Soundscapes
Chill Streams
KRUI 89.7 FM
KRUI is the University of Iowa's student-run radio station, broadcasting out of the IMU. Catch them streaming live on the website or tune in via an actual radio to 89.7 FM
Music Databases (FREE STREAMING MUSIC!)
|
"Music Online: American Music is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more."
Titles available in this collection include:
Diana Ross & The Supremes The Best of Studio One
|
|
"Music Online: Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more."
Titles available in this collection include:
|
|
"Music Online: Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, is a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions. The collection provides educators, students, and interested listeners with an unprecedented variety of online resources that support the creation, continuity, and preservation of diverse musical forms." |
Naxos Music Library is the most comprehensive collection of classical music available online, with 191,705 albums available to stream!
Similar to the classical collection, this database makes 31,268 jazz albums available to you!
Audio Drama
- Audio Drama: The L.A. Theatre Works Collection This link opens in a new windowMore than three hundred important dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of the nation’s premiere radio theatre company. The plays - which include some of the most significant dramatic literature of the nineteenth, twentieth, and twenty-first centuries - are performed by leading actors from around the world and recorded specifically for online listening.
