Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data & Statistics
CQ Press Library
Data sources from CQ Electronic Library include: Congress, Public Affairs, Voting and Elections, and the Supreme Court Collection
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive (CNTS)
Contains social and economic indicators. Provides access to the database of over 250 countries, over 200 series and data beginning in the year 1815 and continuing to the present. Searchable by keyword, or by browsing variables.
Includes LINKS: An optional file with links to the sources for each Domestic Conflict Event, beginning with 2011 data for: General Strikes, Purges, Government Crises, Riots, Assassinations, Anti-Government Demonstrations, Guerilla Warfare and Revolutions.
iPoll databank Users that have an email address with the extension @uiowa.edu can self-register by visiting: https://ropercenter.cornell.edu/ipoll/login although registration is no longer necessary to search or download when connected to the campus network.
Once users enter their email address, they should receive an activation email with a link to complete registration
IPoll is a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more.
PolicyMap is a fully web-based online data and mapping application that gives you access to over 15,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, crime, mortgages, health, jobs and more. Data is available at all common geographies (address, block group, census tract, zip code, county, city, state, MSA) as well as unique geographies like school districts and political boundaries. Data comes from both public and proprietary sources. Many of the public files are available for download for free
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. The online version includes monthly updates to tables, deep searching at the line-item level, powerful facets for narrowing search results, image and spreadsheet versions of all current and historical tables, along with links to provider sites.
SimplyMap (now called SimplyAnalytics) (USE your UI email address as username) (USE your UI email address as username)
SimplyMap is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States
WDI Online Statistical data for over 550 development indicators, and 1960-2000 time series data for over 200 countries and 18 country groups. Includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. Restricted to UI Community.