Create In-Text Citations and Bibliography in Word

The installation of EndNote also installs a plugin in Microsoft Word and PowerPoint that places an EndNote tab along the ribbon in these programs.

Use Cite While You Write (CWYW) to add, remove, or rearrange citations within documents. EndNote renumbers or re-alphabetizes the citations as needed. The instructions here detail using this feature in Word. The functionality is similar but less robust in PowerPoint.

1. At the top of the EndNote ribbon, you’ll see a Styles box with a dropdown arrow, which shows the style selected style. Click the dropdown menu and click Select Another Style to see all available styles.
2. Place your cursor in your document text where you want to enter the first reference, and click Insert Citation from the ribbon. An EndNote 21 Find & Insert My References window will open. Enter keywords for the desired reference and click Find (or press Enter), which searches your EndNote library. A list of matching references will appear. Select the one(s) you want to use and click Insert. [Another option after placing your cursor where you want the first citation is to move to your EndNote library, select the citations there, click the Tools menu, choose Cite While You Write (CWYW), and then click Insert Citation(s).]
3. EndNote will embed the citation in the desired format and append the bibliography entry at the end of the document. This may not be instantaneous; you may see a generic citation that looks like this {Albretsen, 1998 #11} for a short while before the formatted citation appears. If these generic citations don’t go away or if the wrong style was selected when creating the citation, see the upcoming Change the Citation Style section.
4. If you need to edit a citation (e.g., remove the author or year, remove one citation from a group of several), place your cursor over the citation until grey highlighting appears and then click Edit & Manage Citation(s) from the ndnote ribbon. Citations should be edited this way rather than editing the citation manually with the keyboard.
5. Proofread your bibliography. You may need to correct small formatting errors or even typos. The best way to correct these issues is from the EndNote library where you can edit any of the information for a given reference. After you make any changes, be sure to click Update Citations and Bibliography from the EndNote ribbon. If you find major formatting errors, check to be sure you are using the correct style. 

Change the Citation Style

1. In the EndNote ribbon, select the output style you want to use. If the style isn’t on the dropdown, pick Select Another Style, choose from the list, and click OK.
2. It may take a few seconds for the bibliography to reformat. If it doesn’t do so automatically, click Update Citations and Bibliography from the EndNote ribbon. 

Remove Field Codes

If you need to remove the embedded coding from bibliographies created with EndNote CWYW, follow these steps:

1. Save your document to ensure all edits you have made in the document are saved in the original copy. Retain this original copy in case you need to make changes to the in-text citations or bibliography later.
2. Click Convert Citations and Bibliography from the EndNote ribbon.
3. Then select Convert to Plain Text.
4. When prompted, choose a location for saving the new copy (without field codes) of the document.

Create a Free-Standing Bibliography

You can create a free-standing bibliography to copy/paste into other programs. Please note that this process creates a static bibliography. To change the citation style, repeat the steps. To create the bibliography, follow these
steps:

1. In EndNote, choose the desired citation style in the citations preview pane.
2. Select desired references in the library.
3. Right click on one of the selected references and click Copy Formatted Reference.
4. Move to the desired location (e.g., document, email) and use your usual keyboard shortcuts to paste into desired location, which creates a bibliography in the selected citation style.

To produce a bibliography using the Format Tab in EndNote Basic (No downloads required)

1. Click on the Format tab and then the Bibliography link.
2. Under References, select a group. (NOTE: Under All My References there is an option to “Copy to Quick List” if you do not have a set group of references.
3. Under Bibliographic Style, you can choose the style of your references. Use the Add to Favorites to create a list of commonly used styles.
4. Under File Format, you can select HTML, TXT, or RTF. RTF is recommended for a word processing document
5. Choose to Save, Email, or Preview and Print (Preview and Print works well if you plan to copy/paste the references into another document)

Using Cite While You Write

The Cite While You Write Tool allows you to insert formatted in text citations while simultaneously formatting a reference list. The tool does not work with Word Online in Office 365. To use the tool, install a desktop version of Word.

1. Under Format, find the option to download the Cite While You Write Plugin. This will add a tool bar to Microsoft Word. Once the plug in is installed, a menu similar to screenshot below should be available.

    

   

 

2. Under Preferences (far right of the menu), you can select Application to tell the program you are using EndNote Online (which is the same as EndNote Basic in this case). You will then be prompted to login to your account. 

    

   

 

3. At the top of the EndNote Basic ribbon, find a drop-down menu showing the style currently being used. Use this box to select the appropriate Style. To choose another style, click on Select Another Style to see the full list of available styles.
4. Place your cursor where you want to enter your first reference, select Insert Citations. After searching, select the one(s) of interest and click Insert.
5. The citation should be appear in text in the desired format, and add the formatted reference at the end of the paper. This may not be instantaneous; if you have many references, you will probably first see a generic citation that looks like this: {Albretsen, 1998 #11} for a short while before the formatted citation appears. If it doesn’t reformat automatically, click the Update Citations and Bibliography link.
6. If you need to edit a citation (e.g. remove the author or year from the in-text citation or remove one citation from a group of several), click on the citation, then click on Edit Citation(s) link.
7. Remember to proofread your bibliography. There may be small formatting errors or even typos that you should correct manually. If you find major formatting errors, make sure you are using the correct output style.

Removing Field Codes

Occasionally, publishers will ask that submitted manuscripts do not contain codes from citation managers. These steps will help you remove EndNote Web’s codes from your document.

1. Click Convert Citations and Bibliography from the menu
2. Choose Convert to Plain Text. Word will create a new copy of your document without the field codes.
3. Be sure to keep the original version of your document with the field codes in case you need to make any changes. EndNote cannot work with a document that has been converted to plain text.

Changing the Format of a Bibliography

1. In the EndNote Web ribbon’s Bibliography panel, select the output style you want to use. If your style isn’t on the dropdown, pick Select Another Style… to see the full list. Select the appropriate style and click OK. It may take a few seconds for the bibliography to be reformatted.
2. If it doesn’t reformat automatically, click Update Citations and Bibliography.