Virtual Brain Break: Movies and Videos
The University of Iowa Main Library has over 50,000 physical media items available to you!
Streaming got you down?
Too expensive, poor selection?
Check out a DVD or Blu-ray (even VHS) today!
Visit Hawkeye Video to find out more!
Disc drives are available at the service desk!
Feature Film Databases
Streaming video titles, mostly feature films or television, the University of Iowa has licensed from the Swank Digital Campus collection of videos.
Films available on Swank include (but are not limited to):
Custom online libraries of streaming videos from a variety of studios on a variety of subjects.
Films available on Kanopy Include (but are not limited to):
Theatre and Opera Databases
Drawing on 10 years of NT Live broadcasts, alongside high-quality archive recordings never previously seen outside of the NT's Archive, the National Theatre Collection 1 offers 30 filmed performances.
Performances available include:
Frankenstein, Starring Benedict Cumberbatch
Opera in Video contains five hundred hours of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries.
Performances available include:
Documentary Databases
1,775 videos covering a diverse array of subjects and interests. Watch them while you still can!
Videos available include:
American Experience: The War on Disco
Docuseek streams essential independent, social-issue and environmental films.
Films available include:
Let's Check Out A Disc! (Or several!)
Now, unfortunately the media collection is not physically browse-able--you must request your selections online ahead of time. If you are interested in working towards bringing this collection back into a browse-able location, reach out to Max! at any time.
Simply search your title, director, actor or other credit listing in InfoHawk+ (best to put search terms in quotes)
Select "available in the library" along the left side of your screen
Choose your "resource type" if you please (though if you can't find what you are looking for leave this open)
Make sure to sign in to InfoHawk+ to request materials
Choose "Request Physical Item"
Choose your Pickup Location (any library on campus!)
Select REQUEST
Look for a confirmation email to your UIowa account that your selections are ready for pickup, stop by the service desk and take them home!
Don't own a disc drive? Check one out at the service desk!
