Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Choices for Scholarly Articles
Select Research Tools
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
CQ Press Library - the place to search or browse resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Includes Congress Collection, CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Politics in America, Supreme Court Yearbook and Voting and Elections Collection
iPoll databank This link opens in a new window
Users that have an email address with the extension @uiowa.edu can self-register by visiting: https://ropercenter.cornell.edu/ipoll/login although registration is no longer necessary to search or download when connected to the campus network.
Once users enter their email address, they should receive an activation email with a link to complete registration
IPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable library containing SELECTIVE full text and abstracts of classic and newly published Oxford books in the areas of Classical Studies, Economics and Finance, History, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Public Health, and Religion.
SAGE ResearchMethods This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is a tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. Users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.
Encyclopedia of Political Science This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Political Science comprehensively examines the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Political Thought
"The Encyclopedia of Political Thought contains over 900 A-Z entries on the most significant political thinkers, theories, concepts, ideas, and schools of thought."
Encyclopedia of Social Media and Politics This link opens in a new window
This work explores how the rise of social media is altering politics both in the United States and in key moments, movement, and places around the world. Its scope encompasses the disruptive technologies and activities that are changing basic patterns in American politics.
Oxford Handbooks : Political Science This link opens in a new window
OHO Political Science brings together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in political science. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.