Research Assistance
Need help with your research?
Stop by or make an appointment with SEAM, now located at the Just Ask desk on the first floor of the Main Library.
Reach out to staff at the desk directly via online chat, text message or email!
Browse our Frequently Asked Questions!
Schedule an appointment for more in depth assistance!
Find your subject liaison librarian for deep dives!
About
Web of Science can help you with:
-
Not just science! Subjects covered run the whole gamut of scholarly literature, including the social sciences, arts, and humanities.
-
But also, a lot of science.
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that not only covers the sciences but the social sciences and humanities as well. Web of Science has citation information, abstracts, full-text articles, reviews, and conference proceedings.
University of Iowa Libraries
Web of Science - Video Tutorials
Learn how to use the refining features on the search results page of Web of Science:
Search Tips & Tricks
Refine your search by changing the databases that Web of Science will search. Selecting "All Databases" or "Web of Science Core Collection" (which is the default database) will give you the broadest results. Selecting "Russian Science Citation Index," for example, will give you much narrower (and only Russian) results.
Clicking "Learn More" to the right of the drop-down menu will give you more information about each of the Web of Science databases available to UI researchers.
Web of Science has its own help page. If you are getting stuck on searches that don't yield many results, or the kinds of results you are looking for, try the help page! A hyperlinked "click here" is on the right side of the main search page, just to the right of the blue search button.