NTRK-fusions (TRK inhibitors)). Research on targetable mutations, determination of genetic “signatures” that can use multiple individual genes/pathways, development of targeted therapy, and insight into the value of new technology remains at the cutting edge of research in this field. We are soliciting papers that present new technologies to assess predictive biomarkers in cancer, original research (pre-clinical or clinical) that demonstrates promise for particular targeted therapies in cancer, and articles that explore the clinical and financial impacts of this paradigmatic shift in cancer diagnostics and treatment.
ISBN: 9783036528212Publication Date: 2022
Precision Oncology and Cancer Biomarkers by
This open access book reflects on matters of social and ethical concern raised in the daily practices of those working in and around precision oncology. Each chapter addresses the experiences, concerns and issues at stake for people who work in settings where precision oncology is practiced, enacted, imagined or discussed. It subsequently discusses and analyses bioethical dilemmas, scientific challenges and economic trade-offs, the need for new policies, further technological innovation, social work, as well as phenomenological research. This volume takes a broad actor-centred perspective as, whenever cancer is present, the range of actors with issues at stake appears almost unlimited. This perspective and approach opens up the possibility for further in-depth and diverse questions, posed by the actors themselves, such as: How are cancer researchers navigating biological uncertainties? How do clinicians and policy-makers address ethical dilemmas around prioritisation of care? What are the patients’ experiences with, and hopes for, precision oncology? How do policy-makers and entrepreneurs envisage precision oncology? These questions are of great interest to a broad audience, including cancer researchers, oncologists, policy-makers, medical ethicists and philosophers, social scientists, patients and health economists.
ISBN: 9783030926120Publication Date: 2022
Principle of Nursing in Oncology by
This book provides a unique overview of oncology nursing care in a new health environment, one in which oncology nurses play an increasingly important role. In this regard, it addresses not only the biomedical aspects of new drugs but also the challenges they pose in day-to-day nursing practice. It also highlights the new skills that oncology nurses will need to develop in light of the changing care setting. Drawing on evidence-based practice in Europe and around the globe, the book offers a holistic approach to nursing for adult and pediatric patients. Written by respected professionals in the field, it provides nurses interested in oncology with clear and comprehensive information on the specific abilities required, with a focus on therapeutic education, supportive care, genetic counseling and e-health. In addition, it addresses the new role of patients as decision makers and full partners throughout their treatment cycle.
ISBN: 9783319764566Publication Date: 2019
Radiation Oncology by
Radiation Oncology provides a comprehensive overview of radiotherapy for cancer treatment. It discusses brachytherapy, external radiation, and photodynamic therapy for different types of cancers, as well as dosimetry audits, which ensure that the accurate therapeutic dose is delivered to patients undergoing radiotherapy. The need of the hour for radiotherapy procedures that provide maximum clinical care with safety and efficacy and also enhance the advantage of treatment and diminish the risks of late complications.
ISBN: 9781803550183Publication Date: 2022
Pediatric Oncology
Critical Care of the Pediatric Immunocompromised Hematology/Oncology Patient by
This volume provides a comprehensive overview of critical care of the pediatric immunocompromised hematology-oncology patient. The text focuses on unique aspects of the pediatric immunocompromised patient that predisposes the child to significant illness, and presents critical care management strategies specific to the patient population. In addition to chapters on oncology, primary immune deficiency, immunocompromised hematology, and hematopoietic cell transplant patients, the book covers the changing landscape of ICU care, pharmacologic considerations, and psychological and social aspects of the critical care of hematology-oncology patients.
ISBN: 9783030013219Publication Date: 2019
Palliative Care in Pediatric Oncology by
This textbook is the first to focus on comprehensive interdisciplinary care approaches aimed at enhancing the wellbeing of children with cancer and their families throughout the illness experience. Among the topics addressed are the epidemiology of pediatric cancer distress, including physical, emotional, social, and spiritual dimensions; the role of the interdisciplinary team; communication and advance care planning; symptom prevention and management; care at the end of life; family bereavement care; and approaches to ease clinician distress. The contributing authors are true experts and provide guidance based on the highest available level of evidence in the field. The book has not only an interdisciplinary but also an international perspective; it will appeal globally to all clinicians caring for children with cancer, including physicians, nurses, psychosocial clinicians, and chaplains, among others.
ISBN: 9783319613918Publication Date: 2018
Pediatric Hematology and Oncology Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pediatric Hematology & Oncology Secrets, 2nd Edition, offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in this dynamic field. This highly regarded resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated, including discussions of supportive care of children with cancer and psychosocial aspects of care. New chapters on Precision Medicine and Systems Biology; Health Equity and Disparities in Pediatric and Adolescent/Young Adult Oncology; Transfusion Medicine; Neoplastic Hematopathology; Hemophagocytic Lymphohistiocytosis; and more. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from global leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323810470Publication Date: 2023, 2nd ed.
Pediatric Oncology Nursing: Defining Care Through Science by
This book presents the current state of the nursing science in topics relevant to the care of pediatric oncology patients and their families across the treatment trajectory and is framed within a precision health framework. The spectrum of topics covered is wide, including, for example, symptom management, self-care management, exercise and physical activity, family-centered care, palliative care, the role of the nurse in treatment decision making, patient and nurse resiliency, survivorship, and genetic counseling. Throughout, there is a focus on the implications of research for nursing practice, highlighting which elements of the available evidence are ready for translation into practice and which are not. In addition, careful attention is paid to the role that nursing can play in further advancing science through clinical research. The authors are leading experts from across the globe. The book will be of special interest for pediatric oncology nurses, including direct care nurses, research nurses, and nursing leaders, and will also be a stimulating source for researchers and non-oncology nurses.
ISBN: 9783030258047Publication Date: 2020
Oncology Test Prep
Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing by
The only OCN® Exam review developed in collaboration with the Oncology Nursing Society (ONS), the Core Curriculum for Oncology Nursing, 6th Edition is the must-have OCN® certification review resources. This essential guide covers the entire scope of practice for oncology nursing and reflects important changes in the dynamic field of cancer treatment and care. The thoroughly revised sixth edition follows the latest test blueprint for the OCN® Exam and is presented in a streamlined outline format to help you focus on the most important information. Recognized as the definitive resource for concepts and practice in oncology nursing, this is the #1 review tool when preparing for OCN® certification! This definitive study resource for the OCN® Examination is the only such resource developed in collaboration with and endorsed by the Oncology Nursing Society. Coverage of the entire scope of oncology care includes quality of life, protective mechanisms, gastrointestinal and urinary function, cardiopulmonary function, oncologic emergencies, the scientific basis for practice, health promotion, and professional performance. Consistent outline format provides a quick-reference review that begins with theory and continues through the steps of the nursing process. Emphasis on QSEN competencies is designed to reduce errors, with a focus on safety and evidence-based practice including Safety Alerts for cancer chemotherapy drugs. Updates on cancer treatment and related nursing care include the most current and accurate information, preparing you for the OCN exam and for enhanced clinical practice. NEW! Content has been updated throughout to reflect the most recent Oncology Nursing Society (ONS) role delineation study, the latest OCN® Examination test blueprint, and important findings in cancer treatment and related nursing care, backed by the latest research evidence. NEW! Chapters reflect the latest ONS information on nurse navigation, communication and shared decision-making, precision medicine, immunotherapy, cognitive and endocrine symptoms, and compassion fatigue. NEW! Enhanced use of color in tables, boxes, and outlines improves visual appeal and learning.
ISBN: 9780323595452Publication Date: 2019, 6th ed.
